We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
135
117
32
6
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
135
117
32
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house wall climbing buffet dinner and breakfast hot springs treehouse bath onsen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 301 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2018

I like Hoshino resorts and this one was very good as well. Atami Risonare is very family and child oriented. A great place to bring your kids.
Everything is clean, convenient and nice. The hotel is spacious and absorbs people pretty well. The rooms are big and comfortable, with nice views of Atami and the fireworks show. The buffet dinner and breakfast are really good. At dinner they had a short baking class for the little ones. The onsen is very nice, didn't ever feel crowded. The pool is small but good for playing with your kids. They have a lounge on the 11th floor which is made as a beach, sand and all. On the 9th floor there is an activity center that has wall-climbing and play areas. My daughter loved it. Outside there is a tree-house and other nature/adventure courses. Seems unique and fun. The staff are all very friendly.
Now for the disappointments. The thing I didn't like was the scheduling. When we got there the check-in lady asked us what time we would like dinner. I said about 18:00. She said sorry, only 19:30 is available. Then why ask us? And also 19:30 is very late, especially for a 4 year old. Not happy about it. If this was an issue why not recommend me to book my time on the website when I reserved? I have been to 3 other Hoshino resorts and did not have this booking issue. Then the lady gave us a review of the activities available. When we said we would like to book some, she told us they are all booked up. Then why tell us about them? This seems kind of crazy. And why not recommend me to book my times on the website when I made the reservation?
I recommend you go to this hotel, but be sure to plan and book your times and activities in advance. The hotel doesn't give this advice and will leave you frustrated and disappointed.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank SandBTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts RISONARE Atami, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Dear SandBTokyo,

Thank you for taking the time review Hoshino Resorts RISONARE Atami. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hot springs, room, as well as the views. We also thank you for your honest feedback. Your thoughts concerning communication in regard to meal time and activity reservations will be shared with the rest of the team. Our services continually strive to allow for a getaway that is exciting and relaxing for our guests of all ages.
We hope to welcome you back to another one of our many resorts again in the near future!
Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

The staff were lovely and the buffet meal options were very good. Perfect for a 2 night stay. Families with children will appreciate the indoor rock wall and other facilities. The outdoor treehouse was lovingly transformed into a Halloween theme venue. Even better in the summer time methinks. The “beach” area upstairs provided a nice place for after-dinner drinks and chit-chat.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank ShuwenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts RISONARE Atami, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2017

Dear joshlty,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hoshino Resorts RISONARE Atami. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy the resort to the fullest including the activities, beach café, and Tree House. Our services do indeed strive to allow families and guests of all ages to enjoy and make the most out of their stay, whether they prefer the indoors or the outdoors. Hoshino Resorts group have a variety of hotels and Japanese inns all over Japan and we hope to welcome you back to one of them again in the near future!
Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017

our family of 7 including 2 high school teens stayed for 3 nights.
the hotel is located about 10mins drive from the station, from which a free shuttle picked us up from there.
the rooms were spacious, comfortable, and fits 4 comfortably. views are great.
the amenities were good e.g coin paid laundry, clothes dryer. indoor pool was small but well maintained.
the onsen view and size were great.
the kids activities available including free wall climbing were a nice touch.
the top level indoor "beach" cafe was so beautiful.
during our stay there on a sunday, every room had a clear view of the fireworks out at the distant shoreline.
food - breakfast and dinner buffets were simply wonderful and tasty selections with even kids stations.
outdoor- fruit BBQ and treehouse experiences were super. adventure tree top walks are also available.
overall it is a great place for short family stays. i would recommend renting own vehicle after reaching the station for ease of travel around in Atami especially when hotel shuttle to and fro station has limited hours.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts RISONARE Atami, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Dear joshlty,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hoshino Resorts RISONARE Atami. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy the resort to the fullest including the activities, beach café, and the meals. Our services do indeed strive to allow families and guests of all ages to enjoy and make the most out of their stay, whether they prefer the indoors or the outdoors.
Our company has a variety of hotels and Japanese inns all over Japan and we hope to welcome you back to one of them again in the near future!
Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile

Excellent facilities, and service. Child friendly hotel. The corner terrace suite was roomy, especially for Japan. Lots to see and do as it's a short drive to Hakone. Amazing view. Hotel activities for kids, but must be supervised by parents. Onsen and pool in the hotel. Has a tree house.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts RISONARE Atami, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear Paul B,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hoshino Resorts RISONARE Atami! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the activities and that the room offered plenty of space for your stay. Our services do indeed strive to create a comfortable and exciting atmosphere for both adults and children alike.
Our company has a unique variety of hotels and Japanese inns all over Japan. We welcome you to travel around Japan and stay with us at one of our hotels again in the near future!
Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2017

A lot of activities available and suitable for the kids under 5 or 6. My son was 10 so he felt a bit dull. An old hotel refurbished to a stylish environment. To top floor library that mimiced the beach was nice but often kids and even mothers were too loud. To spend a quiet time undisturbed, it is better to stick to the room. There was a veranda but was not supposed to enter.
Dinner and breakfast buffet were the best I've had before.
Forest was made very neatly. Enjoyed tea time in the tree house very much. There is a very small indoor swimming pool for kids to play. Not big enought for the adults.
Felt a bit expensive for what I received.

Room tip: all rooms faced the ocean
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank luckyjenniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, 広報担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts RISONARE Atami, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Dear luckyjenniek,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hoshino Resorts Risonare Atami , and Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to place comments for us. Your feedback about Activities and Books & Cafe are much appreciated as it helps us to focus on what is important to our guests. I will share your review with the rest of the team and we thrive on providing better services .We do hope we have another chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews