We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed in our welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kurashiki Ivy Square Hotel
Brownsville,Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“disappointed in our welcome”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We liked the location right in the historic center...Too bad the front desk didn't tell us that we could've walked our the back door directly into it !! Our first trip out, we walked a long block along a busy street on one side, the hotel wall on the other. Luckily found our way back the scenic route. Our room was large by Japanese standards and we liked the non-cubicle style bathroom. Also liked the view of trees (up against the wall) outside our window, making it seem private and cozy. Disappointed that we did not get internet in our room...had to sit in the front lounge to get it. Liked the sento-style bath. Front desk was very reserved... I took them to be rude at first, then realized they were just being over-the-top formal and were treating everyone that way. (still would've been nice to get a warmer welcome tho...and better instruction on the best way to get to the historic district...the Japanese map they handed me did not clearly indicate about the back way out) BTW, I speak fluent Japanese...but I am an American woman...just got the feeling the front desk guy was put off for some reason, and this was the only place I felt that way...perhaps they were on tourist overload...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmgirlOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    120
    74
    9
    2
See reviews for
85
52
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
808
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Hotel is a bit older but located is a nice area of Kurashiki. Caught a taxi from Kurashiki Station to the hotel because we didn't want to carry the bags that far. The hotel is quite far from the station. Room was a bit small but clean and comfortable. We got the room quite cheap because of a groupon that we purchased. The area around the hotel has some nice shops with local crafts and local delicacies. After checking in we walked back towards the station and browsed shops along the way. Walking past the station we did some shopping at the outlet mall and had dinner in a restaurant near by. I'm not sure what the regular room rates are but the groupon was a really good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 808808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I really liked Ivy Square Hotel. From the moment I arrived and met the friendly South East Asian reception staff I felt comfortable. My room was spacious and quiet and looked out over trees. There is a great outside space and the hotel is right in the middle of the lovely Bikan district of Kurashiki so you can step out for a stroll at any time of the day. 15 minutes walk from the station so need a taxi if you have luggage. I spent three nights here and would love to return as Kurashiki is very convenient for visiting many nearby places.

Room Tip: Book a twin room even if solo traveller as singles don't have private bathrooms and still a reas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpk186418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Dated room, but more spacious then most. Location isn't great...we were backpacking and it's quite a hike from the train station. The restaurant is pretty expensive so we didn't eat there. The staff does speak English.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xixixi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kootenays, British Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

This hotel is a bit down at heels. Reminds me of a 60's hotel in the midwest. There is not really much of interest around this part of town in the evening. Room was fairly large by Japanese standards (twin beds was all that was available). Had a view of a wall. Quiet.

It is comfortable enough; a bit out of the way.

Had limited interaction with the staff but what I did have was pleasant and they seemed to be doing their best. I thought the restaurant was a little pricey - especially the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKK.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

This hotel is worth staying when you stay in Japanese family suite but I'm not sure for the western room. The japanese family room is quite big to contain 6 pax. The Ivy Square locates in the midst of Kurashiki historical village. It's a very nice spot compare to many hotels which locate around the train station and not that expensive if you compare to the ryokans which locate in the Kurashiki bikan area.The bikan area is very romantic and fantastic in autumn. It's worth to stay in the bikan area than the toxic city in front the station. This hotel has a big Japanese family suite. There is toilet seperate from private bathroom. We stunned at the first step we reached to our room. Not only the private bathroom but there are also the living room inside our suite!! It's the biggest room in our japan trip. Especially, the wonderful view of the yellow leaves from your window. It's fantastic.

The maid will prepare the futons for you as you stay in ryokan. Many accomodations in Japan don't offer this service in this room rate.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P0OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2005

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ivy Square Hotel. It is perfectly located for visiting the main attractions of Kurashiki and boasts a good restaurant and pleasant bar. The room was comfortable with tea-making facilities and a well-equipped bathroom. The hotel appears to be geared up for short stays only, as the wardrobe was rather tiny. Our view was to the back of the hotel, a secluded view of palm trees and the Ivy Square's wall. The staff were excellent and made us feel very much at home. We will make a point of staying here again when we next visit this lovely town.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kurashiki hotels
Kurashiki Station
Dormy Inn Kurashiki
Dormy Inn Kurashiki
#1 of 39 in Kurashiki
355 reviews
Kurashiki Station
Kurashiki Royal Art Hotel
Kurashiki Royal Art Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kurashiki
245 reviews
Kurashiki Station
Kurashiki Kokusai Hotel
Kurashiki Kokusai Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kurashiki
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kurashiki Station
Court Hotel Kurashiki
Court Hotel Kurashiki
#7 of 39 in Kurashiki
79 reviews
Vessel hotel Kurashiki
#5 of 39 in Kurashiki
83 reviews
Kurashiki Seaside Hotel
#22 of 39 in Kurashiki
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurashiki Ivy Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurashiki Ivy Square Hotel

Property: Kurashiki Ivy Square Hotel
Address: 7-2 Honmachi, Kurashiki 710-0054, Okayama Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Okayama Prefecture > Kurashiki > Kurashiki Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels / Ryokan in Kurashiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kurashiki Ivy Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kurashiki Ivy Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing