We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
60
87
14
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
87
14
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sake tasting sake bar pleasant stay train station beds location japan
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 164 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2017

This place is simply fantastic. If I can give it more than a rating of 5 I would. It’s not a fancy hotel or the most luxurious of places but it is one of the best and most fun budget commuter hotels I’ve ever stayed in. It really exceeded expectations.

Wonderful small hotel with reasonably spacious rooms and all modern amenities. Perfectly located in the train station for easy access.

Best part (and most fun for me) is the convenience store and sake tasting bar called Ponshukan. I wrote a review about Ponshukan in another post, so I will only repeat that for an infrequent traveler to Japan, the automated sake tasting bar was the coolest thing ever! It is worth staying here just for that.

The first floor restaurant was also fantastic. Great Japanese traditional food plus a two hour all you can drink sake bonanza for dinner.

There are other nice little shops out front – really everything you’ll need for a pleasant stay in Niigata.

Awesome place. I want to come back ASAP.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bacinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 19, 2017

Thank you for your stay with us at Hotel Mets Niigata.
We hope you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are always willing to help and make your stay more comfortable.
Thank you very much for your time to give us feedback.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is linked to the Niigata station and is most convenient for visitors arriving by train and intending to sightsee as the bus terminal is also in the vicinity. There's a hop on and off loop bus that one can buy a day pass for ¥500. Like all major JR stations and bus terminals, there are many restaurants and shops in the hub. There's also a Ponshukan, a sake tasting outlet, where one can taste 5 variety of Niigata's famed sake.

We booked a standard room for 3 nights and found it most suited to our needs especially for the location as we were out on all the days taking the train or bus for sightseeing. The room is very utilitarian and well equipped and has sufficient space for luggage. It is also brightly lit and has many power points- useful for modern day travellers with a host of electronic gadgets. The bed is comfortable and a choice of a hard and soft pillow is provided. Breakfast is mainly a variety of Japanese dishes, something suited to our taste buds.

On the whole, we had a comfortable rest at the end of a hectic sightseeing day.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Onglay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 19, 2017

Thank you for your stay with us at Hotel Mets Niigata.
We hope you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are always willing to help and make your stay more comfortable.
Thank you very much for your time to give us feedback.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016

The hotel is located inside Niigata station and is very easy to get to. It's relatively new, the rooms are clean and service was friendly. Rooms are somewhat basic but good value. There are decent restaurants in the station and it's a quick walk (maybe 10 minutes) to the Bandai Bridge. Definitely recommended if you're spending the night in Niigata City.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chevstar29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

You come out of the shinkansen and get into the hotel: the best for business trips. Lots of different shops as in the station, and outside the station. Free wifi in the hotel and a good location with good restaurants downstairs: japanese and italian. The rooms are small, as usual in Japan. Clean and nice. The staff is very helpful. Room cleaning starts to knock at 9.30)))

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arzhaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016

This is a pretty decent hotel and fairly new. You stroll in from the train station level (level 3, I think), maybe 200 yards. Rooms are clean, bed is hard, you get 2 pillows - one hard, one not so hard - with rice in it? There is a crazy window from the bath area through into the bedroom (so you can see the TV!). Wi-fi works, everything works. All kinds of adapters for your mobile devices. Breakfast is traditional Japanese style, with area specialties - try the corn soup why don't you. Attached to the hotel is a remarkable store with all kinds of specialized foods and implements for eating and drinking. There is also an amazing Sake tasting portion where for about a dollar you can sample one of several hundred different types. This itself makes the hotel worth staying at. Who knew there were so many varieties of Sake - you can figure out your real favorite.

Room Tip: I was up on the 9th floor both times I was there. It's quiet for sure. Zero train noise
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews