We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average on its best day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Terrace Chitose
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels / Ryokan in Chitose
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I'm a Westerner and if you're not accustomed to traveling in Asia this hotel may come as a surprise for you. I traveled alone on business. My room was standard Japanese - space for a bed and a desk and that's all. Total square footage was well below 100. The bathroom was smaller than my 3-person hot tub back home. The television screen is smaller than my laptop and has six Japanese channels. The internet is hard-wired in the room but the connectivity is good. I play games on the internet for entertainment when I travel and I was getting 180ms ping to a US East Coast server. As others have noted there is absolutely nothing to do anywhere near the hotel. There is a convenience store across the street which has pre-cooked food, including some western-style dishes. There is a McDonald's about a half-mile away. Breakfast buffet is pretty decent, but not what you would find at a Hilton, for example. The hotel is worn and really needs complete renovation, but I don't get the sense that it is dirty. They do have bicycles you can check out and use. There was a refrigerator in the room and a microwave in the lobby. For a place to stay overnight before a flight home, this place is adequate. Beyond that you'll grow weary of it pretty quickly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DontAsk4AScreenName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 217 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel only one night in order to take a flight back home. The hotel is far from train station and everything, the only way to go out is taking taxi. The lobby looks old, not clean and dark. The room also looks old. This hotel needs major revamp!
Free wifi is provided in lobby area, wired interest is provided in room. Free coffee from coffee machine is provided in lobby. I spent 15,000 yen for one night in this hotel, it is not value the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie89302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Situation is lacking in charm on a busy highway intersection on the edge of town, but a short walk away is a huge, forested park with a clear river running by it. Hotel provides bicycles; breakfast buffet has huge variety; there is a communal hot bath. Rooms not the tiniest but unremarkable and worn. Front desk was unable or unwilling to assist with basic modern office processes, and none too polite about either, most unusually for Japan. Nor did they seem to think their word meant anything. 時代遅れの事務処理しかできない・やってくれないフロントの方々は日本だと思えないぐらい失礼な対応振りを見せた。約束も平気で破る。

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ipu-wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

ビジネスでの利用です。
東京からの最終便で千歳に到着し、タクシーでホテルまで移動しました。
所要時間は20分程度、料金は約2000円です。
千歳空港を早朝・夜間便で利用するには便利なホテルだと思います。

内装は通常のビジネスホテルです。
旧日航ホテルと聞いて小奇麗な雰囲気を予想すると期待はずれかもしれません。
1階のロビーではコーヒーのサービスがあり、また氷のサービスがあるのもビジネス利用という感じがします。

大浴場があるのですが、フロントの目の前を通って行かなければならず、女性であれば行きにくいかなという感じがします。
ただし、部屋の浴槽が十分広いので、特に不便はありません。

難点は、部屋のデスクの照明が暗いので、書類を読もうとすると苦労する点と、
駅や繁華街からは距離があるので、夜の便で到着する際には食事を済ませておく必要があることです。

特に期待しなければ十分という感じでしょう。

I stayed this hotel for business trip, just 1 night.
You can find it is easy to get here from Chitose Airport by taxi, it takes about 20 min and cost is about JPY 2000.
But it is bit far from the nearest train station (Chitose).
If you need to get the airport in early morning or at a late hour, here is one of options.


Interiors are old fashion.
It is the former Nikko Group Hotel, though; you will be disappointed if you expect the "Nikko" branded style hotel.
At the lounge on the lobby floor, you can get a cup of coffee and ice for free.

There is a large public bath in this hotel, but I did not use it, because to get there I should path the front desk and I do not want to meet the receptionists after taking bath...
Every room have bath, of course, and it is large enough for one person.

If you get this hotel at the late hour, it is better to take a meal before get the taxi, there is not any restaurant , just one convenience store in front of this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maiky00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The rooms here are bigger than average for Japan and very clean. The service was good and the staff was easy to work with. The hot chocolate from the lobby bar is great and they have this courtyard filled with trees that's very pretty when it snows. I was there for business and most of the meeting rooms were also large and the food was good. There's a buffet you can buy for breakfast and it's got a good variety for multiple cultures.

There isn't a whole lot in the immediate area... a convenience store, some small shops including a liquor store and the obligatory McDonald's. A 10 minute cab ride will get you to the train station and more restaurants and a shopping mall. The train station will take you into the heart of Sapporo.

There are several things to do via shuttles. The potato chip factory has a tour, Snowland has tubing and horse rides, as well as golf in the summer and there's a free airport shuttle. There were a ton of skiers passing through as well.

Overall, not a vacation spot but good for business, particulary for Americans who are used to bigger rooms.

Room Tip: One of the towers is nicer, but I'm not sure which one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShutterbugTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Part of our 7D Hokkaido tour, the room is of Japanese standard (everything is compact). The room is quite clean and comfortable, there is a convenient shop just across the road, not much for shopping but it is OK. Very near to Chitose airport. We arrived late around 9pm the restaurant staffs were so kind to wait for us to prepare dinner, was told they are closed at 8plus. Good Service ! The breakfast was also good with many variety.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank climsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

As part of the tour, we stayed at this hotel for 2 separate occasions.

The room we had on our first stay was bad. The room was small and cramped. And we found menses stains on the bedsheets.

On the second stay, the room was cleaner and bigger. But, the experience I had on the first day gave me a very bad experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iwanttogotojapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chitose hotels
0.9 mi away
ANA  Crowne Plaza Hotel Chitose
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wing International Chitose
0.7 mi away
Chitose Airport Hotel
Chitose Airport Hotel
#14 of 22 in Chitose
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Area One
Hotel Area One
#10 of 22 in Chitose
139 reviews
2.7 mi away
Air Terminal Hotel
Air Terminal Hotel
#2 of 22 in Chitose
522 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Route Inn Chitose Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Terrace Chitose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Terrace Chitose

Address: 4-4 Honcho, Chitose 066-8520, Hokkaido (Formerly ホテル日航千歳)
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Chitose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels / Ryokan in Chitose
Price Range: $42 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Terrace Chitose 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Grand Terrace Chitose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Hotel Chitose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing