We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Hotel Micuras

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Micuras
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels / Ryokan in Atami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Room facing the sea on the 6 floor was heavenly not to mention jacuzzi type of bath tub!
Huge flat TV screen an added bonus! Absolutely excellent value for money! The twin beds are big enough for two people.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mtambaaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 363 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Atami has fireworks show thoughtout the year (twice to 4 times per season, shows in summer are the biggest but doesn't mean the others are small scale) and we came here for the one on April 29 this year. We got an oceanview twin room which is spacious and have a great view for the firework. Afte the show, you can also buy some firework packs are nearby convenience store and play on the beach, it's really lots of fun.
The hotel is clean & new, the onsen on 8th floor (for women) & top floor (for men) both has great oceanview. We tried other traditional & famous onsen ryokans during the trip but surprisingly we found this one at a modern hotel is in fact the best among all.
Afterall, Atami is an outdated tourism place and really not much thing to see except firework. The government there should really think about some city renovation & revolution.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GL6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This time we chose the room what they call "mountain view". There is no view at all and no window in the room, which could be uncomfortable for some people. But it really worked well for us. Total isolation from the outside world. They have a big home theatre screen and a huge Japanese style bathtub, enough for two. The round bed is indeed round and big.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0letstalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at a beach view room (see photo) on the 5th floor. I booked thru rakuten web site with breakfast and dinner and the check in was smooth and the staff insisted helping us with the luggages to the room. The room was bright and clean. I think the inside has been renovated to a more modern look. There are two sinks behind the beds. I wanted a double bed type room but I think they only have twin bed rooms for this room type which I am a bit frustruated as they advertised this room is designed for couple while they are setup for the couple to sleep separately but I guess they wanted to maximize the utlilzatiin rate so I ended up pushing the two beds into one. They do have another room type with a heart shape bed for couple but it is not beach view so we didn”t book it.
The hotspring for women is one floor and top floor is for men and they do not have the service to book a hotspring for couple use which is a disappointment. There is indoor and outdoor hotspring and I couldn”t figured out whether they are real natural hotspring or just water so it is clear and there is no mineral smell.
The included dinner is offered in the only restaurant on 3rd floor. The environment is western and cosy but I found the food quality was so so as I expected it would be better and the portion was quite small. Breaksfast is at the same restaurant and I enjoyed it. U get to boil your own vegetable. The check out time for my booking was 10am and I tried to ask for 11am check but they said there is 1000 yen charge per person per hour which is very typical japanese hotel practice of inflexibility. I want to state that all the staff at front desk or restaurant were very nice and willing to offer help. They offered proactively to help call a taxi for us. It is very close to a number of restaurants so u do not really need to book a room with dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cidernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

It is very good hotel cuz my brother is working there:) hahaha
sakamoto-comhouse

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sakamoto-comhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in a junior suite ocean view on the 9th floor facing the Ocean.
The reception was efficient and helpful.
The room was wide with A sofa next to the window overlooking the ocean and the bath was also next tot the window. The room had been renovated and was immaculate, in particular the large bathroom. The only weak point were the windows that were outdated and did not isolate properly from the cold (we travelled in December) and the noise of the road between the hotel and the beach. If you are sensitive to the noise that can be quite annoying.
The breakfast was good with a different risotto served everyday at the table and a buffet for the rest. The variety of food was below average for this standard of hotels.
The hotel was conveniently located in front of the beach and next to restaurants (I recommend Scott). The way to the station is a steep hill so it is better to go by taxi if you have
Luggages.
Overall this is a very good hotel if you are not looking for a Japanese ryokan , it is a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgk_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We chose this hotel due to one reason- it's right on the beach. Atami is a popular place for Tokyo travellers, so we don't normally go there because it's too overcrowded. This time we were too lazy to drive down to the peninsula, so we stayed in Atami. The only beach there is not that big and the choice of the hotel located right on the beach is quite limited. We chose Micuras because it looked better than others. The hotel is elegant and nice. The room had an ocean view, the beds were literally looking ath the ocean, as well as a coach where you are supposed to sit slipping the tea and enjoying the view. The amenities were spa-oriented. The entrance hall and a shower room were rather spacious, especially by Japanese standards. The shower room has a regular shower plus a rain shower, no bath. The general hot spring spa has a steambath, showers, amenities and a big choice of various baths. The biggest one- outdoor hot spring bath, is facing ocean as well. There is a cafe and a restaurant, that requires reservation because it's always full. The serve only western dishes, some kind of French cuisine, with a really good wine list. The reception was also quite helpful, not only about hotel stuff but about the attractions and restaurants in the city as well. There are a nice choice of Japanese cuisine restaurants nearby if you want to try any. The location of the hotel is within less than a minute from the beach. The only little minus is the cleaning staff was quite slow.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0letstalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atami hotels
Atami Onsen
Atami Seaside Spa & Resort
Royal Wing
#18 of 110 in Atami
57 reviews
Hotel New Akao
#13 of 110 in Atami
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atami Onsen
Atami Korakuen Hotel
Atami Korakuen Hotel
#7 of 110 in Atami
246 reviews
Atami Onsen
Relax Resort Hotel
Relax Resort Hotel
#54 of 110 in Atami
56 reviews
Atami Onsen
Wafukan
Wafukan
#66 of 110 in Atami
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Micuras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Micuras

Address: 3-19 Higashikaigan-cho, Atami 413-0012, Shizuoka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Atami > Atami Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Atami
#2 Family Hotel in Atami
#2 Spa Hotel in Atami
#8 Best Value Hotel in Atami
Price Range: $164 - $635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Micuras 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Micuras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Micuras Hotel Atami
Micuras Resort Atami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing