We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hot springs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Izu Ito Onsen Daitokan
Ranked #8 of 193 Hotels / Ryokan in Ito
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is our favorite hot spring place that we can stay at Japanese style hotel. Here, they don't serve dinner that typical Japanese style hot spring hotels usually do. In that way, they make their prices low and we can enjoy food outside. The hotel is not very far from train station which is called Ito station. There are many places to eat around the station. If you need help, they have restaurant maps.
About their baths, the hot spring is 100% pure that means they don't add any water or they don't use circulation. There are big baths for men and women and a few private baths that you can use with your family, friends or partner and they are all free (included your staying fee). They all are unique and different styles that you can enjoy varieties. They have sign board with lights to tell people which private baths is vacant now.
They don't give us too much service, but they give us simple and enough service. We can have breakfast which is included in the fee. The breakfast, we think we can call it western style. They have bread, eggs, salad, coffee etc. They all are from local and fresh.
It depends on what you expect to the hotel, but for us it is good enough place to relax with real hot spring.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BearByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 67 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2011

Do not expect the best onsen and service, but consider the money you pay, this is an absolutely recommendable hotel. Little difficult to find at first.
The room we got has a separate living room and tatami.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CYJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

I was absolutely amazed when I arrived at this little Ryoukan in Ito City. I must admit I wasn't excited to be there when my wife told me all about it. I have never stayed at a Ryoukan that didn't have a dinner course attached to it...and for 4,000 yen per person I knew I would not be impressed. I WAS SO SO WRONG!!

This place DOES NOT have dinner, but they more than make up for it with their Onsens. I was able to experience four of five Onsens they have on site. There was one inside an old WW2 Bomb/Air Raid shelter (long walk through a cave) and then you have two huge "cups" for you to enjoy...these had some rocks lining the walls that were perfect on a very tired body. Second Onsen I tried was their "Shallow Bath"...basically it was deep enough to cover most of my body whilst laying down on a bed of rocks...again FELT GREAT! Third Onsen I tried was the Shared bath with the men... My six year old and I did this one together...there are two shared baths and they change from women/men (and back) at 10 p.m. every day. The one I was able to experience had a huge indoor and quaint AWESOME outdoor. Both were perfect! And the fourth/final Onsen I experienced here was their totally outdoor bath and it, too, was excellent.

I went with my wife and two sons (4 & 6)... Breakfast was HUGE compared to other Japanese Ryoukans I have stayed at... For dinner we had to find our own place and they had plent of information (and maps) for the local restaurants. My wife and I chose the Teppanyaki Steak House (rare in Japan). It was very expensive, but very WORTH IT! It was my wife's birthday so we had a no cost limit approach. For 39,000 yen we had dinner for four...wife & I chose a seven course meal. The service was perfect (10)...they were literally right behind us waiting for us to ask for anything. They played with our children and the food was over the top. Wine list wasn't much to mention, but it did have some fine selections (six total).

I absolutely recommend this place!!!! I hear it is up to 8,000 yen per person on the weekend (we went on a Sunday night)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wil_in_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 人数が多い場合にはスイートのような大きめの部屋もあり優雅に過ごせます。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank Akiba_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dai_ito, マネージャー at Izu Ito Onsen Daitokan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank petercat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank あめんぼ2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: ○喫煙部屋をお願いしたので低層階(3階)ですので眺望は望めません。禁煙部屋にすると高層階?で多少眺めが良くなる?かも知れません。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ks-mail2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ito hotels
Izukogen Onsen
Hotel Village Izukogen
Ito Onsen
Resort Hotel Kawana
Resort Hotel Kawana
#10 of 193 in Ito
131 reviews
Ito Onsen
Ito Hotel Juraku
Ito Hotel Juraku
#17 of 193 in Ito
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ito Onsen
Hotel Harvest Ito
Hotel Harvest Ito
#16 of 193 in Ito
182 reviews
Ito Onsen
Kameya Rakan
Kameya Rakan
#29 of 193 in Ito
110 reviews
Ito Onsen
Yokikan
Yokikan
#2 of 193 in Ito
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Izu Ito Onsen Daitokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Izu Ito Onsen Daitokan

Address: 2-23 Suehiro-cho, Ito 414-0015, Shizuoka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Ito > Ito Onsen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 193 Hotels / Ryokan in Ito
Price Range: $100 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Izu Ito Onsen Daitokan 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Daitokan TripAdvisor Page!! Our Price includes breakfast, "B&B" Style buy it is RYOKAN. Daitokan has 3 Selling Points. ①Big Outdoor Bath:You can feel expansive at our Big Outdoor Bath ②Simple Western Breakfast:Toast, Eggs, Baacon, Many Fresh Vegetables,Coffee ③Hospitality:Good Service, Once you checked in, it is free to go out or stay at Ryokan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Rakuten, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Izu Ito Onsen Daitokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing