We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
327
53
10
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
327
53
10
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his wife cable car outdoor onsen the owner seafood ito station mixed bath the general manager outdoor hot spring traditional ryokan taxi fare mixed gender taxi fee open air bath abalone the upper level room attendant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 402 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

We will never forget our stay at Yokikan. This ryokan provides an authentic Japanese experience with generous hospitality. The open-air hot spring onsen was stunning and mystical with the backdrop of the ocean. The outdoor onsen is mixed-gender, so wife and I appreciated being able to enjoy it together. We came during cherry blossom season, which added that much more to our experience. If you stay here, consider the dinner and breakfast plan to feast like royalty (and try everything!). The owners made us feel at home at their fifth-generation family-owned ryokan, and even provided advice for what to do at our next stop in Tokyo. We hope to come back soon and will recommend to our friends and family! Thank you Akihisa Inaba!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank dcbbcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2018

An ideal stay at a traditional inn. Sweet staff, comfy accommodations, incredible meals, and a price that makes it possible for anyone to experience the pleasure of a Ryokan. The outdoor hot spring had a view of the ocean, instructions for our stay were clear, and the provided yukata were comfortable (we'd love to know where to purchase some for ourselves!). The local area was lovely. We chose to walk back to the train since it was a lovely day, but the staff has happy to provide us with a ride. 5/5 stars!

Room tip: Rooms on the top floor require taking the funicular and have easy access to the open-air onsen.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018

We were looking for a great ryokan to get the real traditional japanese experience. We found this place in Ito. It was more than what we were expecting. The hot springs and hot baths were great. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The dinner and breakfast were delicious; so many little dishes with amazing taste. The room was big and we had a nice view of outside. If you choose to go there, ask for the special room, one upstairs (there is elevator). It is on the same floor than the hot springs, so easier to access. And don't forget to visit Ito. It is a little paradise by the sea.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekke_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2018

If you want peace and quiet and relaxation, this is the place. The outdoor onsen (hot spring) was amazing. Leave your inhibitions behind and enjoy.
All staff were very friendly, they lay out the futons for your bed and put them away in the morning. If you get the meals, they bring them to your room and it is
Japanese food and served in Japanese style. What a great experience!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2018

Came here on recommendation of a friend. Stayed with two other friends on the third floor, room was large, view was beautiful! Our group enjoyed all the onsens, the outdoor bath was very nice. Standard meals were ample and featured much seafood, served in our room. The whole place was nice and quiet on a Sunday night. Very relaxing and pleasant experience. General manager, Mr. Inaba gave us a ride back to the train station after breakfast. Would surely recommend to others!

Room tip: A room on the third floor like 303 or 304 has a great view!
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank mkwisner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews