We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Andes Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Starlite Motel(Big Indian)(Great Value!)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cold Spring Lodge(Big Indian)
$173
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
5
9
8
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
9
8
6
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 31 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed there in winter of 2011 and it was very nice for a catskills motel. Effort to give the rooms a nice aesthetic, considering where it is and the price range involved, gives this place a better rating from me than your average catskills motel/inn.

Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank armccaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here as part of a summer trip to the Catskills....as we don't ski, we think the best time to visit this beautiful region, as it's beautiful and lush with growth from all that water! Coming from the arid West,

Just about everything said in these other reviews is fairly accurate. The room was fine, quiet, and comfortable. It was also pretty clean. However, outside the room, more attention could have been paid to sweeping up the cigarette butts and other debris...not a lot of attention to those details here. But that was a small point in an overall pleasant stay.

Andes is a great place to stay in the Catskills. None of the crowds and pretensions of Woodstock, with at least occasional non-New Yorkers around, and also near other towns well worth visiting (Delhi, Margaretville, etc.). And this hotel is smack dab in the heart of this very quaint and scenic town. Walking distance to a lovely park, the town pool, and other attractions. The Hotel appears to be family run, which also gives it a personal touch.

The restaurant and bar at the Hotel also appear to be the center of summer social life in Andes, which made it interesting for a visitor. Out in the back, various activities are scheduled (such as horseshoes, darts, etc.) which draws the locals for a drink and some fun. Not to worry: it breaks up fairly early. The bar was a pleasant way to spend some evening hours, as there's little else to do at night (which was fine by us). Do be aware that cell phone reception is problematic in Andes (which locals in other towns appeared to know about), and Internet access is possible only in the bar/restaurant (also fine by us).

Andes is well worth a stay, and this is a good place to do it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EdMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

This hotel was a real find. It's great if you're planning to ski at Belleayre Ski Center. We were two families and we stayed in adjoining rooms which were perfect. The bathroom was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The rooms had heating and cooling units which we could control to our satisfaction and cable TV. The hotel has a restaurant with delicious food and a pleasant atmosphere. Attached to the restaurant is a tavern with a pool table, which our kids enjoyed, and a typical tavern menu. Our children ate with us in the restaurant but ordered off the tavern menu. Across the street is a quaint restaurant that serves a delicious breakfast. We couldn't possibly have asked for more . And did I mention that the prices are extremely affordable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank marie_elena007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

The motel rooms are relativley basic but clean, comfortable and quite stylishly decorated. Ours was exceptional value. Andes is wonderfully quiet and isolated and in many ways seems from another era. Very, very good food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wnariz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Traveled in late December for skiing at Belleayre. Found the hotel on line site unseen other than one (poor) review. If you travel in this neck of the woods (Catskill Region), you have to be prepared for a unique experience. These areas are throwbacks to a time that was. There is nothing new, modern and convenient about any of these local towns. That is what gives them their charm. You have to expect that or you will always be disappointed. Have an open mind and you may be surprised. The Andes is on Rt. 28/main Street in a quaint village that is charming and dated. The hotel is a single story 10-room building adjacent to an old 2-story Inn and bar/restaurant. Rooms are clean and large ($115 - weekend night for three people). Water is hot, shower pressure is good, bathrooms work and the rooms were updated recently. Beds were soft and a little small but workable for a one-two night stay. Room was clean and comfy. We enjoyed the charm of "little town USA" and know what to expect so we felt, for the money, it was worth the trip. No complaints for what we paid during a holiday week. The trip t Belleayre is about 18 miles but a nice ride and easy.

The restaurant is wonderful, serving a small menu but fresh ingredients and very tasty fare. This is a must when you are in town. From general stores, to old style coffee shops, Andes is a cool funky town with old time flare. Come and see how things still exist 40 years later without changing. You may not want to live there, but it sure is nice to step back in time.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
7  Thank We3ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews