We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good.”
Review of Nicolino's

Nicolino's
Ranked #1 of 77 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Consistently good.”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Much of my prior review from last February remains accurate, especially with regard to food quality and quantity, and excellent value. Friendly wait staff, although the new waiter this year had to retreat to the kitchen occasionally for information about the menu items. Dining room was a bit chilly, we could have asked about raising the temperature but didn't. Also, no decaf coffee after dinner, unfortunately. Beer selection continues to be poor (and I'm speaking of bottled (relatively) local brews. We'll be back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xml167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    26
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pleasant and quiet dinner”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

we made a reservation on a recommendation to have a birthday celebration with local family. Had an excellent time. Wait staff was prepared, engaging and prompt. Appetizers were plentiful fresh and tasty. My wife and I both had a Tuscan inspired chicken dish that was great. olives and artichokes and plentiful.

easy to find right on route 30. Only two drawbacks. The parking lot is confusing to park in and, although the wine menu is very nice, the beer selections are very limited. If you are headed to the Adirondacks or are in that part of New York state I would definitely recommend stopping for dinner. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jelmwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I pleasant place an unexpected gem”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We made the reservation to have a birthday dinner with relatives in the area. The wait staff was wonderful the appetizers excellent and a Tuscan inspired chicken dish I had was excellent. Too large a portion (and that is saying something for me). So glad we followed a recommendation to go there. Only 2 down sides was the parking lot was disorganized and difficult to park and while the wine selection was excellent, the beer selection was extremely limited. If you are headed to the Adirondacks or in that part of NYS, it is easy to find right on a main thoroughfare. Check it out.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jelmwwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well prepared Italian fare, large portions”
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I went into the restaurant expecting "not much", having been spoiled by some of the better Italian restaurants in major metro areas. I was very pleasantly surprised! The food was well prepared, fresh and done right. The salad was fresh, and the roasted peppers/fress mozzarella quite tasty. Clams in white sauce were beautifully done, with mounds of fresh clams in the shell, pasta just right and a flavorful sauce that wasn't too heavy on oil. My wife's haddock piccata was also excellent. The portions were so large that we skipped dessert. Service was attentive. I'll be back there. (No beer on tap, at least that night)

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank xml167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicolino's also viewed

 

Been to Nicolino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing