We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveler rating
211
128
26
8
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
128
26
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pillow gallery massage chair lake shikotsu breakfast and dinner private onsen sashimi main dish presidential suite tatami area western dishes outdoor jacuzzi chitose airport the bus buffet spread choose your own during the check in process high class
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 382 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

It is a such relaxing place to end our 12 days Hokkaido Trip! We booked the hotel through Orbitz. Through Orbitz message hotel, we arranged our free pickup from Sapporo and dropped off Chitose airport next Day. So easy! Hotel requires everyone to take shoes off before entering lobby and walk inside with only socks on. We are perfect fine with this. The dining room is in another building connected by corridor which is short but very cold to walk through in winter. Food is very good quality both dinner and breakfast! Our room is very spacious and has a message chair which I enjoyed. Indoor and outdoor Onsen is great! When we boarded bus to the airport, staffs line up and bowed to us, it is so touching!

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank Fei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
橋本純一, 支配人 at Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no Uta, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Thank you so much for visiting our hotel.
We are very happy to that you have enjoyed your stay.
We will continue to provide services that you can be relaxing,and aim to make more better hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel next time.

Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no uta.
Manager,Junich Hashimoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2017 via mobile

Before I begin my review, I cannot help but wonder why a previous reviewer had to post photographs of a few stained areas of his/her room. The resort obviously prides itself on its quality and formality. It is very difficult to avoid stains on genuine traditional inn tatami type rooms and I thought the resort had maintained its room and common areas very well.

Anyway, to recount our experience, we were quite surprised when we were told to remove our shoes before entering the lobby area. Once we got used to the idea, we were walking around the resort in our white 'ninja' socks (provided in the room) and walking between buildings in the clogs/slippers provided by the resort.

Beware that the corridor areas between the buildings (to get to the dining areas) are extremely cold. We were wearing the resort's samue type clothes, their outer coats and our own heatech, yet our teeth could not stop chattering throughout the short walk. The heater in the corridor provided hardly any noteworthy warmth. We would also have loved to soak our feet in the outdoor foot bath, but the icy steps and cold winds made getting there look too daunting. The rooms were nice and cosy though.

The lobby with the fireplace (where one could enjoy marshmallow toasting) was a lovely highlight and fancy interior design piece. We loved the ambience it created and the excellent choice of music accompanying the fireplace experience.

Our tour guide had followed us to the lobby and we were quite surprised when we were asked many times during the check-in process if we were a party of three or four. Perhaps the resort had unfortunate experiences with gatecrashers before. Anyway, it was a tad uncomfortable being asked the same question more than three times in the space of ten minutes - it was as if they did not trust our replies, and to have this right at the check-in process did not provide for an impressive start service-wise.

Since the resort did not have a private onsen for booking, we nearly regretted not booking a room with an in-room onsen. I had chosen not to book one on account that the in-room onsens were all outdoor ones that looked really frosty (at least from the pictures that I saw). The other reason was the view. When we stayed at Nonokaze, the beautiful view of Lake Toya and the mountains were extremely captivating. The view from our room at Tsuruga resort was nice but not as impressive. We did ask if we could upgrade our room but only the presidential suite was available at an additional 1.5 times the price we paid. If we had more time at the resort we would have tried it, but we decided to give it a miss since we reached at 4pm and had to check out at 8:30am in the morning.

I liked the pillow options at the pillow gallery. It was opposite the spa and one could try out the various pillow types at the gallery and select a suitable one to bring back to the room.

The bathroom design was way too pre-fab. Stone or even wood would have worked much better versus plastic.

We loved the massage chair in the room - it looked innocuous enough but was so much better than the Osim ones that we have at home.

Food was really good, both the breakfast and dinner. We loved the ala carte menu that was available during the buffet dinner - there were a couple of main dish choices as well as gourmet pizzas. The Japanese mayo chicken pizza was so tasty, we ordered it three times! The sashimi selection was fresh and the food presentation was very much an art - the true Japanese style! We did not feel like we were eating at a mass-cooked buffet. There are two dinner timings to choose from - 5:45 or 7:30. We saw more families with young kids at the earlier slot. Overall, there were more Japanese guests at this resort than the previous one one that we stayed in at Lake Toya - which was largely filled with Chinese groups. The clientele at this resort were not a boisterous bunch though so one can thoroughly enjoy the peace and serenity at the Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Rokugatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
橋本純一, 支配人 at Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no Uta, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Thank you for taking out the time to review our hotel.It is truly our honor to provide exceptional customer service.I will be sure to share your comments with our team in hopes of better serving our guest.Thank you for your loyalty.
I aporogize to made you feel uncomfortable that we had asked you the same question many times when you check in.However,please understand that we have to check the details of the guest's booking and the information of the person actually checked in.
We would like to think about improvement measures about our staff service especially check in system.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Hokkaido!

Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no uta.
Manager,Junich Hashimoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017 via mobile

We booked the best suite for 2 nights and it’s a sizeable suite with nice view facing the lake, private onsen, double wash basin, a kitchenette with basin and electric cooking stove. The room is a bit outdated but details oriented on room facilities including Good rain shower and 2 massage chairs.

It was a nice gesture of allowing guests to bbq marshmallow at hotel lobby fireplace and for reading.

Though the room amenities are standard ones, they offer free beer, juices and desserts in the room and free udon for supper.

Most staff speaks English & courteous & buffet dinner and breakfast were great with good choices of dishes though not plenty. However only given 1 hour for buffet dinner may be a bit harsh as couldn’t enjoy dinner. 2nd night japanese breakfast & kaiseki dinner were good though.

Too bad that they had a major power suspension & water on checkout date at 1000-1500 which we decided to check out earlier than planned. They should have prewarned us when booked.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jaqu1324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
橋本純一, 支配人 at Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no Uta, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Thank you very much for staying our hotel.
We are very happy to that you have enjoyed your stay.
We will continue to provide services that you can be relaxing,and aim to make more better hotel.
We apologize for made you feel uncomfortable by the fact that we did not tell you about scheduled blackouts beforehand.We would like to think about improvement measures so that it will not be the same happen.
We really appreciate your review and hope to see you soon,Take care!
Warmest Regards,

Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no uta.
Manager,Junich Hashimoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017

It is about 30 min. drive from Chitose airport.So if you want to spend your first night at nice and quiet onsen resort, I will recommend this place. The best part of this resort is its dinner and breakfast buffet. The selection is not that large, yet everything they have is good. Went there twice already and will go back even more times for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinhee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
橋本純一, 支配人 at Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no Uta, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2017

Thank you very much for visiting our hotel.
We are very happy to that you have enjoyed your stay.
We will continue to propvide services that you can relaxing,and aim to make more better hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel next time.

Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no uta.
Manager,Junichi Hashimoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

- high class boutique hotel with exquisite decoration and design.
- room is spacious
- staff are very helpful and speak good english.
- there's free transportation to JR station and airport and schedules work well.
- location is good, only a few min walk to the lake.
- great buffet dinner and breakfast.
- great onsen, esp. standing pool and open air pool.

only downside is it's a bit expensive.

Room Tip: try to book earlier for room with view/onsen
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank singdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
橋本純一, 支配人 at Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no Uta, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2017

Thank you so much for visiting our hotel.
We are very happy to that you have enjoyed your stay.
We will continue to provide services that you can be relaxing,and aim to make more better hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel next time.

Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no uta.
Manager,Junich Hashimoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews