We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Okayama
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels / Ryokan in Okayama
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Comfort Hotel is a great option for a budget traveler in a car. This hotel is in the heart of Okayama, right near the castle. Parking is a bit of a pain as it is several blocks from the hotel. The rooms are small but clean. This property is a bit older and more tired than the typical Japanese Comfort Hotels. Breakfast is free and pretty good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crucifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 232 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel has a fantastic location - it is on the main drag, a direct shot down the street from the JR Station. The castle and garden, the nightlife of Kencho Dori (sp?) and easy access to surrounding cities like Kurashiki are all minutes away. Trams stop nearby and you are directly across from the symphony hall. The rooms have more space than the average business hotel, though the bathroom is still a raised cubicle. The staff is very nice and has a good memory for the customers. A light breakfast is complimentary.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This hotel is clean and comfortable with no frills. I paid 6000 yen during the week. The Japanese breakfast was quite good for a hotel this size. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daytonengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I rated this hotel as excellent not because it is a five star hotel but because it is great value for the cost. We stayed the night here for 5800 yen, including breakfast, coffee service and wireless internet. Don't expect any luxury but all of the basics you need are there. Bathroom is very small but clean. The location is excellent if you want to view Korakuen and Okayamajo.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JD_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We stayed 1 night at the Comfort Hotel Okayama in november 2010. We had booked a hotelroom in Himeji to visit the castle there, but because of the restauration of Himeji-jo, we had to change our plan and so we went to Okayama. This is a very nice city, not so touristic like a lot of other places in Japan, it has beautifull shops and some splendid places to visit like Okayama-castle, the very beautifull Korakuen garden and Kurashiki, a small, nice place with canals and old houses at a 15 minutes trainride from Okayama. So it is worthwile to stay one day here. The Comfort hotel is a 15 minutes walk from the trainstation, but you can take a tram to reach it. The hotel is clean, reception is friendly and breakfast is good with western and Japanese choices, there are computers for free internet in the lobby, there is a microwave in the lobby, there is free good coffee, tea and fresh water (15 h -24 h) in the lobby, so that is all OK. But there are some negative points too. The people at the reception desk speak very little English, they do their best, but it is very difficult to ask or explain something. The bathroom is very, very small, more like a cabin on a ship...And the room was much too hot. They put off the airco in November and the heater on. When we entered the room, it was like entering a sauna. We were lucky, we had the last room of the corridor, so we put our door open and the window too (for what it could), but it has taken a very long time, to cool the room a little bit and it was really too hot for sleeping. But for only 1 night, the hotel is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liesenluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Liked the hotel however bathroom is very small and because it is the only hotel we stayed at in Japan during our 3 week stay this was the only one we could not get our wi fi to work.
Wi fi working I would have gave it one more star. Great for walking to the castle and gardens. Great breakfast and free coffee available in the lobby after 3 p.m.
Overall I liked the hotel but if you are like me and require the internet as a necessity I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kameidotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Comfort Hotel Okayama

This business hotel is a fifteen minute walk east from the JR station, along Momotaro Odori Street. From the hotel, the Okayama Korakuen Garden and Okayama Castle are both no more than five minutes further east.
Although the hotel provides a simple free hot breakfast (primarily Japanese, some western food), there are not many restaurants nearby for lunch or dinner.
The tiny room is large, compared to the miniscule fiberglass “capsule” bathroom. During a five-week sojourn in Japan, this is the only time I ever went without a shower.
Proximity to the park and castle and the low cost are the only reasons for staying at this Comfort Hotel.
The Tourist Information Office at Narita Airport has a JNTO brochure for Okayama and Kurashiki.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jordan95666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okayama hotels
Okayama Koraku Hotel
#1 of 64 in Okayama
485 reviews
Okayama Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Okayama Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Okayama Station
Hotel Granvia Okayama
Hotel Granvia Okayama
#5 of 64 in Okayama
465 reviews
Okayama Station
Hotel Maira
Hotel Maira
#7 of 64 in Okayama
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Okayama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Okayama

Address: 1-1-13 Marunouchi, Kita-ku, Okayama 700-0823, Okayama Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Okayama Prefecture > Okayama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Okayama
Price Range: $54 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Okayama 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Okayama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Okayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing