We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Nice views

The top of Norikura is about 2700m night. But you do not have to do hiking but use a car Toride up... read more

Reviewed August 27, 2018
kita-man
,
Yokohama, Japan
via mobile
Bike ride up Mt Norikura

I rode my bike from Matsumoto to the top of Mt Norikura. I stopped on the way down at several shops... read more

Reviewed July 3, 2018
angus r
,
Mooloolaba, Australia
Read all 212 reviews
  
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
119
79
10
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
79
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hiking rode hike spring autumn paths nature mountains
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 212 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2017

We travelled about 20 minutes by car over a very windy road (twisting and turning). It was cool to see no convenience stores...just nature and mountains. Came to a ski area. Parked up the hill and hiked about 30 minutes. We came to three waterfalls called Sanbondaki...which translates to three waterfalls. They are so incredible and definitely the highlight of our day. The trails are easy enough, although the trek back was uphill...which is okay if you have a hot spring waiting for you. A great photo opportunity. I will be back. Enjoy!

3  Thank Canmaninjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017

Situated on the way up a mountain, the temperature here is several degrees cooler than the valley below, and the views are incredible of the mountains above. Visit Northstar Lodge and Outdoor adventures for year round fun. Run by English speaking staff, it is a sanctuary in the mountains for many.

1  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2017

Leave early and pack some food. Stayed at Guesthouse Raicho and took the hike up to the top whilst you can also take the bus if you prefer that. The trail led to wonderful vistas as well as interesting flora and fauna. Under the radar for some travellers but made my trip really wonderful especially if you like the nature and outdoors.

Thank Kashmir_Ingenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2016

This was one of my favourite places in Japan. I decided to go last minute, taking the 30 minute train and 40 minute bus from Matsumoto up to the highlands. I stayed at Guesthouse Raicho, which was cheap with a awesome host, backpacking atmosphere and a private outdoor Onsen - a recommended place for those looking for a decent, basic accommodation.
This is typically a skiing area, but I went there in spring so there was almost no people and snow only on the hilltops. So, I got a hiking map and wondered the local trails all day going from waterfall to mountain trail to forested pathways, all the meantime listening to birdsong and breathing in the fresh mountain air. Just beautiful. The hiking was not overly difficult (some uphills, 10-12 km), and you can go as far or as short as you want. You will have to match the kanji from the map to the signposts and there is a bit of guestwork at times, but sticking to the most used trails will keep you out of most trouble. Also, in spring there is a lot of signs warning about bears, although I didn't see any, the metal pipes are there to scare them away. There is also a opportunity to hire mountain bikes and ride around for the day.

Fair warning: If you stay in Raicho Guesthouse the local shop to get food/drinks is a good 40 minutes walk down a steel hill, so come prepared. The kitchen at the Guesthouse is well-equipped with cooking supplies.

4  Thank Temma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth M, Public Relations Manager at Norikura Kogen, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2016

Hello and thank you for your kind words. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Norikura Kogen at Guesthouse Raicho. The owner there has been doing a great job taking care of foreign guests.

We would love to hear If there is anything we could do to make your next visit more enjoyable.

Be well
Seth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2016 via mobile

It was early spring and most trees were bare but I had a great day trudging through the snow (a little treacherous at times and sometimes difficult to make out the directions but the path through the snow was well-trodden) and saw only one other hiker all day. From the Norikura tourist centre (stop "Kanko center mae", not quite the last stop), I took a path to the stunning icy Zengorou Daki waterfall, then the icy Ushidome Ike pond, then through the forest to the Ichinose meadow, then back up the hill to the tourist centre - all in about 3 hours, after which I went to the Yukemurikan onsen opposite the tourist centre, with a nice milky outdoor pool (only limited views of the mountains though) and a cafe with good soba. It was a very peaceful day out amid the forests and mountains. Fairly warm with the sun out but cold when the rains came later on. Seems like there's a lot more to do in the area in peak season, especially if you have a car.

Getting there on public transport is pretty easy but look up the timetables first as the train and bus run infrequently. At Matsumoto station you can get a combined return ticket from the first machines next to the ticket office for 3,300 yen to Norikura Kanko center (the destination is shown as something else though - I just bought the Shirahone ticket and staff noticed it later and adjusted the ticket) or 3,500 to Shirahone (but only a few buses go that far). Then go to track 7 for the train to Shin-shimashima, where the bus stop is just past the gates.

3  Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth M, Public Relations Manager at Norikura Kogen, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2016

Thank you for your review. I enjoyed reading about your adventure in and around Norikura Kogen. The route you took is one of my favorites.

Please let us know if there is anything we could do as an area to make a trip to Norikura Kogen more enjoyable in the future.

Be well
Seth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews