We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matsumoto Hotel Kagetsu
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Ikedaya(Matsumoto)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ryokan 
Marumo Ryokan(Matsumoto)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Nunoya Ryokan(Matsumoto)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveler rating
83
125
38
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
125
38
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoba restaurantlovely hotelwestern guestsonsen downstairsseparate areasnice coffee shophistoric areacorner roomjapanese breakfastfriendly english speaking staffopening the windowyayoi kusamahotel onsentwin bedsshort walk to the castlejapanese style roomstandard room
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 256 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you want to visit Matsumoto, this a good place to stay. It is a high rise hotel with an attached excellant restaurant.
My single room was rather small but then hotel rooms are generally small in Japan. The room was clean with generally good amenities.
The hotel is just 15mins walking distance from the railway station and very close to the river and the morning market. If you walk further along the river bank you come across a big shopping mall.
The surroundings of the hotel are quiet and clean.
The hotel is very close to the Castle, one of the main attractions of Matsumoto.
Check-in and check-out was friendly and easy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gyanfernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is only a 5 minutes' walk from the famous Matsumoto Castle, which is rated one of the "Best of Japan" places for cherry blossom viewing. The staff are polite and helpful and informed us of the night light-up at the castle ground in celebration of the cherry blossom. When we were leaving for dinner, it started to rain and the lady staff at the door stopped us before running in to get umbrellas for us. She even went through the trouble of getting me a black-red umbrella to match my outfit! I was pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious and comfortable and we got the view of the mountains from our window. There is a public hot-spring bath right at the hotel as well. And the restaurants there are also award-winning eateries. Highly recommended. We enjoyed our stay there and regretted it was only for one night. Will certainly return to Matsumoto and to Hotel Kagetsu the next time I visit Japan.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 901CG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed at the hotel , on a group tour. Hotel very comfortable, and close to the black crow castle, staff very friendly, and would recommend this hotel. Lots of craft shops in the area , and the hotel has its own bath house, and ensure rooms

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 168terry10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The location is very good to enjoy walking around the traditional area and to reach the national heirloom, Matsumoto castle. It's interested things that the furnitues made of "Matsumoto woods" that comes from the local trees is displayed on the ground floor. And if you like, you can touch the full-fledged service at the time-honored Soba-restaurant and purchase something at the Japanese-style confection store nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masahiro_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I recently finished an 8-day trip through Japan including stays in Tokyo, Kyoto, Nagoya, and this wonderful gem of a hotel in Matsumoto. The price was amazing, the location was perfect, the staff was superb, the bath was great, and the town of Matsumoto is super. The hotel itself is very lovely with a great sitting area in the lobby to enjoy the wifi. The 3-min walk to the beautiful Matsumoto Castle is unbeatable, and the hotel is right on the pink "Sneaker Bus" line for an easy connection from the train station if you don't feel like the 15-min walk through the beautiful streets of Matsumoto. This was one of my favorite stops in Japan, and I would have enjoyed staying longer. The Matsumoto Castle alone is worth the trip, but the hotel was a pleasant find. The Japanese bath was nice, but you do have to walk through the hotel lobby to and fro... but the robes they provide in the room are welcome throughout the hotel. From Matsumoto it's an easy train ride into Nagano.

Room Tip: I had a western room on the corner of the 4th floor. It was very nice for the price.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews