We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
96
142
34
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
96
142
34
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stay there again comfortable hotel french restaurant historic district hotel is located train station japan ohashi neighborhood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 283 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2018

The hotel is located a very short walking distance from the Ohara Art Museum and historic part of town, it's clean and well-maintained, the staff are friendly and efficient, the room was quiet and large, the mattress (firm) was ideal for sleeping, the breakfast buffet was nice, all told a wonderful place to stay. The only thing I didn't like was having a metal key on a chain, but given all the positives about the hotel that did not distract in any way. We'll stay there again next visit to Kurashiki.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2017

We had a large (unusual for Japan) bright room and nice bathroom in this comfortable hotel. The location is in a characterless neighborhood next to two other large hotels, and there are many tour buses around. However, we found the hotel quiet and service was very good. The best part is the closeness to the lovely Historic District where most tourists will want to spend their time. Just behind the hotel is the Ohashi House, former home of a wealthy merchant, that is well worth a visit. It is nice to be able to walk to the hotel from the train station. A French restaurant in the hotel has wonderful food, but service was slow on the evening we dined there.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NewYorkCityJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017

A relic from a more spacious, American-inspired era, this former Nikko hotel is a well-preserved late-70s gem - our top floor room was immense and very comfortable, with a wonderful bathroom. The styling hasn't been updated in decades, but all was in immaculate condition. The hotel towers above a modest neighbourhood, some 10 minutes walk from the station, and only a couple of minutes from the wonderfully appealing Bikan district, a great insight into 19th century Japan with very few foreign visitors. For a simple dinner in cosy surroundings, we recommend the tiny Misokatsu Umenoki round the corner.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

We got a corner room which afforded done extra space. Large comfortable bed. Very quiet. Great bathroom with separate shower. Furnished with modern style. Perfect location and very helpful staff with some English knowledge.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lawrence2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017

The hotel is 10 minutes walking distance to the train station and a stone throw from the historic quarter. The hotel is very grand with excellent staff service. This was the biggest place we stayed in while in Japan, the room was enormous, as was the bathroom! Beautifully designed, extremely comfortable, very luxurious. The breakfast was very good with extensive options available. The staff were really helpful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Kurashiki, and wish we had been able to stay longer.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BogleBugsAboutTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews