We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small place for chilling.”
Review of Kamon Jigoya

Kamon Jigoya
Ranked #11 of 1,968 Restaurants in Matsumoto
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 5, 2017

About half an hour from the main bridge in Kamikochi, it is kinda oasis to chill and do nothing but having beer and local fresh grilled fish. small lovely place!!心地よい空間での、ビールとイワナは最高でした。静かでゆっくりさせて頂きました。ありがとうございました♪

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Uemurac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 67 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

There are quite a few places to stay in Kamikochi, but I would argue that Kamonjigoya is the overall top choice. I know that's bold, but we checked out several spots in the park and were totally blown away by this place. It is the cheapest spot with the most value!

Now, some context. I was excited to stay a couple nights in Kamikochi based on the photos I saw online (my husband and I are outdoorsy folk); however, it's very difficult to plan a trip from the US. There just isn't a lot of information out there, even on the web. So, we decided to show up and basically wing it.

When we arrived at the park, we initially intended to camp, thinking this would be the cheapest option. Well, bring your own gear because the rental prices are totally absurd. So, we looked at the prices for various accommodations instead, and Kamonjigoya was the cheapest (I use that term loosely; nothing in the park is cheap).

For me, the biggest pro is that Kamonjigoya isn't close to the visitors' center. There are a billion tourists crawling in that area, so it's very nice to get away. Plus, you get to experience the beauty of Kamikochi as you walk to the lodge. Isn't that why you came in the first place?

When we arrived at the guest house, we were greeted by a women who spoke English well enough. She was very friendly; a nutritionist from Osaka who wanted to be near the mountains. She immediately led us to a hot Japanese style bath. When I say hot, I mean it was steaming hot! I totally loved it. We were able to wash up and relax our muscles before dinner.

Like most places in Kamikochi, dinner and breakfast were included with the room. It is a set Japanese menu, but everything was delicious. The best part was the freshly barbecued fish straight from the pond out front. I could have eaten 3 more.

The facility itself is modest and homey. It is a small, traditional guest house with only a few rooms, so be sure to arrive as early as possible to get one (I recommend visiting during the week when it isn't busy). The rooms themselves are quite large and include comfortable futons with plenty of blankets. There is no heat, but this wasn't an issue at all in the summer time when the nights are pleasantly cool.

In the evening, we were invited to join some of the staff in the tea room. As a giant cast iron kettle boiled water over the fire, we drank sake and snacked on soybeans until lights out, which is at 9pm by the way. Speaking of which, make sure to charge your electronics before the power goes out (don't worry, it comes back on at 6am).

Unfortunately, we only stayed one night at Kamonjigoys because we didn't bring enough cash (IMPORTANT: there are no ATMs in the park!!!!!). After a quick hike the following day, we had to shop around Kamikochi for a new place to stay that accepted cards, but nothing compared. Everything else was more expensive for less value. Gross. As we became somewhat desperate, we had to settle for a place near the visitors center that smelled like musty bamboo, and kicked ourselves for not bringing more cash.

The only con: toilets are pretty stinky, which isn't really a con for me. You're in the middle of the woods; be thankful that you even have a toilet.

Date of visit: June 2016
2  Thank Elise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2015

A tiny fish of 10 cm for 1000 yen is quite expensive. However, taken into consideration that it comes from the river which flows beside your seat, barbequed (you can see the charcoal stove) after you've made your order and served so crispy that you can enjoy the whole fish including head and bones, I think it's still a good deal. This traditional building also offer boarding. If you cross Kappa bridge after the toilet and hike your way to Myojin region, you will take a tea break at Kamon Jigoya before crossing the Myojin bridge.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Shirley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamon Jigoya also viewed

Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
 
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
 
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
 

Been to Kamon Jigoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing