We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
56
26
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
56
26
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night multi course family bath visiting japan japanese style special experience two nights historical town pricey place an amazing place to stay old town train station beef sashimi suite kaiseki warehouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 86 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and it has been wonderful. It is a traditional ryokan with a modern touch and you have the choice between Japanese and Western breakfast in the morning. Staff is very friendly and the ryokan is located right by the canal in the historical part of the town.
Would always recommend and book again.

Date of stay: May 2016
2  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2016

This Ryokan is the nicest establishments I have ever stayed at. There are just a few rooms in a beautiful old town on the canal. Each suite is very large, boasting a living room, bedroom, office room and separate bathroom and toilet. It is all traditional style with tatami matting. The showers are also traditional onsen style with a jet bathtub. There is a private onsen on site that you can book for your party. Everything down the toiletries are of the highest quality. Your room and bathroom will overlook small private gardens as well. It is very traditional and high end.

We stayed here for two nights, and ate the traditional kaiseki dinner. The first night we were given a beautiful private room with on floor seating and tatami matting facing the river. The second night we had a private room with tables overlooking the back garden. The food was incredible.

The service is truly exceptional, and they cater to your every need. When my mother asked for milk for her English tea on the first night, there was more waiting for her the next night, along with a British tea pot and two cups they had obviously bought that day.

I cannot stress enough how incredible this establishment is. The town itself is the perfect way to spend the day strolling around checking out the local produce. It is a textile town, and has tons of high end but reasonably priced artisanal shops. It is well worth a visit.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank holiday417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2016 via mobile

Kurashiki is one place I will have to return to again. It is a part of Japan that one has to personally experience. The culture and history were fascinating. Just hanging out- shopping, eating, people watching was unlike other parts of Japan. It was a very memorable experience.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2016

Back in September 2013 of 2013 I posted a review of the Ryokan and I have to tell you....over 18 months later and on a second visit NOTHING has changed. Without doubt the BEST Ryokan in Japan I have stayed in. This time it was only for one night but it was just as amazing as our last visit. Once again from the moment we arrived our every need is attended to. The staff all wear traditional dress and are constantly looking after your needs.

The meal was outstanding and it appeared as if it would never stop. Yes the traditional table and tatami mat are the place where you eat your meals in your room but they are so delicious you don't recognise any discomfort at all. 

All the meals are presented separately and are clearly explained by the staff. It is FRESH FRESH FRESH and delicious!

The rooms are very comfortable and you are given the option of sleeping in a bed or traditionaly. 

There is a little outside garden and a private area for guests to sit late in the afternoon and to just take in this traditional style of service.

Make sure you take to time to book the hot bath for a great way to relax following a days sight seeing. Once again we did and it was bliss.

If you want to experience Japanese hospitality at its best you simply have to book into this Ryokan. Every time we come to Japan this Ryokan will be on our list. It is not cheap but nor should it be. it is simply magnificent?

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 391grantt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2015

This small 5-suite ryokan is situated in the very charming Central District of Kurashiki, an area filled with old warehouses converted to ryokans, restaurants and stores that wind along the narrow streets and a picturesque canal. It is great fun to simply walk around in this small area. Because Kurashiki is near Imbe, where Bizen pottery is created, there are lots of wonderful pottery stores in town, as well as an exceptional museum within walking distance of the ryokan.

The service and staff of the ryokan are impeccable, the suites, while traditional in style, contain every modern amenity; the food, served Kaieseki style, is exceptional. On our second night, we ate in a private dining room overlooking the canal. Breakfast and tea was served in a dining room adjacent to a beautifully landscaped garden. All and all, our stay was a truly memorable experience.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CMeyerinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews