We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveler rating
199
388
90
13
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
199
388
90
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews public bath aeon mall hot bath top floor okayama station great location room was clean stayed here for two nights rooms are average size japanese culture short walk breakfast buffet single room nice stay english speaking staff nice hotel lots of restaurants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 696 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2019

This is my second time staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama (4 nights), I travel myself this time, unlike last time was traveled with girlfriend. The single room is typical size but not too small compared to other 3 star hotels, the bed is semi-double which is big enough for me. The location of this hotel is really excellent, only about 5mins walk from Okayama Station, easy to locate! There is very big public bath at top of the hotel which can relax your day after travel, I just love it!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jack886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgh-okayama, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2019

Thank you very much for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama and distributing your time to share your detailed feedback. We are fortunate enough to know that our location and public bath room could meet your satisfaction.

Our hotel is ideally located close to the Okayama station that allows travelers to enjoy the convenience of our location. The location of our hotel is very central to everything and easy to access such as train station and Okayama Airport so that its location is convenient for not only business but also sightseeing. The location is very close to Okayama city where many restaurants, shops, department stores are there so that you can enjoy shopping, eating and entertainment.
Furthermore, we have received so many positive comments from thousands of our guests in the past on our well-equipped public bath which has a superb little Japanese garden view. You can have a refresh and relax time at the public bath room.

On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that the size of your room did not meet your expectations. We would appreciate your kind understanding for the room situation in the city of Japan. Okayama is densely populated city, we designed most of our room a bit compact but for function and convenience. However, your comments have been shared with concerned departments for our next renovation in our future.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your feedback, and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2018

I just spent 3 nights at the hotel and it was really excellent service and amenities.

I must mention though, don't book with Agoda! They roped me into booking with them instead of straight with the hotel and I ended up paying more and it didn't include breakfast!

Breakfast was also excellent and well worth the extra $30 I paid for two days' worth. There's a buffet with so many choices.

The location of the hotel is really convenient too, between Okayama station, Aeon Mall and a quick bus or tram to Okayama gardens and castle.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodifs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgh-okayama, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2018

Thank you very much for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama and taking the time to share your experience with us.

Firstly, we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay including our

service, amenities, and convenient location. We are pleased that our team left you with a positive impression.

On the other hand, we regret to hear about your unpleasant experience regarding your

reservation through the online travel agency. However, we are glad that you were satisfied

with our breakfast and rest of your stay with us.

Once again, we very much appreciate your feedback, and it would be our pleasure to have

you stay with us again the next time you visit Okayama.


Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2018

There is a common annoying feature that one finds in many hotels in Japan. They restrict your ability to cool down the room based on the CALENDAR! It's just crazy. It's November, so it simply MUST be cold and we MUST keep all the rooms hot. It's infuriating. The number one most important feature of a hotel is how good a sleep one has. Well I for one cannot sleep when it's boiling hot in the room. I called for a fan and they brought some sort of tall device that in which they had put ice and water? What year is this? Anyway, this thingamajig did blow air that did cool down the room a couple degrees, but a fan set up by the open window would've done a much better job. The hotel itself is very nice, convenient, breakfast average, bed comfy, rooms nice, but no way can I recommend a hotel that doesn't allow a paying customer to adjust the room temperature.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank UpgradeMeNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgh-okayama, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2018

Thank you for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama and taking the time from your busy schedule to share your valuable feedback.
We are very sorry to hear that we haven’t inform our air conditioner is central control system in all rooms. We understand how important condition and facilities of rooms when you choose the hotel.
We very regret to hear that we were unable to meet your expectation in regards to our room condition. Kindly be advised that air conditioning system, heating and cooling, can be varied by our staff according weather, the season and other factors. In this case, the possibility of the cause would be a rise in temperature by unseasonal weather.
We always happy to help the guest requests as much as possible. So, if you need some rental items such as an electric fan, a humidifier, extra pillows etc., please feel free to contact front desk. However, we have addressed your comment with the concerned department heads to pay attention for future improvement.
Once again, your feedback is highly appreciated and we hope you will give us the opportunity welcoming you back in future.

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night at mitsui garden Okayama . Was the worst hotel stay ever. The Aircon doesn’t work, we had to open the windows but the sound of traffic was too loud for a peaceful sleep. The beds were too soft and the pillows with the beads was hard and uncomfortable. Only plus point was the warm toilet seat.

Thank chewhuap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgh-okayama, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

Thank you very much for having chosen at Okayama from among a number of hotels and taking time to review of the hotel.

We very regret to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations in regards to our room condition. Kindly be advised that air conditioning system, heating and cooling, can be varied by our staff according to the weather, the season and other factors. In this case, the possibility of cause would be rise in temperature by unseasonal weather. So if you need some rental items such as an electric fan, a humidifier, extra pillows etc., please feel free to contact front desk.

With regards to our pillows, we felt apologetic that you coud not have peaceful sleep during your stay. We offer a comfortable sleep to the guest with our original one which we developed jointly with LOFTY. Guests can find their preferred pillow type by choosing between soft and firm layers, and higher or lower side units. We offer the best selection items for our guest to stay comfortably.

However, we keep your valuable comment in our mind, and we will make use of your comment for our future renovation.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Mistui Garden Hotel Okayama in the near future.

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2018

I stayed here for two nights, before and after an overnight trip to Naoshima. Conveniently located near the station, but hidden behind the gigantic Grandvia hotel – I had to ask directions at Tourist Information. Pluses for me: nice public baths, and you can open the windows in the room.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BarbaraTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgh-okayama, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama. We are truly pleased to hear you have left here satisfied.
We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay, our convenient location and public bathroom.
Our hotel is ideally located close to the Okayama station that allows travelers to enjoy the convenience of our location. The location of our hotel is very central to everything and easy to access such as train station and Okayama Airport so that its location is convenient for not only business but also sightseeing. The location is very close to Okayama city where many restaurants, shops, department stores are there so that you can enjoy shopping, eating and entertainment.
Furthermore, we have received so many positive comments from thousands of our guests in the past on our well-equipped public bath which has a superb little Japanese garden view. You can have a refresh and relax time at the public bath room.
Thank you again for your feedback, and It will be an honor for us to welcome you back to our property and we definitely look forward to that day.

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews