We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite town in all the world”
Review of Grindelwald

Grindelwald
Ranked #13 of 1,968 Restaurants in Matsumoto
Price range: $9 - $18
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

I would live here very contentedly if I could. First rate hotels, two great campsites, a wealth of immaculate boutique style hotels, super leisure centre, crazy golf, and the base station for the Jungfraujoch Railway taking you to Europe's highest station at 11,300 metres or so. I can't abbreviate the number of spectacular things there are to see. The Trummelbach Falls draining the melting waters of the glacier on the Jungfrau, the cable car to the Piz Gloria made famous as the location for 'on Her Majesty's Secret Service'.....stay a week, stay six months through the changing seasons, Grindelwald is a gem of which you will never tire

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Polar570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 50 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile

I visited this place Grindelwald to see the village and mountain. Since another peak Eiger is also there, I always wanted to visit since the movie " Eiger Sanction" was filmed there. The area is just beautiful.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank SSDNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2016

My wife ordered tea and I had the coffee and "Purin" set. The pudding was excellent, creamy, smooth, flavorful and the serving was ample for both my wife and I. We were there early in the day and it was neither crowded or noisy. A second serving of both tea and coffee were offered in the western style.

This is the grand old 1933 vintage hotel in Kamikochi and making a special effort to take tea in the lobby is well worth the effort.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We enjoyed a cake set and a limited special cake set after a lovely walk from the Taisho Pond. The environment of the lounge is very romantic and warm. The special cake set included 5 pieces of cakes. All of them were nice, especially for the cheese cake and chestnut cake. The cheese cake was very soft and creamy. The chestnut cake was the best I'd ever tried.

Date of visit: October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This lounge is located in Kamikochi Imperial Hotel.
During day time, it is very cloud and noisy.
But after 5 pm, it is exclusive for hotel guests.
In spring or autumn, you can enjoy peaceful time with your partner in front of bonfire under classical mantelpiece. It is very romantic.
If you stay in this hotel, please spend your day time in your room or outside, and go there in evening.

If it is bad weather, heavy rain, it will be challenging to go out. In that case, you can ask reserve seats from your room. Once you get off the lift, you will see so many people are waiting for vacancy in front of the lounge as refugees :-)

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Inspiration809569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grindelwald also viewed

Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
 
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
 
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
 

Been to Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing