We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best city option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Kanazawa
Ranked #2 of 102 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Nikko is a comfortable hotel with a very convenient location. The standard rooms are extremely small, so unless you are OK with a truly tiny space, it is worth springing for an upgraded room. The breakfast buffet has a lot of choices but the Japanese breakfast is not as interesting as the version you receive at a typical ryokan. The concierges are quite helpful with restaurant recommendations and getting around the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atw100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Excellent hotel in front of the station. Convenience stores nearby. Restaurants at the hotel look very nice but overpriced. We didn't go to them. Rooms are great with nice views. It is a +/- 30 floor tower and highest building in Kanazawa, so you see the hotel from far away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevethebest74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

After reading some others' experience I booked a "luxury" category room. The 60 day advance booking rate on their own website made this very affordable. Although it was a standard size and layout it looked recently renovated with a great view to the sea. It was in no way opulent but had every amenity we needed including fast, complimentary internet, quietness and a tea/coffee making facility.

You can walk to the hotel from the train station either across the road (it's the highest building you'll see from the train as you arrive,) or by using the huge subway underneath the road and passages leading to the hotel. The loop line and shuttle bus which goes all day around the various sights also leaves from outside the station making everything very convenient. The concierges will give you really useful maps and information in English if you ask them.

Breakfast was varied and nice but sometimes was a little busy due to the bus tours which stay there. We used the Chinese restaurant on the 29th floor several times because it was the most reasonably priced and had the best menu.

I would highly recommend the hotel as it was difficult to fault.

Room Tip: Choose a renovated or luxury room. Most floors on both sides seem to have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDoor_isopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Located opposite the train station, this hotel is a great base to explore Kanazawa (which is very charming). Make sure you book a renovated room - spacious, nicely furnished & overall very comfortable. Its a typical modern style western hotel - nothing spectacular or particularly memorable but does provide a good night's rest.

We had an excellent Japanese Kaiseki style meal at their Japanese restaurant (wasn't cheap at Yen10,000 per person). The food was creative, beautifully presented & so fresh - all ingredients coming from the local area & themed around cherry blossoms. Breakfast is buffet & almost cafeteria style but decent selection of Western & Japanese food. Perhaps a better option would have been the Japanese style breakfast in their Japanese restaurant.

Service is polite & helpful - our onward train reservations & bookings were made with their help/advice.

The daily bus pass is good deal as you can hop on/off & goes to all the major sights - dont miss the castle & gardens, the 21st century contemporary museum & the old geisha district. We stayed 1 night but wished we had decided to stay 2.

Would recommend this hotel - it is good & provides all that you require for a short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scorpioshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel is located opposite the train station, and ideal for exploring the area from.
I had a modern, well kept room, with all the essential facilities. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and very attentive. The breakfast was very good, but manic as so many tour groups, so possibly a small wait. They had buffet in the evening, also very good quality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letskeepexploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

They try very hard to promote their city in Kanazawa and it is a worthwhile tourist destination for the gardens and the historic districts.

The Nikko newly renovated floors was a real delight, with large rooms (about 33 sq mtrs), quality fittings and sumptuous views over the city to the snow covered mountains from our 28 floor room. Conveniently located near the railway station, no doubt its popularity will increase with the shinkansen scheduled arrival. Five stars for mine, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briard8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

So I read all the reviews and checked out pictures of the Nikko before I booked the room. I now understand why some people feel it is an old a tired hotel and other think it is a 4 star. The hotel has certain rooms that have been renovated and if you do not book one of those rooms you will be VERY disappointed.

Somehow I ended up with a double bed room with the worst bed and furniture in what seemed like a corner room - it was depressing - it was kind of a cold and rainy day and that made the old furniture and old room seem worse I guess. I tried to stay in the room but the more I did the more disappointed I became - so I went down to the front desk and asked for an upgrade. For 50 dollars more a night (we only stayed 2 nights) we got an amazing room - fully updated with a spa tub and shower, King bed and amazing view. Yes, it cost us but it made me feel sooo much more comfortable, happy and felt like I was truly on vacation - and the bed was great as opposed to the terrible bed in the old room.

So ask to be sure you are in an updated room or you will not understand some of the reviews of this hotel.

Location wise it is perfect - close to shopping, dinning, right across from the train and bus station.

Be sure to visit the castle and ask for the free the English tour guide of the Castle and Kenrokuen Gardens - they are amazing.

We took the Sunrise Night tour - you are not guaranteed an English tour guide but the sights were great! We loved this town and the train ride to and from it.

There are many dining options in the hotel - they can be expensive so head out to dine if you can. The breakfast buffet was good - lots of options the scrambled eggs were too runny for me.

The Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar upstairs was fantastic and has a pretty little Japanese garden to view.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly updated room or ask for an upgrade. Choose the rooms with the mountain view facing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanazawa hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanazawa Tokyu Hotel
#7 of 102 in Kanazawa
531 reviews
Kanazawa Station
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
#8 of 102 in Kanazawa
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Kanazawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Kanazawa

Address: 2-15-1 Honmachi, Kanazawa 920-0853, Ishikawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa > Kanazawa Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 102 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Price Range: $110 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Nikko Kanazawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko Kanazawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing