We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Vista Hakodate Bay
Ranked #1 of 99 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Hotel is close to Hokkaido Factory just 2 minute walk.
Not far from JR Station (if you by taxi just ¥500-600).
Hotel is have beautiful view from guest room. Interior is modern Japanese style is pretty good and comfortable. Free onsen ( bath house)
Don't miss breakfast!! Wonderful Japanese breakfast style... Enjoy to eat all!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lahako, 予約 at La Vista Hakodate Bay, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear armam

Thank you very much for staying at La Vista Hakodate Bay.
Guest rooms are furnished in the relaxed art deco style of the Taisho period.
You can enjoy the great view of Hakodate streets from out natural hot spring baths located on the top floor.
Breakfast is buffet style.
The breakfast is all-you-can-eat “kaisen donburi”(seafood rice bowl dishes), with available selections of squid salmaon roe, etc.
It'll take about 15 minutes on foot from JR Hakodate station to Hotel.
We are looking forward to serving you in La Vista Hakodate Bay.
Thank you very much.

(Reservation desk Mizutani)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    533
    140
    42
    16
See reviews for
517
377
200
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

this hotel is not the cheapest, but it's worth every cent. our double room was excellent with a wonderful view, if just a little small (but this is japan, after all). the location was great. staff were friendly and helpful. even though it was during xmas and the town was full of tourists, service did not suffer as a result. breakfast buffet was brilliant every day, and the rooftop onsen was very special also. i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leftwingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lahako, 予約 at La Vista Hakodate Bay, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Dear leftwingback

Thank you very much for staying at La Vista Hakodate Bay.
We are glad to hear that you stayed comfortably at our hotel.
We are looking forward to serving you in La Vista Hakodate Bay.
Thank you very much.

(Reservation desk Mizutani)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the second time, and this time I was rather disappointed. 1. The hotel was busy. Morning buffet was a total disaster, with lots of families and tourists. It took such a long time to wait to get food. 2. They don't offer Wi-Fi. Only Lan cable is equipped. And my domestic mobile phone (soft bank) had bad connection so every time I check my phone calls and emails I needed place the phone near the window, and change the angles, which is now unthinkable in most cities. Hope the situation is now better. 3. Because this hotel has a nice Onsen hot spring spa, guest room has only a small shower booth. So, when you want to take a bath, you need to go out of your room. 4. Staff was not friendly enough, lacking smile. They should smile to customers. I hope to think I was just unlucky.
So I came to understand, this hotel is rather for sight-see, and not for business trip. Nevertheless, room is pretty with good old traditional mood. And the morning buffet and outdoor hot spring bath is wonderful (if not busy !!) .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deartravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

Went there in Nov 2010. When I booked via Japanican.com, there was an option that asked if you were there on a honeymoon, your birthday etc. As it so happens that I was there on my birthday, that's what I selected. Upon entering my room, I found a little complimentary souvenir and a handwritten note (with cute drawings) from the staff. Awesome service!

Also, they allowed me to check in early even though I arrived at 1pm. Got upgraded from a single room (15sqm) to a twin room (24sqm) which is always appreciated. The view from the window of Mt. Hakodate was awesome! Bed was pretty comfortable. Amenities in the room were great too.

The real highlight of this place is their onsen. There were a number of many baths, indoor and outdoor. Soaking in the stone bath looking out at the city lights was really really fabulous. I went after 9pm, but the place was packed. Might wanna head in a while later. I noticed that as I was leaving, the crowd was thinning out.

There is a shuttle bus service between the hotel and JR station at set times. Not sure if it is one way, because when I enquired at the tourist information at the JR station, the staff did not notify me. Better to request at the hotel reception.

Note that you might not want to visit Hakodate in November though, it's their low season for a reason. The ropeway was closed because of strong winds, and it kept raining everyday I was there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank summerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

This hotel greatly exceeded our expectations. It was fantastic value for money. The service was fantastic and the breakfast offered was great value. Beds were comfortable - enough room to snuggle up with a partner. The view from the room was amazing, particularly when it was snowing. The hotel onsen was beyond description - amazing range of small indoor and outdoor onsens on the rooftop of the building. It was a beautiful experience sitting in the outdoor onsen with snow flakes falling all around.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claireheartjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

Unfortunately apart from a few cherry blossom trees at the foot of the hill, the rest of the Hakodateyama cherry blossom had not boomed yet. Still, it was an extremely comfortable hotel with a great location by the bay and facing the mountain. For shopping and dining, look no further than the dining cluster across the road, or a 5 minute walk to Kanemori, the Red Brick Warehouse or a 10-15 minute walk to the famours Hakodate Morning Market. Hotel staff were extremely helpful even though their command of English was limited. For able bodies persons, it was a nice location to explore Motomachi on foot. As I had my elderly parents, we chartered a Jumbo cab for our sightseeing needs and were pleasantly surprised by the helpful and professional cab driver we got - we saw his tour guide licence prominently displayed and he was a great help with securing admission tickets at the Goryukaku Park. All of us enjoyed the sights and food of Hakodate and the comfort and convenience of the hotel certainly contributed to our enjoyment.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaud
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

Well above my expectation. Cozy room and spacious hot-spring on the top floor overlooking the Hakodate bay. Breakfast is the highlight where you can have all-you-can-eat buffet style fresh from the fish market japanese stlye full breakfast. Worth a visit just for this.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tyran666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakodate hotels
Hakodate Kokusai Hotel
#2 of 99 in Hakodate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Yunokawa Onsen
Yunokawa Prince Hotel Nagisatei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel WBF Grande Hakodate
#6 of 99 in Hakodate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Hakodate Danshaku Club
#3 of 99 in Hakodate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vista Hakodate Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vista Hakodate Bay

Property: La Vista Hakodate Bay
Address: 12-6 Toyokawacho, Hakodate 040-0065, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Hakodate > Yunokawa Onsen
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hakodate
#1 Business Hotel in Hakodate
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hakodate
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hakodate
#4 Family Hotel in Hakodate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Vista Hakodate Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Orbitz, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Vista Hakodate Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vista Hakodate Bay Hotel Hakodate
La Vista Hotel Hakodate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing