We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Destinia.com
CheapTickets
Trip.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
20
57
37
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
20
57
37
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 116 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed 1N in the family room for 4pax on 10May, 2012. Excellent value for a spacious and clean room. [Tips: No harm asking for a discount like we did during our 24D stay in 18 Japan cities. Weekdays or after 7pm, few hotels will give in.] The gracious owner even let us use the 2pax onsen for free (only knew it's a onsen after my Lake Toya's experience!), and obligingly prepare an early breakfast for us (the only hotel which obliged) due to our early train departure.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank irene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Hotel Kikuya is situated in a prime location for a morning stroll around the Hokadate morning Fish market. It is also a short 5 minute stroll to the JR station. We drove and they had onsite paring that was very small but very handy. The rooms are very neat and comfortable if you are used to traveling around Japan and are used to hard beds. The staff are very friendly and they provide maps of the local area in English as well as Japanese which is very helpful. The decor of the hotel can be pretty funny at times but that just adds to the charm of the hotel. There is also a private Onsen that you can book. Overall good value for the price paid.

Room tip: The Japanese rooms are very nice but they are futons on Tatami mats so if you are not used to hard beds then it may not be the best choice.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suede16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This hotel was family friendly and great value for money. We liked that you could book the onsen for private use and had a set bathing time. Morning set was basic but well done. Room was a basic tatami room but perfectly adequate. Good internet.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilyB622
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Stayed there for 2 night at Hakodate. It is only 5 mins from the JR station and it was a breeze dragging our luggage through the snow because of its location! After staying in Japan for 15 days, ive come to realise how important it is to have a hotel near the JR station! The hotel is also very near to Hakodate morning market! despite waking up late we still could make it on time to check out the freshest produce at the market. The hotel manager (i think), this friendly and fatherly man in his fifties/sixties recommended us this shop just beside the hotel for some scallop/fish roe/crab don which is a must try in Hakodate. He even recommended the slopes to visit and we had not much of a problem communicating with him in English

The hotel is not very new, but it is really affordable considering its location. Recommended! esp travellers on a tight budget!

Date of stay: December 2010
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank dazzedation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

The hotel is small but clean. It smell of strong smoking which we hated !!!

There is an air cleaner in each room. Breakfast is not frill - hard boiled egg/ bread / jam/butter. milk /coffee & tea - that's al

It's very near to the JR station and Hakodate Morning market. Very convenient for tram ride to anywhere- Mt hakodate/ Red brick etc
Staff were helpful.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zippysin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews