We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, reasonable”
Review of Super 8 Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Amsterdam
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amsterdam
New Paltz, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, reasonable”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had stayed at another hotel in Amsterdam and were not happy with that stay. We looked at another hotel and that seemed old. The super 8 seemed just right for our needs. The greeting staff was friendly and polite. We found a coupon in a travel discount magazine that rest stops have for just this purpose. Total cost was $54 plus tax for two people. We didn't use the safe, for which there is a standard $1.50 charge. We had that credited back to us at the end. Just a note that many hotel/motels charge for this automatically so watch your bills!

The Super 8 would be a left turn from the NYS Thruway exit and a right turn into the parking lot. Easy! There was a restaurant in front of the hotel but on the same grounds. It wasn't opened.

The room had two beds, TV etc. and a separate heating/cooling unit, a small fridge and a microwave. The beds were very firm which is not to my liking. I always have an air mattress with me for just these times.

The entire room and bathroom were clean- no dirt in the corners, hairs in tub, sink, or on the toilet-this has been my experience at other hotels! Even as a guy I find this distasteful! Makes me wonder if I'm sleeping on clean sheets and I do check them to be sure! There was a little mold on the ceiling over the bathtub. Nothing major. The hotel seemed to be in good repair at least in the wind in which we stayed.

My only negative from my point of view was the included breakfast. Choices were: Fruit Loops (got the kids covered), Raisin Bran(got the adults covered), English muffins, white bread, cinnamon/sugar doughnuts, make-your-own waffle from batter, OJ, coffee etc. There weren't any toppings for the waffles like strawberries or bananas etc. just pancake syrup. If you are a sugar/starch lover than this breakfast is for you! The eating area was neat and clean and there was a person cleaning up after the people. I was told that the hotel is updating the breakfast menu.

Just out of the parking lot and to the left is a Dunkin Doughnuts and mini mart combination.

On a whole I rated the hotel average. It was a room-neat, cleaned, and someplace to stay to keep warm and out of the cold weather and snow. The breakfast was adequate and enough to get someone going. Would I stay there again?? Definitely better than the last place in which we stayed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadow6874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    102
    120
    51
    29
See reviews for
130
88
48
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you are just looking for a place to sleep, then this is what you'll get. The TV are very old CRT sets that have a poor picture quality that you could not see the picture too well, because of a purple ring around the outside of the set, The sink in the bathroom would back up when running water to wash your face or brush your teeth. When entering the room at night the room light would not come on because there is no fixture to come on. So you enter a dark room and hope you don t hurt yourself trying to find a light to turn on.
I just needed a place to sleep and that was what this provided, Breakfast was fine in the morning, and they are located right off the Thruway, and it has large truck parking. It provided what i needed , just not what you wished for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were road-weary, and we just wanted a place to relax and call it a proverbial night. Oh boy, was it a night! This place was doozy. It had everything you could as for and more. Bugs, bad smells, a heater that stunk like fire, poop on the desk chair, and a faucet that pissed all over the counter. If you want to feel dirty inside and out, this is the place for you. Otherwise, risk that sleepy head-on collision and keep on truckin'.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigS753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at Super 8 Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
This guest had pet in his room and we make him pay pet fee he don't want to pay for it so he put bad review room was completly fine and he was stay with us all night
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

New Bedford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We found this motel to be exceptionally clean, comfortable and friendly. We were travelling late and night and planning to use a walk-in coupon at a motel several towns sooner, but the place was dirty and uninhabitable. We travelled on and lucked into this lovely place, at the same low price as the awful one ($49.95). The room was spacious, with a comfortable bed, comfortable bedding, a great shower, good heating, and a small refrigerator. I have allergies and need a non-smoking room in which has not been cleaned using perfumed sprays; this motel fit the bill. The manager was very courteous and helpful. The breakfast is great -- English Muffins, toast, cereal, pastries, juice, coffee etc. I would definitely stay there again and wish all motels were as nice as this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amsterdam
9.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
16.1 mi away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#3 of 15 in Schenectady
187 reviews
16.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Schoharie
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
The Parker Inn & Suites
The Parker Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Schenectady
122 reviews
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn Amsterdam
Knights Inn Amsterdam
#2 of 2 in Amsterdam
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Amsterdam

Property: Super 8 Amsterdam
Address: 5502 Route 30 South, I-90 Exit 27, Amsterdam, NY 12010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Super Eight Amsterdam
Amsterdam Super 8
Amsterdam Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing