We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, lovely owners and vegetarian friendly”
Review of The Cottage

The Cottage
Ranked #14 of 3,106 Restaurants in Kanazawa
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty food, lovely owners and vegetarian friendly”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Momo and Tony (owners) are such welcoming and friendly people I recommend you visit the cottage just to meet them! I'm vegetarian and they were happy to amend the menu to make me something I could eat. We booked a table to come back later in the week and tony cooked us a three course vegetarian feast complete with apple pie for dessert.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    20
    10
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, CA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best Irish Coffee in Japan”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our two families (four adults and five kids) stopped here after a long day's walk through Kanazawa. We completely took over the restaurant and they served us a wonderful meal of freshly made pasta and pizza, finished off with Irish Coffee and a glass of Irish whisky for the road. Good food and great hospitality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam_m_ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm welcoming and wonderful”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Arriving in Kanazawa to torrential rain and darkness I was not filled with much hope for a fun stay. Luckily the next day the weather cleared and I got to explore the city.
I had read reviews of The Cottage on Trip advisor so headed down for lunch.
It was everything the reviews say, cute little place, great food and amazing hosts. So friendly and welcoming. I even had Christmas pudding and a cup of tea, delicious!!
I would reccomend a visit if you are in Kanazawa lovely lovely people and great food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukui, Japan
2 reviews
“Great taste of Home”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Lovely staff and great food and drink! Definitely recommend if you're in Kanzawa for a nice meal and good conversation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CianF801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh homemade pasta; spirited, enegrtic and gracious hosts”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Momo and Tony are great hosts: gracious and accommodating. There were 11 of us and so we took up the whole restaurant. We had thin crust pizza, heaps of red wine, freshly made tagliatelle and apple crumble, as well as fresh bread and salad. Spirited and cozy. Very reasonable prices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmorgan1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage also viewed

Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
 
Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
 
Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
 

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing