We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
327
53
10
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
327
53
10
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his wife cable car outdoor onsen the owner seafood ito station mixed bath the general manager outdoor hot spring traditional ryokan taxi fare mixed gender taxi fee open air bath abalone the upper level room attendant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 402 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2017

We stayed there for 4 nights, The GM-Amy is very hospitable and considerable, she tried to provide us different kinds of local seafoods for our each dinner. The hot spring at top of hill is very nice. The hotel style is very traditional with over 100 years old.

Room tip: Make the reservation as early as possible
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelerjc2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017

We were looking to stay at a Ryokan in the very touristy Hakone, but based on the reviews, pictures, and price, ended up staying at Yokikan in Ito. The view from this Onsen is refreshing, the rooms are immaculate and spacious (it feels like you have your own private home), and the staff is so accommodating, it feels like you have someone taking care of you at all times.

It was fun getting to learn the customs associated with staying at a Ryokan, and the dinner they served here was unbelievable - an entire table full of some of the most interesting food we ate during our stay in Japan.

As others have mentioned, we were driven to the train station when leaving, and reimbursed for our taxi from the station. Walking into town is a bit of a hike in the heat of summer, and there is not much that I'm aware of near the hotel, but it's worth it to be removed from the throng of downtown Ito and to have views of the coast.

One thing to be aware of is that, while the room itself is very affordable, your bill can quickly add up if you are including meals / sake / etc. Our dinner was ~$45 per person, but worth the experience of having a meal prepared in the traditional style.

Room tip: Higher floors have better views - ask to be facing the ocean.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights from 9/7 - 11/7. The japanese style room is spacious and clean. Resting in the sitting area of the room and enjoy the city and sea view is relaxing. The two hotsprings (1 indoor and 1 out
door) offer different experience. The cable car in the hotel is also an attraction.
People are friendly and they serve with enthusiasm.
Overall, I enjoy the stay very much.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank wong p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017

We have stayed in many ryokan in Japan. This was the first time we visited Ito. We found Yokikan traditional and comfortable. Perfect location, about 10 min walk from Ito JR station. The onsens, both indoor and outdoor, are good. The outdoor one has spectacular scenery. We stayed in the third floor, quiet and spacious, with a good view of the town and ocean. Dinner was good and sashimi was fresh. Breakfast can be improved if sashimi was served instead of ham. Friendly staff. When we checked out, the GM drove us to the train station. Overall good stay, I recommend Yokikan.

Room tip: Easy access to outdoor onsen if stay on 3rd floor rooms.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MM13579MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017

This was my first time at an onsen, and it couldn't have been better! The staff were very friendly and efficient, and my room/suite up on the top level was everything I needed: great main room, comfortable sitting room with a view over the city to the sea, and en-suite bathroom and toilet. When I checked out, a staff member drove me to the train station.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews