We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location & Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Okayama
Certificate of Excellence
Japan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect Location & Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Pros:
Nice modern Japanese design with clean compact rooms. The hotel was recently renovated and reopened a couple months ago. The air cleaner is an additional bonus.
Very polite, efficient and professional staff. We were greeted each time we passed room attendants, the restaurant waitress and the front desk staff.
Beautifully designed public bath on the 10th floor with a very relaxing atmosphere.
Great variety of fresh food with local produce at the breakfast buffet. They even served curry, yakisoba and udon.
Location highly recommended as it is walking distance to Okayama Station. Convenient to visit Naoshima Island, Kurashiki and the Korakuen park.
Their amenities set is very complete. It includes a night wear (yukata), slippers and a full bathroom set . We were able to travel very lightly.
Free LAN internet although they do not offer wireless.

Cons:
There was a funny old smell in the room despite the room being recently fully renovated. Unfortunately the air cleaner could not remove the smell.

Room Tip: No need to bring your night wear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TkVoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    292
    58
    10
    2
See reviews for
98
80
89
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

I stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama for 2 nights in March 2009. The room (17.1m2 type C single room) was booked by the city of Okayama.

The hotel is about 2 minutes walk distance from the Okayama JR station and the bus stop.Type C room is a little bit more specious with an extra small round table and chair. I requested a quiet room and was given the one at the of the long hall way. Yes it was very quiet. The room was clean and comfortable for single occupancy. The breakfast buffet was good.

I had a great stay. Recommend!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pooh_bear_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's right by Okayama station. The rates are reasonable too, and there's a Japanese bath (though I didn't try it out). However, the rooms are tiny and spartan. There was nothing I had a problem with, but there was nothing that impressed me. There is 1000 yen breakfast buffet but I wouldn't recommend it. This is a hotel for someone who has to be right by the station and doesn't want to pay much.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank max736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2009

We were in this hotel for one night. I don't recommend it. The beds were old and I could feel the springs in the bed, very bad night. The room is small and there is no comfort whatsoever. Internet in rooms was very slow. The situation near the station however is convenient but next time in Okayama we'll probably go to Hotel Granvia.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurentJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2006

Very good business hotel. Location is excellent, 5 min walk from the station. Not expensive, around 10 000 yens for a twin.
Walking distance from the shopping area.
Very nice Onsen (hot bath) on the last floor, with a view on a japanese garden.
Good restaurants around.
Defenitly a good option.
Mistsui have a few hotel trough Japan, good website in english, reservation online.
Best business hotel I stayed in, especially for that price.

Helpful?
5 Thank Kikoparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okayama hotels
Okayama Station
Ana Crowne Plaza Okayama
Okayama Koraku Hotel
#1 of 63 in Okayama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Okayama Station
Hotel Granvia Okayama
Hotel Granvia Okayama
#4 of 63 in Okayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Okayama Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Okayama Ekimae
Comfort Hotel Okayama
#8 of 63 in Okayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama

Property: Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama
Address: 1-7 Ekimotomachi, Okayama 700-0024, Okayama Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Okayama Prefecture > Okayama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Okayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsui Garden Okayama
Okayama Mitsui Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing