We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room at a reasonable price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kushiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Onsen Minshuku Yamaguchi
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kushiro
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this guesthouse as a pleasant respite from another night camping in the rain. It was recommended to us by the gal in the information center. The guesthouse is essentially a home with the upstairs rooms outfitted to house guests. You have to walk through the living area in order to access the rooms which probably isn't the best set up. Actually, a room full of cigarette smoke was a bit off-putting upon our arrival. The location is pretty good, right on the edge of town, only a short 5 minute walk into the shops and restaurants. The room was basic and clean, Japanese style, with small TV and a massive heater, and futon mattresses on the floor. We ended up having a very peaceful sleep here. The toilets are down the hall (no ensuites) and the bathrooms are in the basement. The bathroom and "onsen" were nothing special and actually a little grungy, with only enough room for about 2 people at a time and a bit rough around the edges. There was also a laundry facility down there and other washing facilities in the upstairs guestroom area. The hosts were very friendly, helpful, and hospitable, and one of them spoke decent English as well. We opted out of the meal plan, eating our meals outside, and thus got a much reduced price more the room. Overall we had a really good stay here and it is recommended to other travelers in need of budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 15 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2012

We made a mistake about the travelling directions to Lake Akan. We ended up arriving 4 hours later than we should. We checked in and enquired about the ice fishing only to be informed that it was over. Thinking that this would be it, we resigned ourselves to sightseeing. Just as we were leaving, the owner told told us that he managed to contact some friends who were providing the ice fishing experience and insisted on driving us over to the location. Impeccable Japanese service.

The rooms are very typical of Japanese homes in the 80s, and toiletries are minimal(bring your own toothbrushes people) but they do provide yukata. Like what other reviews said, the common baths have seen better days, but it was well worth the price.

Dinner was a homely affair, filling and extremely delicious. Breakfast is also Japanese styled, and natto defeated us all, to the amusement of the owners.

We also wanted to go to view the tancho cranes on our way to Kushiro and enquired about the directions. This was the part that overwhelmed us.

First, the owner told us that the locals all knew that the cranes gather at winter feeding grounds at 丹頂の里(forgot the pronunciation), and not the mating grounds as stated in most travelling guides.

Then, the owner told us that travelling there and then on to Kushiro via the public bus is not only expensive, but will take a very long time. She offered to get us seats on a shuttle service that the locals use(阿寒はやい) which not only costa about the same, but would save us a lot more time.

Third, she offerred to send us over to the winter feeding grounds for free using their own vehicle and arrange for the local shuttle to pick us up at the winter feeding grounds. Impressive service standards.

In spite of the location being on the edge of the town, in spite of the rooms and facilities being a little old, we left humbled by the generosity of the owners and impressed by the service and hospitality we were showered with.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank -Cheng-Hui-__-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The owner Yamaguchi-sen is a very nice, friendly and helpful gentleman. This minshuku is run by him and his family. I stayed there twice (July 2009 and Sep 2011) with my wife. The second time we had to walk in there without booking due to being stood up by another minshuku without prior notice to us. But Yamaguchi-sen tried his best and made up a room immediately for us. The charge was around 4500 yen per person for a night including simple Japanese breakfast. Already quite inexpensive comparing with the hotels around it. Clean (of course in Japan!) Japanese style rooms. Shared bathrooms are not inconvenient but if one does not mind it, one would find this minshuku a very good for money stay in Akan. Location is great - just a very short walk to the main "onsen" street where you can find all the shops for the tourists. However, please note they do not accept credit cards for payment.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackykk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This small minshuku is good value for money. The place could do with a facelift but the owners were very welcoming (despite them speaking virtually no English and us virtually no Japanese) and the food was excellent. The shared bathrooms are looking rather worse for wear.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Got to know this place through some websites, and decided to try it out as it was one of the cheapest in the area. We weren't disappointed! Let's split this review into the various sections:

Rooms: Basic japanese style rooms which were neat and clean. No frills, with a small TV but comfortable enough to settle in.

Toliets: The major disadvantage was that the ladies only had 1 cubicle, and was a squatting pan. The gents however was bigger, with 2 sitting cubicles. But not to be worried as theres a separate washing area to brush your teeth, etc.

Bath: There is no private shower, bathing facilities are shared. There's a female & male bath, inside 2 showerheads and 1 onsen. There's no doors, so its a japanese style bathing room. Also bring your own towel as they provide only small towels for onsen purposes. Tolietries are provided in the bath.

Food: The highlight!! The food is fantastic! Hearty homestyle japanese food, they don't skim on the ingredients, i've had a whole fish to me both dinners. Also, rice and soup is free flow (though i don't think u'll need this), and the cook is a very nice and friendly lady who will make you feel at home. She even taught me how to peel the baked fish before letting us proceed with dinner. On one of the nights, on top of a full tray of hearty food, we were also presented with a full plate of sukiyaki!

Hospitality: Although there was a language barrier, the hosts did their best to understand our questions, and also made us feel at home, offering us coffee & oranges and snacks that they were having. There's always a flask of hot water waiitng for us outside the room, and our meals were always nicely laid out for us with a warm smile. Although we had to leave very early on the last day, they had no complaints but sent us to the bus station with a smile.

ConclusioN: Although this accomodation doesn't have spectacular views and is really modest, the hospitality and food more than made up for it =) Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank runawayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We managed to find out about this Minshuku (family-run inn) from the forums. They actually have a website that is English-friendly and provides decent information about the accommodation and its surrounding area.

The place is run by an elderly couple & another lady. Although our bus came in 2 hrs later than the time I had informed the owner, he was right there at the deserted Akan bus station, waiting to pick us up in the car. Again, another display of Japanese hospitality. The owners do not speak English at all, so we relied on my friend who knew a smattering of Japanese. Communication would probably be the only drawback. However everything else about our stay was comfortable.

The best thing about this place is its great value! For only JPY6000 per person, we get 2 very delicious and fresh home-cooked meals. I miss the soup and smelt badly! Plus its location is right around the corner from the heart of the town - Lake Akan. On both nights we stayed, we took a short post-dinner stroll to the Lake to catch the daily fireworks display. Splendid.

As a family-run inn, the space is clean but the furnishings have seen better days. There's a tiny shared bath but it is certainly not the best onsen experience. Probably just enough to de-stress the occasional Japanese businessman passing through. Anyway we came here to traverse around a cosy little town and try out the nature trails.

In all I really enjoyed the whole experience and felt it was genuine and homely. Definitely a good choice if budget is tight and one wants to try out something different from the massive hotels around.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somnobulant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank けろろ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kushiro hotels
Akanko Onsen
Akan Yuku no Sato Tsuruga
Akanko Onsen
La Vista Kushirogawa
La Vista Kushirogawa
#1 of 52 in Kushiro
380 reviews
Akanko Onsen
New Akan Hotel
New Akan Hotel
#18 of 52 in Kushiro
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Crown Hills Kushiro
#12 of 52 in Kushiro
165 reviews
Hotel Axia Inn Kushiro
#36 of 52 in Kushiro
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onsen Minshuku Yamaguchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onsen Minshuku Yamaguchi

Address: 5-3-2 Akancho Akanko Onsen, Kushiro 085-0467, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Kushiro > Akanko Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kushiro
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Onsen Minshuku Yamaguchi Kushiro, Japan - Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing