We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First place!”
Review of The Cottage

The Cottage
Ranked #14 of 3,105 Restaurants in Kanazawa
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“First place!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Excellent meal! The pizza had the thin Northern Italian crust and pasta was perfect. We really enjoyed a good glass of wine and the green salad was fresh with lovely dressing. Besides Italian, good Irish food is also available. The brown bread was made with wheat flour from Canada. My husband had been in Japan for a month and really wanted a change in diet. This meal was just what he was hoping for, and he even got his whiskey. We both really felt this deserved its Trip Advisor rating. The couple owners are very friendly and helpful. Go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nipowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    20
    10
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“pasta and pizza”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Although we were 10, they prepared, cook and served in a very short time. Taste was wonderful. They were so friendly. Price was not too much. We were very happy having pastas instead of Japanies food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diyojen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tony and Momo are the best!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Really great food and atmosphere. We had the pizza and vegetable lasagna and both were fantastic. We also had a great time talking with Tony and Momo, they both speak English which we haven't had much of our whole trip through Japan. Refreshing conversation and a distraction from all the Japanese style food. Go here it was great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrentonE_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tiny gem in Kanazawa”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I originally went in to escape the rain. I went back for Tony's handmade pasta and the warm friendly atmosphere. It's a small place with six bar seats and two tables. However, it reminds me of entering the kitchen of a family member or good friend. Momo and Tony create a relaxing environment where you feel truly welcomed. The food was simple but well made and delicious. I will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Small and friendly”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Tiny little bar ( there were 4 of us and I think we filled it up!) with very friendly owners & tasty food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nemish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage also viewed

Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
 
Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
 

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing