We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
77
133
41
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
133
41
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view hotel room outdoor hot spring baths snow onsen gender japan tatami hokkaido sapporo furniture
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 268 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile

We were here for two nights and one day and had a really relaxing time. The foliage on the drive out was spectacular. Worth it for that alone! Our room was large and our sleeping mats were really comfortable. Breakfast and dinner are included and both were absolutely delicious and very filling. The onsens are also really nice though be forewarned these are fully nude baths and they are separated by gender. We are in Japan on our honeymoon and had thought there would be some hot springs where we could hang out together in our bathing suits. That is not the case but we were able to rent a private onsen so we could have time together. It costs extra (25,000 yen) but was really worth it. The outdoor stone pool was phenomenal. The staff doesn’t speak a lot of English but are very nice and welcoming. We were glad we made the trip.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank heidi_shira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

My family took a last minute trip to Hokkaido. Late August is high season, I did not have many options. I got one night here and another night at the modern place around the lake.
The positives are as follow: the natural outdoor hot spring is amazing, the dinner specifically the sashimi were delicious, and the view of the lake.
The negatives are as follow: late summer season is buggy. The windows and the screen system are not designed to keep the flying insects out. The fan is ok, but since I had to close the windows completely, it got hot at night. With the futons and a heavy blankets on the tatami we were uncomfortable at night. The room is very basic, containing dated furnishing. Due to high season, we paid over $400 for an overnight stay.
You need a car, there are no other stores or places to go without a car.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank JeanC971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

Had a good break here, a very good onsen with family and public baths. Traditional, but great water and superb views of the lake. The Hotel is tired and needs renovation, a very ordinary breakfast selection but the set dinner menus were very good.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Passionate-Owners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017

日帰りで温泉を楽しみました。札幌市中心街から車で1時間ほどで行けます。一軒家の旅館で、支笏湖のすぐ前に露天風呂があります。私が行ったのは、晴天の午前中で、青空と白い雲、湖水の濃い青色の景色が素晴らしかったです。この露天風呂を満喫するためには、晴天の日に行くことをお勧めします。
I went to this hot spring in daytime. It takes about one hour from downtown of Sapporo to here by car. It looks like a solitary cottage and there is an open-air bath in front of Shikotsu lake. I could enjoy amazing view which consisted of blue sky, white cloud and dark blue of lake's water while taking a hot spring bath. I recommend you visit there on sunny day.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sho0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017

Marukoma Onsen Ryokan definitely highly recommend! there is wonderful view in room if you choose lake view. Nice and Friendly Staff. especially one of staffs belonging with my room. she was very professional and kind. she made me more comfortable there.

you should know the place is not easy to access other place if you didn't rent a car. but the place is very good place to relax and calm in peace.

also, it was heaven to see the lake in the bath.

Room Tip: lake side view is the best choice to stay
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Yoonmin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews