We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but compact”
Review of Hotel Kikuya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kikuya
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“small but compact”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Budgeted hotel. Room very small but enough for 2, compact and cozy, clean. Breakfast good. walking distance to morning market and bus station, train station and tram station. It is not easy to walk with wheel luggage during winter. road is cover with snow, wet and dirty.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    41
    29
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
16
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night during August. Hotel is in a great location near the market and train station. The en-suite room was quite small, a little grubby with a smell of smoke but futons were all made up for us and we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was toast, hard boiled eggs, jam, butter, marmalade, tea and coffee. Staff were all very friendly and made us feel at home. A basic hotel in a prime location, value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We checked in a 8 tatami-room with en-suite bathroom.

Room is small but futon and blanket are all ready for 3 of us when we checked in at night.
Though the weather is cold out there (we opened the window to allow fresh air), the futon and blanket is so warm that we had a good sleep.

We also had ofuro in one of the family bathroom. every group allowed 40 min of time.

Bathrobe is ready in the room. simple breakfast with coffee, milk, toast and egg is at the first floor. Clean the table and tray yourself after your breakfast, after all, they are family run business.

walking distance to Hakodate station (5 min), morning seafood market (a stone throw) and seafood donburi lane (4 min).

recommended for budget constraint traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zhiyun08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed 1N in the family room for 4pax on 10May, 2012. Excellent value for a spacious and clean room. [Tips: No harm asking for a discount like we did during our 24D stay in 18 Japan cities. Weekdays or after 7pm, few hotels will give in.] The gracious owner even let us use the 2pax onsen for free (only knew it's a onsen after my Lake Toya's experience!), and obligingly prepare an early breakfast for us (the only hotel which obliged) due to our early train departure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank irene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Hotel Kikuya is situated in a prime location for a morning stroll around the Hokadate morning Fish market. It is also a short 5 minute stroll to the JR station. We drove and they had onsite paring that was very small but very handy. The rooms are very neat and comfortable if you are used to traveling around Japan and are used to hard beds. The staff are very friendly and they provide maps of the local area in English as well as Japanese which is very helpful. The decor of the hotel can be pretty funny at times but that just adds to the charm of the hotel. There is also a private Onsen that you can book. Overall good value for the price paid.

Room Tip: The Japanese rooms are very nice but they are futons on Tatami mats so if you are not used to hard b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suede16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This hotel was family friendly and great value for money. We liked that you could book the onsen for private use and had a set bathing time. Morning set was basic but well done. Room was a basic tatami room but perfectly adequate. Good internet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisen, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Stayed there for 2 night at Hakodate. It is only 5 mins from the JR station and it was a breeze dragging our luggage through the snow because of its location! After staying in Japan for 15 days, ive come to realise how important it is to have a hotel near the JR station! The hotel is also very near to Hakodate morning market! despite waking up late we still could make it on time to check out the freshest produce at the market. The hotel manager (i think), this friendly and fatherly man in his fifties/sixties recommended us this shop just beside the hotel for some scallop/fish roe/crab don which is a must try in Hakodate. He even recommended the slopes to visit and we had not much of a problem communicating with him in English

The hotel is not very new, but it is really affordable considering its location. Recommended! esp travellers on a tight budget!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dazzedation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakodate hotels
0.2 mi away
Smile Hotel Hakodate
Smile Hotel Hakodate
#35 of 97 in Hakodate
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ekimae
Hotel Ekimae
#29 of 97 in Hakodate
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Hakodate
Comfort Hotel Hakodate
#10 of 97 in Hakodate
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Toyoko Inn Hakodate-ekimae Asaichi
0.7 mi away
Hotel WBF Grande Hakodate
Hotel WBF Grande Hakodate
#7 of 97 in Hakodate
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel New Ohte
Hotel New Ohte
#46 of 97 in Hakodate
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kikuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kikuya

Property: Hotel Kikuya
Address: 8-23 Wakamatsucho, Hakodate 040-0063, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Hakodate
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kikuya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Kikuya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing