We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean and reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Hakodate-ekimae Asaichi
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Toyoko Inn is always one of the best chain and budget hotels in Japan that I usually stay. This one at Hokodate is not an exception. The location is great and close to anywhere essential, e.g. hakodate eki, 函館ひかりの屋台 大門横丁 where for dinner, asaichi where you can find fresh seafood every morning. Staff are helpful and try their best to communicate with you even they are not good in other languages. But be aware that, as usually find in Japanese budget hotels, rooms are small and let you luggage wide open. BTW, breakfast and wifi included.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 260 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel has a great location and the staff are so friendly. We were told by Booking.com that there were no meals with our plan, but we found that breakfast was included and we got a free curry dinner at night. The room was clean and had all the extras provided. The beds are high enough for the bags to fit underneath giving us extra room. There was free wifi too. This hotel was the bargain of our month's trip. The only downside was having to wait until 4.00pm to check in as it was a cold and wet afternoon and we were very tired on arrival.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tui12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We are very satisfied and happy to stay here. It is around 5 min walk from JR Hakodate and morning market is just the next door. Hotel provides all necessary things including free wifi, free breakfast and free dinner (rice with curry). We prefer to stay at Toyoko Inn hotel due to the air-con system is seperated (not centrallise system). Therefore, it is much easier for us to adjust temperature by ourselves.
For our next trip, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorPim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The location of this hotel is actually super awesome...right next to Hakodate Morning Market and Donburi Yokocho and a short 5-10 minute walk to JR Hakodate Station. However, the check-in and check-out times seem unreasonable for a business hotel.

We stayed at two traditional ryokans on this trip and understand their late check-in and early check-out policy is to ensure that the cleaning staff has plenty of time to tidy up the large tatami rooms and perfect every detail of the stay. But, the Toyoko hotel rooms are super tiny...and did not come with many amenities...so why the 4PM check-in policy?! The hotel staff insisted that only guests with Toyoko club card can check in at 3PM and all other guests have to wait until 4PM.

So, if you have rooms already cleaned and ready (which they did because we saw a bunch of keys available behind the front desk area), why make your guests wait just so you can enforce a "policy"? It was snowing and freezing outside...but we still got kicked out to find stuff to do until check-in time. Oh, the heater did not work so we were freezing in our room. I guess we got what we paid for...a cheap hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YRLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stay there for 2 nights and were very happy with the hotel. Breakfast were simple and filling and there are free chicken curry rice on Tuesday night till Thursday night when we were there.

wifi signal are strong and fast.

Hakodate morning just right infront of doorsteps!

No complain at all !!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetaiKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Toyoko Inn Hakodate Ekimae Asaichi located about 300-400 m. from JR Hokodate Station and very easy to find. Hotel provided free wifi. You can walk from hotel to many local attractions eg; BAY Hakodate Area, Ropeway to Mt. Hakodate. Hotel also provided complimentary breakfast (Japanese meal) Grilled salmon was so delicious!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phanuphong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Simple, basic, clean hotel. In this Hakodate hotel usual then others of this chain. Lilliput size rooms and toilets, free breakfast but in a lobby full of people. Steps from train station, but not close from main city sightseeing places

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sar1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakodate hotels
Hotel WBF Grande Hakodate
#6 of 97 in Hakodate
276 reviews
Comfort Hotel Hakodate
#12 of 97 in Hakodate
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yunokawa Onsen
La Vista Hakodate Bay
La Vista Hakodate Bay
#1 of 97 in Hakodate
1,552 reviews
Hakodate Kokusai Hotel
#2 of 97 in Hakodate
648 reviews
Hakodate Station
Route Inn Grantia Hakodate Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Hakodate-ekimae Asaichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Hakodate-ekimae Asaichi

Address: 22-7 Otemachi, Hakodate 040-0064, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Hakodate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Price Range: $50 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Toyoko Inn Hakodate-ekimae Asaichi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toyoko Inn Hakodate-ekimae Asaichi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing