We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pricey, but so worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yokohama Fujiyoshi Izuten
Ranked #26 of 191 Hotels / Ryokan in Ito
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“pricey, but so worth it”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We tend to travel cheap. This was a last day/night in Japan splurge for us. We really wanted to experience a traditional Japanese ryokan with hot spring baths (onsen). It was all we could hope for. The onsen was excellent. There are several private pools and one or two shared mixed gender pools. All have a great view of the ocean over a green hill. All are just the right temperature: not too hot to get in, but plenty hot to get every muscle to relax after a long walk at the Jogasaki coast below. The dinner and breakfast was also amazing. You must like Japanese obsession with raw seafood, but if that is ok with you, there is no better. Fresh from the fishing village just bellow the fish, squid,snails and oysters are on the table within 15 minutes of leaving the boat. There were few cooked,steamed and fried courses as well. All very good but the raw stuff was the most special. Not just in quality but in presentation as well. Every plate is a piece of art and the food is arranged with an artistic flare as well.
The room was just amazing. After traveling for a week on low budget, we had a fill of places where one of us had to get on the bed so the other could pass by. Since we were here at low season (only one other couple was staying there at the same time) they gave us a complimentary upgrade to a suite with its own onsen bath. And it was truly a suite. It had a spacious sitting room, a bedroom, a porch, a separate sink and toilet rooms, an entrance hall and another gorgeous hot spring bath and shower room. All in the traditional Japanese style with gorgeous sliding screens/walls and carved wooden details.
The service was also exceptional. They picked up our luggage at Futo station so that we could go walk the coast. Then they picked us up again when we were ready to go up to the ryokan. Obviously, they also dropped us off the next morning. George, the Rumanian "gaijin" son in law, speaks excellent English, so there is now language problem.
And last superlative: in overcrowded Japan, this place was secluded. Sitting in the onsen looking out at the ocean, there was no one lese around. It was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night as part of a 14 day trip around Japan. This was our penultimate night and an amazing way to spend it. This place is off the beaten track, couple of trains from Atami but worth it. Picked up from Futo then check in in room. We paid for a private onsen but not really knowing much about it but after getting a tour of the ryokan there were lots of private onsens to use and it's so easy. As others have said, a clear night with the stars out is really fun. We had a few beers before and after dinner and then chilled in an onsen which was very hot but great once you got used to it. The food is great, we are not fans of raw fish but notified them of that in advance and our ten course dinner was excellent. The main substitute was Japanese beef and it was the best beef we have ever eaten. Ever! Breakfast is also massive and all fish. The sushi was superb but the rest was perhaps wasted on us as it was just too early for us to eat it all. Just watching then staff prepare it though was a pleasure itself. Yeah some bits could do with a bit of modernising but it might detract from the homely feel here, which makes it feel special.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank loveluxury1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The staff at Fujiyoshi really focus on providing excellent, personalized service to their guests. I was pleased to find that even as a foreigner, traveling alone, my every need was attended to. Although only one staff member spoke English, he was truly fantastic at making me feel right at home and that everything I could want was taken care of.

One of the larger rooms with private onsen had a wonderful patio which I really enjoyed. The rooms and older onsen could use a little updating, but it is a rustic experience. My only real complaint was lack of wi-fi; especially for those of us who need to continue to work, or want to converse via Skype or email with our families across the world, sitting in the courtyard of the house stealing a low wi-fi signal at midnight is not optimal.

Speaking of late nights, the onsen are absolutely fantastic late at night. They are very quiet, and the stars are just beautiful. I tried each one, but the third from the right of the newer ones seems to somehow have been the best. Late, quiet nights in the onsen were an absolutely amazing experience. The home-brewed plum wine is also delicious.

Between the wonderful late-night onsen, the attentive service, and the fantastic food, I would have to say Fujiyoshi Onsen fulfilled my every need.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Dylaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The other reviews have pretty much already summed it up. It felt like a friend would've come to pick us up from the Futo station. Then, entering a wonderfully big ryokan room, we felt very good from start to finish. Many private baths were free for use 24h (or until the checkout time). What a nice concept to allow changing from bath to bath, day and night. If you have a clear night with stars in the evening, you're in for a real treat. The room and the baths were just right. Hard to think of anything to change. Perhaps some things could be just a bit renovated, but nothing much. Difficult to think of a much better place to go to honeymoon, for example.

Make sure you're hungry for both the dinner and the breakfast, they are big (even as Standard plan). For the breakfast, you need to really have appetite if you're not used to eat much for breakfast. So wake up early. The food was top quality. It was all seafood, including turban shell and so on, as it says on the web site. As the service spoke good English and as everything is there ready, including yukatas, tooth brushes and so on, there's not much that can go wrong. By the way, this is our second or third ryuokan/onsen we have visited and they were all great but Fujiyoshi's concept is just fabulous. (By the way there was no good WiFi signal to the room, but if some place is good for turning off you're gadgets, this is it. WiFi is available at the reception.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimhoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was my first time visiting an onsen ryokan and it was a very pleasant experience. We received complimentary pick up service from the station and then received a nice tour of the area. Dinner was serviced promptly at 6pm and we enjoyed an exquisite seafood dinner. Later that evening we were invited to a local Obon festival and enjoyed dancing and mingling with the local people. Overall the services was first rate and very friendly! Would recommend it to friends :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asherah26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I really loved this place. There was a complimentary pick up from the local station, a tour of the ryoken, complimentary snacks on your room table and robes and slippers you can wear in and around the place. I was visiting japan last year and I'm a little shy about the whole nuding up with strangers aspect of the culture, so fujiyoshi was the perfect choice; there are reservable, private onsens, as well as the communal ones, so you have the best of both worlds. The actual onsens themselves were fantastic, very relaxing, excellently presented, just gorgeous. And because they're reservable, you can wear your bathers in them and not go in the nud. Unless you want to, of course. There are a few private ones that are very spacious, and some more cozier onsens. They're all nice. There's one large mixed onsen outside (both genders have to wear bathers or a towel there) and that one was cool, there's a bit of a sense of community when you go and hang out there with other guests. The indoor onsens (by the wash areas) are single sex and you go in naked. when I was there, it was fairly quiet so maybe periodically you can find time to have it all to yourself.

The actual ryokan itself is very well presented and the feel is so cozy and welcoming. The place has of course traditional japanese architecture, which I really like as I'm australian and I'm not so used to the look, and the inside decor is just cooooool. It looks super traditional and old fashioned but not in a musty, inaccessibly way. It's impressive and there's a massive wooden statue of a bird by the staircase. Very cool. The rooms were great, very spacious, clean and again the decor is traditionally japanese. They have a nice feel to them. You also get a little alcove, balcony sort of area to your room, with a little table and two chairs where you can drink tea and watch the great view. I really liked that! One thing I'd suggest is organizing bug spray, as the place is close to the mountains and there's lots of greenery around, you can get a few bugs here and there.

The food was exquisite. Just exquisite. I wouldn't recommend the japanese style breakfast if you're not adventurous or really into japanese cuisine, but the dinner is fantastic for anyone. the food just kept coming, it went on and on! I definitely recommend the banquet. From memory, it's mostly seafood but wow was it ever tasty. The sashimi was really fresh and delicious. Towards the end of our meal, the young woman who was taking care of us took a picture of us at the table (sitting on the floor of course) and then she presented it to us when we left! Ahhh, it was just such a sweet gesture. They are really eager to please, so friendly and welcoming.

They also have pet rabbits that they let loose and you can go play with them while they're out. This was just the icing on the cake, the little guys were soooo adorable. Everyone was smitten by them!
They also have massage chairs which are cool, in a really nice lounge area. I didn't really spend much time there. I mean, you're at a ryoken, you know? Who cares about all that when you have natural springs to bathe in!

The lady who owns the place is sooo friendly and sweet, i don't think she speaks english but the younger woman who was taking care of us spoke english very well. I couldn't have asked for better hospitality! It's a really nice place and the exprience was delightful. I would also recommend going to mt omuro which is nearby and going up the chair lift, the view is fantastic.  

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

PROS
- service
- free room upgrade to room with private onsen
- amazing onsens, and plethora of onsens (5+)
- incredible view
- authentic, fresh and homemade Japanese dinner and breakfast
- free pickup service from train station

CONS (though, frankly, I view both of these as Pros in an onsen experience)
- slightly out of the way - halfway down Izu Peninsula
- not close to much else, as it's on top of a hill overlooking the ocean and city

We stayed at Yokohama Fujiyoshi Izuten for one night, and the hospitality, food and service were amazing!

I had contacted the Ryokan in advance, as rail service to the ryokan onsen had been disrupted due to the earthquake. The staff at the onsen were incredibly accommodating, and picked us up from Ito Station and drove us to the ryokan. We were met by the manager / hostess's husband, who is from Romania and speaks perfect English. Both he and his wife speak English, so we had no trouble communicating, and she gave me some quick Japanese lessons during dinner and breakfast service!

At the ryokan, we were given a free room upgrade with our own private onsen (we had booked a standard room that only had an ensuite toilet/shower). It was VERY nice to dip into our private onsen to cut the early morning chill! If you have your own private onsen, there is no shower (the washing area and onsen are your shower). The hot water was a great way to warm up in the morning, but if you can't stand really hot water, a private onsen might not be the best thing for you.

I loved the fact that this ryokan has so many onsens!! There two same-sex indoor onsens (one for men and one for women), one large outdoor mixed-gender onsen (we were asked to wear a bathing suit or bath towel when bathing here; though, we were never in the onsen at the same time as anyone else, and ended up going in naked) and three reservable onsens. The three reservable onsens were in their own buildings, and two had gorgeous views overlooking the city of Ito City and the ocean. There was only one other couple staying at the ryokan at the same time as us (we were there on a weekday night), so we always had access to pretty much any onsen we wanted.

In addition to the amazing onsens, the food was superb! All of the food was incredibly fresh, the presentation was amazing and there was SO much of it! Both dinner and breakfast, we ate until we were stuffed. We particularly enjoyed the homemade Umeshu (plum wine), and I even came home with a bottle of it, so I can enjoy it here!

Overall, the room was fabulous, the onsens were unbelievable and the service was outstanding. We definitely plan on go back to experience the wonderful hospitality, food and state of relaxation we found here. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A_M_Nell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ito hotels
Izukogen Onsen
Anda Bettei
Anda Bettei
#23 of 191 in Ito
68 reviews
Izukogen Onsen
Hanafubuki
Hanafubuki
#3 of 191 in Ito
94 reviews
Ito Onsen
Seizanyamato
Seizanyamato
#6 of 191 in Ito
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ito Onsen
Yokikan
Yokikan
#2 of 191 in Ito
271 reviews
Tsukiyado Luck
#41 of 191 in Ito
10 reviews
Izukogen Onsen
Kira no Sato
Kira no Sato
#15 of 191 in Ito
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yokohama Fujiyoshi Izuten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yokohama Fujiyoshi Izuten

Property: Yokohama Fujiyoshi Izuten
Address: 1305-8 Futo, Ito 413-0231, Shizuoka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Ito > Izukogen Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 191 Hotels / Ryokan in Ito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yokohama Fujiyoshi Izuten 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese traditional inn. Hot spring and authentic Japanese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Rakuten so you can book your Yokohama Fujiyoshi Izuten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing