We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Amsterdam
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amsterdam
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

I paid $80 a night and stayed for ten days. When I checked in I asked if I could have my airline ticket printed for departure and they said absolutely. Then when I checked out they refused. Desk clerks cared more about watching TV than tending to business. I had to drive several miles to get my airline boarding pass printed and stressed out. When I got home and complained to the parent company and gave bad reviews only then did the owner constact me and begs for a better review which he bribed me for one night refund. None of the maids spoke English and the owner was hard to understand. Cheap conduct for $800 business transaction I paid. I booked the motel weeks earlier. Then I learned there was a motel within eyesight for half the price and much nicer. NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: Keep driving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NjPokerPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    99
    109
    50
    29
See reviews for
125
80
48
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

fridge
clean and comfortable
close to new york state thruway
waffles,continental breakfast
Great internet
plenty of parking for any vehicles
No elevator
easy access for wheel chairs

Room Tip: the rooms are about the same,the building is an"L"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stopped late at night to rest with myself, husband and two children. Upon getting the room .... one bed was severly stained, refridgerator did not work, breakfast bar was wiped out tub did not drain after 45 minutes. When heat was turned on there was a smell of smoke. On top of that when i called the GManager in the next day to ask for an explaination/ refund he replied with a bunch of excuses, no appologies, and a 800 number that brought me back to the front desk instead of the owner. And stated that the owners job was not to call me back. and requested that i dont call his boos beacuse HE MIGHT GET FIRED! really.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sstahlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

With a coupon for two adults and two kids very good value for money, nice big room, nice staff, break fast not bad at all, good for a stopover on the way.
This was the first cheap hotel we slept in and were pleasantly surprised.
We coudn't find anything to do in the area at night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pris454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Spring, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

I booked the room two days ahead.....Was charged $115 (AAA rate!!) for a Saturday night stay in July....The room was disgusting...Dirty.....A non-smoking room that smelled like a cigarette....The smoke detector was hanging by it's leads from the ceiling.....The door stop was ripped from the wall....The furniture was filthy.....Breakfast was in a tiny room adjoining the reception desk and consisted of three small tables....The temperature in the breakfast room was 85 degrees....The food was your basic mass produced variety.... Just called again and asked for a room for a Saturday in August (just to check their prices) and guess what.....I was told it would be $89 (without AAA which would have been even cheaper)....Quite a fluctuation in rates if you ask me.....NEVER NEVER AGAIN!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elvira98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stopped here on a motorcycle trip from Western PA to Blue Hill, ME. Since the hotel was moderately priced and close to the interstate we weren't sure what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised, hotel was clean, staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: arrive earlier in the evening if you don't have a reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wings1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed in this Super 8.
The room was large and clean.
The staff was most helpful.
The next morning we had a local couple to visit with us and the owner said it would be find for them to have breakfast with us. That was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Picaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amsterdam
9.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
21.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 3 in Cobleskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
16.0 mi away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#3 of 13 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Schenectady
Hampton Inn Schenectady
#1 of 13 in Schenectady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn Amsterdam
Knights Inn Amsterdam
#2 of 2 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Amsterdam

Property: Super 8 Amsterdam
Address: 5502 Route 30 South, I-90 Exit 27, Amsterdam, NY 12010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Super Eight Amsterdam
Amsterdam Super Eight
Amsterdam Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing