We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good example of a Japanese castle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matsumoto Castle

Matsumoto Castle
Ranked #1 of 107 things to do in Matsumoto
Certificate of Excellence
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,121 reviews
562 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 822 helpful votes
“Good example of a Japanese castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was a very nice visit for me. My husband had been to other castles during his past trips to Japan but this was the first for me. It was very interesting to roam through the structure to see the layout and learn a little more about life in Japan in past centuries. We could have had a free guided tour in English had we wanted. This is done by older Japanese people who volunteer for something to do with their time and to be able to practice their English. No tips are necessary as is generally the case in Japan. The castle was very fascinating and the grounds were lovely and peaceful. I was quite happy we made the effort to visit.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,220
    829
    150
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Super cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very sweet volunteer women who gave us a tour in English. Very well-preserved wooden castle.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BSHinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Romantic outside.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

It looks gorgeous ouside, with lovey romantic photos and picturesqe view, surely worth visiting. You will have to take off your shoes before entering and then you will have to carry them in the packet they'll give you (there are not lockers). So, try not to wear big boots or you'll have to carry them around! Also, there is not bench near the entrance where you can sit and put your shoes back on you. So, people with disabilities, elderly and small kids might feel uncomfortable.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 0letstalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Awesome castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Well, this place is just what you'd hope it to be. Really nice grounds, and as you walk around the moat you come up to the view of the castle across the water. I dare you not to take that picture!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
253 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Black Crow Castle is a premier Japanese "castle" experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We visited this castle recently and rank it equal to Himeji Castle in its dramatic appearance, but also equal in providing a glimpse of how castles were constructed and what life was like for the warriors stationed there. There are multiple levels within the castle connected by steep stairs, some almost like ladders. Some rooms contain displays of artifacts from daily life - swords, guns, go stones, belt buckles, etc. The walk to the castle from the train station takes about 25 minutes but is worthwhile. The castle remains out of view until the last 100 meters or so, a wonderful way to make the first viewing quite a surprise.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bikers_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsumoto Castle also viewed

Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
 
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
Kamikochi, Nagano Prefecture
 

Been to Matsumoto Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing