We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Garden”
Review of Korakuen Garden

Korakuen Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$725.45*
and up
2-Day Hiroshima Tour from Kyoto Including Miyajima and Kurashiki
More Info
$725.45*
and up
2-Day Hiroshima Tour from Osaka Including Miyajima and Okayama
Ranked #1 of 131 things to do in Okayama
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Nice Garden”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Just nice.. with ponds and koi fish.. bamboos.. tea plants.. traditional Japanese houses.. autumn foliage and very spacious even though there were thousands of visitors during my visit...
Okayama Castle located next to this garden and the ticket can be purchase together...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rezzqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    467
    117
    13
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
high wycombe
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This didn't live up to expectation for me. I have been to many temple gardens in Kyoto that I would rate more highly. It was an overcast day which may not have helped.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely, even under grey skies”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent a very pleasant and rewarding couple of hours in this 'strolling garden' as the Japanese call them, where it is all about enjoying the different landscapes and sweeping views. But if you really love gardening and you can spare a day, take a limited express train north from Okayama to Yasugi (about 2 hours - free on a JR rail pass. Free shuttle from the station) and visit the Adachi Museum of Art and associated gardens (google it). Simply breathtaking and a five star garden.

Helpful?
Thank paulreid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I had my wedding here”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Korakuen garden is wonderful!

We were the first westerns to be married in the garden.

The wedding was in April and it was just beautiful!

The staff were very friendly and their service was above and beyond!

Helpful?
1 Thank Shandii G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“One of the Top Gardens”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Last time we visited (three years ago) the garden was suffering the effects of a long hot summer and the grass had died off. Not what you want when the reputation stands on the vast expanses of green lawns! This time all was green and we saw it as it was meant to look. The leaves were just starting to gain their autumn colours, but all the other features were brilliant. We got a nice surprise when looking for the picnic area to sit with our lunch, to find there was a magnificent view of the Castle just across the river. Talk about a picnic with a view!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Korakuen Garden also viewed

Okayama, Okayama Prefecture
Okayama, Okayama Prefecture
 
Okayama, Okayama Prefecture
 

Been to Korakuen Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing