We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
57
18
6
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
57
18
6
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french restaurant japanese dinner meals tokyo onsen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 87 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

We loved almost everything about this place. A brilliant dinner in the French restaurant, an enticing hot pool all to ourselves, very good breakfasts and very stylish rooms. But we were very disappointed by the Japanese dinner which was nothing like as good as other meals we have had in three weeks in Japan. In fact in some ways it was the least good meal of our whole trip. There were too many dumplings, not very tasty soup and the colour and texture of the food was too monotonous. Overall it tasted bland.Perhaps it was just a bad evening, but when I mentioned it to the front office manager next morning he did not seem hugely concerned. A pity because the hotel has such a good reputation.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank BellDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TakeshiT141, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Abba Resorts Izu Zagyosoh, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2019

Dear Mr. BellDavid

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to post feedback regarding your stay with us.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at YAMAMOMO of French restaurant and Villa guest room with Open air bath.

However, we regret that we could not meet your expectation for the Japanese dinner.
Also I take my responsibility as manager who must hear what guests are feeling about, and I am very sorry for disappointing you this time.
I did share your kind words with our master chef as positive feedback, and we would like to demonstrate our improvement if you could please give us the opportunity to come back in the near future.

Mr. BellDavid, once again thank you very much for the feed back, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Takeshi Tsumura
Front Office Manager (Head Butler)
ABBA RESORTS IZU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and that is probably enough for most visitors. The hotel is cosy and welcoming, the actual room was quite basic though. Reception staff were very nice, but the absolute highlight of the hotel was the evening meal provided in the French restaurant - it was absolutely first class. Breakfast was also very good. Dinner is provided upstairs in the French restaurant in private rooms - we were really surprised with how good the food was. The hotel will drop you into town and collect you too- we did the 2 nearby coastal walks and absolutely loved both! The paths are great and it’s an absolute must! Take the train along the coast and enjoy the views . (Onsite onsen facility was very good too)

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Brummy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takeshi T, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Abba Resorts Izu Zagyosoh, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

Dear Brummy40

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to post such a wonderful comment regarding your recent stay with us.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at ABBA RESORTS IZU.

We are truly pleased to hear that French restaurant and our staff were able to provide the service that met and went beyond your high expectation.
We will continue to strive each and everyday to deliver the highest quality of service to all of our guests.

I will make sure to share your kind words with the team, as the positive comment from the guest is the best reward for us.

Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back in near future.

Sincerely yours,

Takeshi Tsumura
Head Butler
ABBA RESORTS IZU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2018 via mobile

We found this incredible resort by browsing the Small Luxury Hotels (SLH) website. We were looking for something quiet yet luxurious in Izu to relax after sightseeing in Tokyo and Kyoto. Zagyosoh could not have been better suited to our needs! We were a large group of 10 and as such sampled the entire spectrum of rooms from the Villas to the Suites to the Japanese style rooms. Each style of room was gorgeous in its own unique way. If you are a couple looking for a romantic retreat, the Villas cannot be beat. We ate 1 night in the French restaurant and 1 night in the Japanese. Both meals were spectacular and we were a picky bunch with members that had lived in Japan for many years and some Francophiles as well. In addition, the staff was incredibly hospitable and helpful. The hotel is tucked away in a residential neighborhood with a beautiful coastline. We were there in the winter but it must be even more spectacularly beautiful other seasons of the year. Don't miss out on this hidden gem!!!!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank RedSox1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takeshi T, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Abba Resorts Izu Zagyosoh, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Dear RedSox1913

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to post such a wonderful comment regarding your recent stay with us.
I am glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your experience at ABBA RESORTS IZU.

Your comment cannot be more perfect, and we are truly pleased to hear that our staff were able to provide the service that met and went beyond your high expectation for ABBA RESORTS IZU.
We will continue to strive each and everyday to deliver the highest quality of service to all of our guests.

I will make sure to share your kind words with the team, as the positive comment from the guest is the best reward for us.

Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you and your family back in near future.

Sincerely yours,

Takeshi Tsumura
Front Office Manager
ABBA RESORTS IZU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2017

We had 3 meal and stayed 1 night there. The welcome service, meal and the hot spring there is great. You can enjoy outdoor hot spring and also stay in your room for your private semi outdoor hot spring. The view from the room is tranquility with the Japanese garden. We booked Japanese dinner, Japanese breakfast and French lunch after check-out. If you have a chance to visit here, you'll definitely enjoy a smooth holiday without all the daily huzzle and buzzle.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yuenwei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takeshi T, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Abba Resorts Izu Zagyosoh, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2017

Dear Mr. / Ms. Yuenwei C

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to post such a wonderful comment regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at ABBA RESORTS IZU.
It is a pleasure to be complimented on our room facility, meal and our welcome service. I will make sure to share your comment with my team.
Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back in near future.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2017

We were in Tokyo for business and decided to go "off the beaten path" for a weekend. This was a lovely get-away and a great opportunity to experience traditional Japanese hospitality.

From the moment you arrive, you feel calm and relaxed. We were greeted with green tea in the lobby as someone parked our car outside our unit and someone else oriented us to the hotel. Welcome champagne was served in the hotel, although we could have also indulged in the goodies found in our room and mini bar. We were the only westerners there, and so the staff kindly ensured we knew how things work at a ryokan.

Our room was stunning -- a private onsen on the patio with a lush garden for a view. The shower and bathroom was state of the art with every possible amenity provided. Comfortable yukatas were available for us to wear to meals and while we relaxed in the room.

Breakfasts in the French Room were unlike anything we've ever experienced. With the French moniker, we expected hard baguettes and coffee. Instead, there were crisp, fresh veggies, gorgeous fruits, eggs prepared to order, tropical fruit assortments, flaky croissants, yogurt with all the trimmings, and even a honeycomb that slowly dripped fresh honey into a bowl. Dinner in the French Room was equally amazing. A traditional kaiseki-style dinner was served in the Japanese restaurant, and it was also a treat.

We would highly recommend this experience! It is definitely high end (with a high end price tag!) but with so much included, it is well worth the splurge.

Room tip: For a couples getaway, the private onsen on the porch is the way to go.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 308amyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews