We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Experience!”
Review of Kobayashi Soba

Kobayashi Soba
Ranked #2 of 1,948 Restaurants in Matsumoto
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Long established family-run restaurant specializing in local cuisine, especially soba (buckwheat) noodles and tempura. A good selection of local Nagano sake is also on the menu. Come join us for some delicious local delicacies in a relaxed atmosphere... centrally located not far from the station and close to the castle. Please note that we moved from our previous location and are now located in the grounds of Yohashira Shrine next to Nawate Street (Frog Street). We have changed locations as of July 2018 but we still serve the same great food that locals and visitors have come to love. We are open from 11 to 9 seven days a week!!!
Restaurant details
Description: Long established family-run restaurant specializing in local cuisine, especially soba (buckwheat) noodles and tempura. A good selection of local Nagano sake is also on the menu. Come join us for some delicious local delicacies in a relaxed atmosphere... centrally located not far from the station and close to the castle. Please note that we moved from our previous location and are now located in the grounds of Yohashira Shrine next to Nawate Street (Frog Street). We have changed locations as of July 2018 but we still serve the same great food that locals and visitors have come to love. We are open from 11 to 9 seven days a week!!!
Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

Very good atmosphere, right next to the shrine (location on TripAdvisor is as of writing their old location!), not to forget really good food (had soba).
For me personally an unforgettable experience, staff was super friendly, even had a nice talk and she gave me a package of the tasty tea they serve for free!
ありがとうございました!
Definitely go check it out:)

Thank Levin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelton B, Guest Relations Manager at Kobayashi Soba, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Thanks so much for visiting us at our new location! We are trying to get everything updated so people are not in confusion. Enjoy the tea!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 197 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2018

Had Chicken soba noodles here, which were excellent - as was the wheat tea. The meal was very reasonable including beer it came to equvalent of £13.30 each. Owner very friendly - gave us free wheat tea- teabags as a gift when we left. Good mix of locals and visitors so nice atmosphere. Highly recommended

1  Thank 769John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelton B, Guest Relations Manager at Kobayashi Soba, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

thank you very much... we look forward to serving you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018

It was a hot day so we thought soba would be good for lunch. We hadn't really had the cold soba experience before so had to watch what other people were doing. They do have the usual models in the window as well as an english version of the menu so it was easy to select a meal. We both ordered the soba and tempura set. You get iced buckwheat tea when you sit down and then the meal arives. Cod noodles on a basket, veggie and prawn tempura, a separate dish with daikon, spring onions and small piece of fresh wasabi with a grater and the dipping sauce. You grate the wasabi over the noodles, dip them in the soup and slurp them up. Yum. The owners speak some english and are very friendly and helpful. You can also get noodles on their own, seasonal specials and some waygu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2018 via mobile

The staff were so friendly and patiently taught us about the soba noodles of the area and how to eat them the Japanese way. The noodles were really tasty and so were the tempura shrimp and veggies.

1 box is a smaller amount of noodles than it looks, so is good as a side but definitely go with the recommended 2 boxes if you’re hungry.

Thank KirstyClabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2018 via mobile

Was very friendly and taught us all the different ways to enjoy soba! Was delicious and enjoyable. Has real wasabi to try for certain dishes if you're going for full authenticity

Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobayashi Soba also viewed

Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
 
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
 
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
 

Been to Kobayashi Soba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing