We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
20
75
35
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
75
35
2
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 135 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2015

nice clean central hotel. Nothing fancy. Rooms good size for Japan. Restaurant average but fine. Lots of usual Japanese fare outside. Ok for a night enroute to Akita. Make sure you visit "the old Saito residence" which is not far. The hotel staff had no idea where it was but the taxi drivers knew. Good free coffee in lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunrouteniigata, 宿泊G at Hotel Sunroute Niigata, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

This time the top available Hotel Sunroute Niigata,Thank you.
I’m glad also can be reviewed.
We did not apologize without being able to guide a good tourist destination.
We leave to study better.
Further, when you come to Niigata, we look forward to welcoming you guys come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is close enough to walk from JR as long as your bag has wheels. Our room was large and well appointed, in fact quite luxurious with all the little extras provided. The beds were comfy yet our room was only classed as an economy twin. The staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tui12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunrouteniigata, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Niigata, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013
Google Translation

Dear Sir

Thank you very much staying with our hotel.
How do you like Niigata city?
I also look forward

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I needed emergency accommodation due to a personal matter so the cost was a above-average. This hotel was only a slow 5 minute walk from the JR Niigata station.
The bathroom is you're typical business hotel one-piece unit (if you stay in a lot of Japanese Business hotels you know what I mean) and the room was very clean with average bed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dimsum8six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunrouteniigata, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Niigata, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013
Google Translation

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel.
Please come to Niigata-city again.
I feel spring is coming in Niigata.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

A very short walk from the main Niigata station and very easy to find. This is a lovely hotel. Our room was large by Japanese standard, well appointed, clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful, with some English.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week when we were in town for a conference. The location is good -- it is very near the train station (no need for a cab) and close to the main restaurant areas. Note, however, that it can be hard to find as they don't use proper street addresses in most of Japan and the only English name on the building is at street level by the front door and if a van/bus is parked in front of the building you will miss it. Also, be warned that the front desk people spoke very little English.

The rooms are small by US standards but are decent for Japan, and included a small writing desk and a refrigerator (note that you'll have to plug it in if you want to use it). There was no wi-fi, but there is a wired internet connection in the room, and an ethernet cable was provided. The breakfast was included in my room price, but was about 1200 yen otherwise. It was extensive and surprisingly satisfying, including both Japanese and western style food.

My one complaint is the pricing, which is common (but not standard) in Japan. The price for one person was very good, but adding a second person almost doubled the price of the room (for the same room). If you are on business but bringing along a companion, this may be a problem for getting reimbursed since your receipt will clearly split the bill in half between the two occupants. If you look around, there are other hotels (like the Crown Plaza) which are more expensive for one person but cheaper for two people.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmk8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews