We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its not "New"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel New Akao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel New Akao
Ranked #13 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Atami
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Its not "New"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

First thing its not ”new” they probably named it in the 70s. Once you get over the initial shock of the décor, we are talking plastic roses trellis tunnels and Romanesque curtains from a 80s porno movie.
I actually really liked the place gives you a good feels of what the average Japanese folks do for a weekend away. Turning up for breakfast in yukatas with bed hair etc.
We took the Japanese room, small but comfortable and had the smallest bathtub in the world but very deep so works well.
It’s located away from town but that also means you get a nice view of Atami bay at night. It caters for the Japanese market so English is not spoken through out but very helpful Staff. I knocked off 1 star because of the name is slightly misleading. There is a Royal wing but I never saw it so maybe that’s the new part?

On the first night it sounded like some one was constantly moving heavy furniture/equipment until 11 pm.

Room Tip: Get a non smoking Japanese room facing Atami for a lovely night time view. Note you arrive on the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    121
    78
    35
    15
See reviews for
171
40
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chiba Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

every year my husband and i stayed in a onsen hotel..its my second year to write a blog about our vacation.3months ago we booked here in akao.because theres no available onsen anywhere in popular place.i already expect its an old hotel.the location is good and accessible to station,they have their own shuttle bus so its good for us.our room is a little bit old and i dont like it ..only the view from our room i overwhelm because every room has a beach view...the food is just ok both buffet and ordinary dinner nothing special..i also noticed that their rotemboro and onsen a little bit small for the hundreds of people staying here because its a big hotel.they should renovate their hotel i think..i dont think i go back again here..just a satisfactory hotel for me..

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marie_Hori0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This facility is really about being by the ocean. Our room faced onto the ocean and the waves lulled us into a deep slumber. The view is spectacular. The onsen was outstanding, especially the rotemboro (the bath outside). Therapeutic, relaxing and rejuvenating. The japanese style room was comfortable. Nice to sleep on tatami with futons and buckwheat pillows. Too bad there aren't better instructions on how to open the windows. TIP: They are really heavy and they slide about 6 inches - don't push out! The bathroom / toilet were separate, small but serviceable. We opted to take our bath in the onsen which had more space and amenities.
Given the numbers they're feeding for breakfast and even the kai seki banquet, it is more assembly line fare. Nothing was memorable or special. Too bad. Don't set high expectations for food here. You're here for the view and the bath.
We only stayed here one night which was fine. I would not spend more than a couple of nights maximum at the factility unless you're visiting the town of Atami as well.
2 unexpected delights:
Early in the evening, we participated in a mochi-making demonstration organized by staff. Guests were invited to take turns pounding the rice dough with a traditional long-handled mallet The accompanying drum added to the festive mood.
Most significantly, we were treated to 3 geishas who attended at the hotel for "an appointment: with japanese businessmen. We rode the tightly-quartered elevator with them and exchanged pleasantries. There is apparently a local geisha office in Atami.

Room Tip: Make sure you slide open the heavy windows to feel the ocean breeze and to hear the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HermesParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I attended a conference here. The facilities and service were outstanding. Excellent food, both western and Japanese. Rooms were satisfactory but not overwhelming, and each had a spectacular ocean view. The public baths (onsen) were a real treat. The grounds were extensive and picturesque, but the outlying grounds were not particularly well maintained. One minor defect is that internet access is available only in the lobby.and conference venues.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APM_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have read some reviews prior to my stay at this property so I am aware of this place being old and not updated . But What I did not like is that I don't think they were enforcing the non smoking room policy very well. We had 2 nonsmoking rooms both have ashtrays on the table and in my 2 daughter's room it smelled like someone definitely smoked in there. I did not complain because we were only staying for one night.

I did enjoy the views from both rooms overlooking the Pacific. and I recommend everyone to use the outdoor hot spring area it's also facing the ocean.

This property is very family oriented. I see a lot of young kids, we even went to see a mochi making demonstration after dinner . I think I saw an arcade there as well.

I give it 3 stars because their breakfast is so so and they really should have a major renovation.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank vanilla11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Ryokan type of hotel where you do sleep on the floor. I found the futons a bit stiffer than others I have stayed at. Room was quite large with a refrigerator. Separate toilet and tub. The shower was actually in the tub and there is just a drain in the middle of the room without a shower curtain. Quite interesting.
The view over the water was amazing. The hotel is built on a hillside literally over the water. The lobby is on the 17th floor and the rooms are below it. The dining is on the bottom floor along with the gift shop. Did not see anyone from outside of Japan but the staff was quite friendly. Did not speak much English. We had a Kaiseki set dinner which was fantastic. Breakfast was in a large dining room. Offers both western and Japanese buffets.
All in all a nice classic hotel. If you are looking for western amenities, I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were attracted to this hotel mainly because of its location. Right on the cliff, with endless ocean view in every room, what more can you ask for? We booked the tatami rooms, clean, spacious and fun, not outdated as mentioned in some of the reviews. Our rooms were on opposing sides, each with a different breathtaking ocean view. I opened the window throughout the night, not because the AC didn't work, but I wanted to fall asleep listening to the waves. The tiny bath tub and sink is on one side, the toilet in another room by itself. One must understand that the majority of the guests do not bathe in their room. Guests pay a lot to come here to enjoy the hot springs (which requires thorough washing before entrance) , which explains the lack of regular hotel toiletries. If you don't feel comfortable bathing with strangers, which is a very normal thing to do in Japan, you can ask the front desk to have those toiletries delivered. Btw, all the bathing products and hair care products in the communal bath area are top of the line expensive.

The morning garden walk was well worth it despite the light drizzle, we took so many beautiful pictures of exotic flowers and trees, mostly with the ocean as our backdrop. As for the breakfast buffet, for the most part, we had no idea what we were putting in our mouths. But that's what traveling is about, trying different food. I certainly don't want scrambled eggs with toast on my vacation! Just take a little bit of everything and try, you may be pleasantly surprised!

My suggestion is be open minded, be adventurous, try different things, and enjoy the view!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Terri3x3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atami hotels
Royal Wing
#15 of 108 in Atami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Atami Onsen
Atami Seaside Spa & Resort
Atami Onsen
Hotel Sunmi Club
Hotel Sunmi Club
#41 of 108 in Atami
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atami Onsen
Atami Ocean Hotel
Atami Ocean Hotel
#40 of 108 in Atami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Atami Onsen
Hotel Resorpia Atami
Hotel Resorpia Atami
#34 of 108 in Atami
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Atami Onsen
Hotel Micuras
Hotel Micuras
#2 of 108 in Atami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Akao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Akao

Property: Hotel New Akao
Address: 1993-250 Atami, Atami 413-8555, Shizuoka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Atami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Atami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel New Akao 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel New Akao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Akao Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing