We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Excel Okayama
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Hotel Maira(Okayama)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
24
53
26
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
53
26
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 107 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel is comfortable and clean, with a bathroom in the (spacious) room. The best part is the location: minutes from the garden and castle (our room had a view on the castle), the nearest tram station is meters from the hotel, and the train station is 15 mins walk from the hotel (a 5 mins with the tram). Generally, a very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent one night on our way back to Tokyo, to take in the gardens and the castle. The hotel was perfect for that.

It is less than a half mile from the JR station. If you have no luggage, you can walk down the main street (follow the tram tracks). Or take the tram for 3 stops, it will cost you 100yen, pay cash when you exit.

Hotel had actually larger room than expected. Somewhat minimal amenities but perfectly fine. Simple restaurant in the basement.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErnestFromBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This hotel is located on the far side of Okayama's main street (at least I think it is). It's quite close to Koraku-en and many other major sightseeing spots of Okayama, and there's a tram stop near the hotel which will conveniently take you to Okayama's train station. I will say the location is very good. It is worth to note that there seems to have very few shops and restaurants near the hotel, though.

I didn't stayed in this hotel for sightseeing in Okayama. I just need to find a place to stay for the night on my way from Osaka to Shikoku. There are lots of hotels near the train station, but most of them are too expensive IMO. So I chose this one. Less than 10 minutes from train station by tram and is much cheaper.

It's a bit difficult to make a fair review about my room here because I received a free room upgrade upon checking-in. But this is a typical example of "business hotel" in Japan: small lobby, (should be) small room, but still clean and comfortable for the price. There is a computer in the lobby for Internet browsing (free). In my room, I found some examples of snacks which is being sold in the lobby. What an interesting way to make some extra money. I have a feeling that the lighting in my room is too dim, otherwise everything is good for a hotel of this class. The breakfast is mediocre, but I like the restaurant's atmosphere. The big TV screen and bar-like decoration somehow bring me some energy in the morning.

Generally speaking, this hotel does not offer better service than other business hotels in Japan. But its good price and location make it stand out, and worth a recommendation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poorjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Another typical budget hotel. Not quite as good value as the Toyoko Inns are, the Excel includes no breakfast and is a bit more expensive than the Toyoko Inns. It still makes for a good budget hotel, which can be recommended without hesitation. the rooms are very small, but this is typical for Japan. they are clean, have tea and other hotel amenities - shampoo, soap etc. (own bathroom).
Free internet on a lobby computer or with LAN cable in the room.
The staff at the reception were very friendly and extremely helpful. It helped that one of them could speak English, a rare thing in such inexpensive hotels and even in expensive hotels.
The location is very good for Korakuen garden, Okayama's top sight, but not so good for restaurants and shopping. there is a tram stop outside the hotel, which takes you to the station. We walked it, which is just straight up the main road and takes about 20 minutes walking. To stay nearer the station would probably be preferable, if any hotel could have matched the price (and had rooms available - not on our dates).
As it was the Excel was fine.
Cannot comment on the restaurant. We did not eat there. It seemed very noisy at night and for breakfast we preferred proper coffee and Western style breads (Starbucks is near the station...)

Room Tip: room away from the road
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOItravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews