We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matsumoto Marunouchi Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Hotel Tamanoyu(Matsumoto)
$214
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Hotel Buena Vista(Matsumoto)(Great Value!)
$137
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel New Station(Matsumoto)(Great Value!)
$65
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Southern Cross Inn Matsumoto(Matsumoto)(Great Value!)
$111
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
Oiwakeya Ryokan(Matsumoto)
$295
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Richmond Hotel Matsumoto(Matsumoto)(Great Value!)
$94
$68
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alpico Plaza Hotel(Matsumoto)(Great Value!)
$80
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Hotel -CABIN- Matsumoto(Matsumoto)(Great Value!)
$86
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
$139
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Shoho(Matsumoto)
$203
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
131
123
14
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
123
14
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsside streetfamily marttrain stationbreakfast buffet ishotel entrancespacious and comfortable roomball roommodern western styleminute walklovely hotelgood sizejapanese hotelswould definitely stay here againlit up at nightthe location is perfectnice breakfastwalking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 272 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Matsumoto to trip down to my husband's memory lane as he used to live there in his univ. days. He wanted to visit and try all the restaurants and bars in old downtown area where he, a young and poor student, was offered nice foods to fill himself up. Unfortunately some of them were closed down or even changed to car parking spaces or convenience stores... For this purpose, the hotel was situated in very convenient place, although my husband was a bit shocked as he knew that the hotel (or their restaurant?) building was the office building for a bank before, the room was very clean and actually very stylish and we felt the price is very much reasonable for the value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ykoezuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We love this hotel because everything felt new and clean. The bed and the pillows were very comfortable (not the kind that sinks to the ground when you lie on it) and the twin room was big enough for our family of 3. Matsumoto castle was a short walk (3 mins) away and food was easily accessible. We discovered a cheap and good cafe (appears to be a chain and located beside Parco) that even the locals seem to frequent. :) The JR station is about 10 mins walk away but in our opinion, well worth the walk!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgpoonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel - the rooms are modern and spacious, the staff helpful and the buffet breakfast is a great option. There were a number of interesting dinner options close to the hotel and the reception staff helped us to get a last minute reservation. Matsumoto Castle is a short stroll away and we did it before and after breakfast. We only stayed one night, but will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G4about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked at short notice due to a change of plans in our trip. We decided to spend a night in Matsumoto, and because we were arriving late we didn't want an expensive ryokan-style hotel with inclusive dinner that we would likely miss.

This is a simple, comfortable and clean western style hotel about 10 minutes walk from the JR station, and quite close to the castle. We opted not to have breakfast at the hotel, and found a nice cafe between the hotel and the castle.

While it's not particularly memorable, if you're looking for a reasonably priced western style room for a short stay in Matsumoto this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snobs_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is the closest to a 'boutique' hotel I came across in Japan, most being larger business type hotels. That said the rooms were similar but that's no bad thing as all Japanese hotel rooms seem to be extremely comfortable and well equipped. We were lucky enough to get a free upgrade on arrival which was lovely as we had an extremely spacious room.

Location is great, walkable from the station and extremely easy to find as it is on the road leading to the excellent castle. A lovely town with plenty of shops and eating places nearby - I know its not very Japanese but try the Hawaiian burger place, they were amazing!

Our visit coincided with 'sobafest' at the castle which was amazing... loads of food stands, drink and exhibitions of noodle making. A real bonus.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank NPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews