We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dormy Inn Matsumoto
Ranked #5 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsumoto
Certificate of Excellence
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good clean hotel with a reasonable size room.
Located at 5 minute walk from the JR station.
Nice breakfast with buns and coffee.
Washing machine and dryer available, which is nice during a 3 week journey.
Safe choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheoChristel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    157
    37
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
115
46
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at how close the hotel was to Matsumoto station - we could see it when we exited, across four streets. It was also very close to Ario departmental store with a well-stocked supermarket and the central bus station (located just outside Ario). If you are travelling by train or bus, this is definitely a well located hotel. We also picked up our Toyota rental car from their office round the corner. Matsumoto is a small town and it is an easy walk to all the sights.

The hotel room was on the small side, but clean & comfortable. We loved the rooftop spa (onsen) which had piped in music and felt safe as we were given a security door code each day (we were there 2 nights).

Breakfast was tasty and there were Japanese and Western selections.

There was no Wi-Fi but we could connect our computer through the network cable provided in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wong15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

About 10min walk from Matsumoto station, convenient location to walk or to take a bus to Matsumoto Castle or City Museum of Art. The size of the room is typical Japanese budget type hotel room. Window did not open and a bit dusty. No need to use the cramped shower booth, if you use Japanese bath. Hotel served Yonaki-soba, Ramen, as a night snack, from 9:30pm to11:30pm., lots of local travelers were enjoying the service with Samui-room at home clothes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manon015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder,Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a good choice for a night in Matsumoto. It seems there is not a lots of choice in this town for different class of Hotels. This is as about as good as it gets in Matsumoto. It has a very good location about equal distance from the train station and the castle, you can easily walk to each.
The room was clean... but stained carpet and bedspread. Need to either shampoo and wash or replace them. The bathroom was a new modular unit it worked well, not grungy at all. Breakfast was pretty bad. They do have a non smoking floor and the Free washing machine made it a real good place to stay. Which would be the case whether free or not. The hotel supplies the soap and the wash, you pay 2 bucks to dry. I did two loads of laundry in their two machines, and two dryers. This was a real bonus to be able to do our laundry, they are up on the top floor with the onsen. Which looked nice, but did not use this onsen.
The staff in nice and responsive to our requests and questions. Only thing I have to say is, wash or replace the carpet and bedspreads. Big stain spots on the floor are not very appealing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OK2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was a nice business type hotel near the train station. It was also not too far from the castle. The room was a typical size for Japan. We REALLY loved the Japanese bath on the 9th floor and didn't even bother to use the shower in our room. They also had free washing machines for guest to use including the washing liquid. The driers cost 100 yen per 20 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osuddg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice hotel, nice staff and good breakfast. The rooms were clean and big enough for us. They have a nice spa as well and are good located in the city centre. What else can you ask for? We enjoyed our stay and would go there again next time!
:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyliteee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed for one night and love this hotel for what it has to offer at a great price (less than USD$100 / night).
Location: Close to Matsumoto station (5-7 min walking distance) and Matsumoto Castle (10-15 min walking).
Staff: Hotel staff was friendly and spoke sufficient English. Maps and tourist information (staff's recommendation of food and sightseeing places) were available in English.
Facilities and service: Hotel room was quite small but clean. We chose a double room, with a small bathroom (no bath-tub). Enjoyed the complimentary rooftop onsen (both indoor and outdoor). Onsen was clean with adequate amenities. Free use of laundry machine (washing was free, but had to pay for the drying machine).
Food and beverage: The dining area was not huge, but was clean and organized. Complimentary welcome coffee. Complimentary breakfast offering both Western- and Japanese-style food. Free Ramen noodle after 9:30pm as night-time snack.
The Dormy Inn provided us with a pleasant stay and we enjoyed Matsumoto city a lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sir1G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matsumoto hotels
Richmond Hotel Matsumoto
#2 of 185 in Matsumoto
560 reviews
Matsumoto Marunouchi Hotel
#3 of 185 in Matsumoto
254 reviews
Matsumoto Tokyu REI Hotel
#13 of 185 in Matsumoto
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matsumoto Station
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Hotel
#12 of 185 in Matsumoto
285 reviews
Matsumoto Hotel Kagetsu
#7 of 185 in Matsumoto
193 reviews
Ace Inn Matsumoto
#11 of 185 in Matsumoto
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Matsumoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Matsumoto

Property: Dormy Inn Matsumoto
Address: 2-2-1 Fukashi, Matsumoto 390-0815, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Matsumoto > Matsumoto Station , Asama Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Matsumoto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Matsumoto
#3 Business Hotel in Matsumoto
#3 Family Hotel in Matsumoto
#16 Best Value Hotel in Matsumoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Matsumoto 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
■ It supports ♪ all rooms Wifi from men's and women's natural hot spring large communal bath ■ Matsumoto Station in a 5-minute walk Is immediate on foot from Matsumoto Station; is situated in a good location. It is most suitable for the base of business and the leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Dormy Inn Matsumoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Matsumoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing