We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checks and Balances”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kanazawa Tokyu Hotel
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Overall, we gave the Excel Hotel Tokyu 4 stars, with a few "ifs and buts". The hotel is in an excellent location, close to many tourist attractions, and on the circle bus line that provides access very cheaply to most of the others. The staff were most helpful and polite. Food and service in the restaurant (including buffet breakfast) was excellent. Our room was very small, probably the smallest we experienced in a month in Japan, but the tariff for the room was also extremely reasonable. It is most likely that there are larger rooms, with higher rates. Despite size, the room was well appointed, and provided us with all of the comforts we needed. The area in which the hotel is located does not have a large range of restaurants, so on one of the nights of our stay, we ate in the hotel, and found the dinner very pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCr00ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 528 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Only stayed 1 night,but found hotel room to be very good,in room 624.Breakfast had good selection,although large hotel staff were all very helpful.The location is great for sightseeing,went to the Kenrokuen Garden which has nice tea house and the site of a Samurai house,there is also area of old Kanazawa,well worth a walk around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimplyYours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

If this is the 5-star standard in Japan, I have a problem with that country. Everything is smaller than normal. The beds are barely long enough for me (I'm 180 cm), and spartanically hard. The desk is so small that I hit it from underneath with my legs all the time. The chair likewise. The armchair doesn't offer much comfort either.
There is no gym or pool in the hotel, which is unique for a 5-star.
In the end (after 3 days), I gladly left with deteriorated fitness and an aching spine.
On a positive note, the rooms are rather quiet.
The location is great indeed, lots of nice little restaurants and bars, shops etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is located in a superb location in downtown Kanazawa, which is a delightful urban city with wonderful shopping and restaurants. In addition, there is a well-above average breakfast buffet with delicious Japanese and Western classics--really good. The only downside is that in warmer weather, the A/C isn't quite adequate to cool the room down, especially for those that like a cooler temperature for sleeping.

Room Tip: Perhaps it might be good to ask for a room that doesn't get a lot of sunlight to have a more com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardBop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

There are many things to like about this hotel. First it is part of the Tokyu chain and I'm beginning to like them. Super cool location, next to a mall (reasonably priced), across the street from high end shops, such as LV, Emporio Armani and the Daiwa shopping center. Basement of the Daiwa is a food court, supermarket, boutique type shops from bento boxes, sweets, sashimi, a boulangerie, Enoteca, the works. You can buy everything here related to Japanese food for dining in, cheaply. Rooms are not big but wireless and wired Internet everwhere definitely puts a smiley on me. The breakfast buffet is worth it at 1299 yen around $13. Love the clean rooms, Japanese toilet.

Service is stellar. I locked my suitcase by accident and when I called the front desk for help, an employee was up in 3 minutes with a large cutting tool.

Tip: Use the Daiwa shopping center across the street basement for food options. Italian food in Kanazawa is pricey. Chinese food is cheaper. There is a Starbucks next door. Subway station is literally next to the hotel. Most museums and historical points of interest: Samurai residences etc are walking distance.

Room Tip: Request a high floor with a view of the mountains. They also have queen beds by request. Asian bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paolola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Chose this hotel based on reviews on TA. Glad to have made that choice and will recommend it to fellow Kanazawa travellers.

Pros:
- Great location in Korinbo, the shopping district in central Kanazawa. Cab ride to hotel was about 1000 yen from the train station. Prefer it over the train station neighbourhood as it is more 'happening'.
- The Kanazawa Loop Bus (bus stop 15) stops right in front. Day ticket costs 500 yen and links all the major tourist attractions, like Kenroku-en gardens.
- Nagamachi Samurai District is right behind the hotel.
- Rooms are well-sized, clean and comfortable.
- Service staff is attentive and helpful. They know their work and recommendations are spot on.

Cons:
- Just to nick-pick: no wow factor. For the price, I don't expect any actually.

Tips: a) If you are rushed for time (as we were), take the Loop Bus. We spent half a morning walking to Omicho market (for breakfast) and then the train station only to find that we could have just boarded the Loop Bus outside the hotel.
b) Visit one of the Chaya districts. It is mini Gion (in Kyoto) without the throngs of tourists. Must have tea in one of the many tea houses!
c) If you don't have breakfast included, the German Bistro across the road opens at 7.30am and serves great breakfast. We ate there and still caught our train at 9.15 am. We packed sandwiches for the train ride as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HC_Chua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Kanazawa Hotel is well situated, within walking distance of gardens, shopping, and the old samurai district. It is a huge hotel, but very smoothly run despite drawing travel groups. (That can be a problem with the slow elevators.)
Our room was large and very clean, beds good, but there was a problem with the air conditioning. Everyone in our group had the problem, which was only fixed by opening the window. Supposedly it is a new system needing to adjust.....
Breakfast was crowded and average, nonetheless the staff maintained a high level of dignity in seating patrons. Lunch was okay. Best was a traditional dinner at the Japanese restaurant on the third floor. The room and atmosphere were so Zen as to be sterile, but the food was excellent.
The front desk staff was very helpful, whether for safe deposit, dining recommendations, or sending Housekeeping to our room with a new hair dryer. It was very nice to have a doorman bow welcoming us back after each excursion.

Room Tip: Ask if the air conditioning has been fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisABeaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanazawa hotels
Kanazawa Station
Hotel Nikko Kanazawa
Hotel Nikko Kanazawa
#2 of 102 in Kanazawa
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanazawa Station
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
#7 of 102 in Kanazawa
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanazawa Tokyu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanazawa Tokyu Hotel

Address: 2-1-1 Korimbo, Kanazawa 920-0961, Ishikawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Price Range: $115 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kanazawa Tokyu Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Rakuten, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanazawa Tokyu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing