We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Forked River, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Another excellent review”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

At long last, getting around to this review. But check out all the others - what is there left for me to say? This place is excellent, albeit a tiny bit off the beaten path (which is just fine, and I think it will be for you too). It's out in the country, but still close enough to Amsterdam, Albany, etc. to be quite accessible. Great accomodations, great host, and great breakfast. Serene, comfortable, very pleasant. Price was right too! I really can't say enough good things about this place, except we WILL go back again! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Just ask - they all seemed very good to us (and we peaked in any we could!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
31
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We chose this wonderful B&B as a stopover after visiting Howe Caverns on our way to Maine. We stayed in the Magnolia Room and it was exactly as described. Clean, warm & inviting room with the most comfortable king bed & pillows. June was an excellent host and the morning breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justjon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This truly lovely B&B is actually a working farm, truly picturesque, and peaceful. The home is authentic, the owners lovely and the breakfast delicious. As a photographer, a stroll around the grounds offered me ample opportunity to push the shutter!
The nearby town of Amsterdam provided a fine dining experience, and we were ready to face driving being truly refreshed.

Room Tip: note for your GPS, Lang Road is not Lang Drive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, CT
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We happened to find this property while searching for a place to stay in Amsterdam, NY while we were visiting friends in that area. We did not want the Super 8 Motel. This place was the best!!! It is easy to find. We drove up to it just before dark. We met lovely June and she escorted us up to the Rose Room. It had a very comfortable queen size bed, large bathroom with shower stall, and satellite TV. It was spotlessly clean! When our heads hit the pillow we fell quickly to sleep. We awoke the next morning, showered, dressed, packed up, and went down stairs to an amazing breakfast. We then met June's husband, John, and had a very interesting conversation with him about the farm. He even tried to recruit us to work to bring in the hay :) This place is well worth the $. Do plan a night or two stay here if you are in this beautiful area!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AM380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I needed a place to stay in the area and wasn't impressed with any of the chain offerings. I saw the stellar reviews of Halcyon Farm; contacted June, the innkeeper and made a reservation. The Inn is spotlessly clean. The rooms are 100% immaculate. Nicely furnished as I would expect a quintessential B&B to be. Breakfasts hearty & delicious. Comfy bed; cable TV: A/C wasn't needed; fireplace wasn't needed. I fell asleep to the sound of crickets. Good bathroom. It is a bit off the beaten path, but if you find yourself near exit 26 on the New York thruway, this is a pleasant stay. All the reviewers are right.

Room Tip: Look at the pix online and make a choice. All are upstairs, except two. Ask June if you have quest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liket2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Being in the travel industry, I appreciate true reviews. Believe me, a stay at the Halcyon Farm Bed and Breakfast will be a memorable experience. This is one of the best kept secrets in all of Upstate NY. I have had the great opportunity to stay here twice and I am counting the days to return. The farm and home are exceptional maintained. If heritage is something you appreciate, there are so many treasures at this bed and breakfast. Comfort, family and breathtaking beauty are some of the things I reflect on. I cannot wait to return to the Halcyon Farm Bed and Breakfast. June is an exceptional comforting hostess. Her cooking is spectacular too. You will not be disappointed with a stay at the Halcyon Farm B & B. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are traveling alone, the "Little Room" is a great place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachvacation4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Because the photo is of a large, somewhat blocky brick building, I can see where folks looking for a prototype Victorian or Mansion-style curb appeal might continue looking. DON'T!!!

Honestly, the photo does Zero Justice to this property. Located in a gorgeous area with rolling hills, farms and woodland vistas, Halcyon is a working, 300 acre farm set WAY back from the main road at the end of a private lane.

The large brick building is the restored original farmhouse from the late 1700's, when function trumped form. Once you circle around to the rear of the B&B, where the parking and guest entrance is, you'll be greeted by majestic trees and lovely gardens, and two of the nicest and most interesting innkeepers you'll ever come across.

The interior of the farmhouse is open, inviting, warm and graciously furnished with antiques and interesting items. The original building was totally renovated in its conversion to B&B standards, and most of the work was done over many years by June & John, the owners. Every modern convenience is available, except a cell phone signal. I never missed it.

The attention to detail is very impressive. I can't think of another B&B experience where every single want or need has been provided for as seamlessly as at Halcyon Farm.

We stayed twice for single nights, separated by an overnight with family in Buffalo. Each morning, June prepared a terrific breakfast with the finest ingredients (real maple syrup!!) and homemade breads and awesome blueberry muffins, and had even shopped for gluten-free options for my wife.

We stayed in the Rose room, named for the wallpaper. Very comfy queen bed, originally from the owner's great, great, great grandfather who captained a whaling ship. Excellent lighting, bathroom (shower only in this room), easy chair, cable TV and wireless internet. SO quiet and idyllic!!

For fans of the B&B experience, Halcyon Farm is worth going WAY out of your way to visit.

Room Tip: We only stayed in the Rose room. Loved it, so stayed there again on our 2nd visit. ALL rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amsterdam
9.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
17.6 mi away
The Parker Inn & Suites
The Parker Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Schenectady
125 reviews
17.7 mi away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#4 of 15 in Schenectady
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady
4.3 mi away
Super 8 Amsterdam
Super 8 Amsterdam
#1 of 2 in Amsterdam
394 reviews
4.5 mi away
Knights Inn Amsterdam
Knights Inn Amsterdam
#2 of 2 in Amsterdam
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: 157 Lang Rd, Amsterdam, NY 12010-8040
Location: United States > New York > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast is an award-winning, AAA Three Diamond rated B&B in Amsterdam, New York. The 7,000 square foot home has 5 spacious and uniquely appointed bedrooms and a private guest entrance. The living room, library and gathering room are dedicated for guest use and special events. A delicious breakfast and afternoon sweets are served each day. All guest rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi, flatscreen TVs and DVDs, private baths, air conditioning, gas fireplaces and cotton linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing