We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
30
18
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
30
18
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soba noodles modern ryokan by western standards castle park stayed here for nights fish market kanazawa castle kenrokuen garden laundry room min walk the ground floor location is great japanese style good size omicho market balcony taxi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved our room at this hotel. I think it was a superior rather than a standard room. We had a small terrace that overlooked the shrine at the end of the street. Really nice shower and jacuzzi bathtub with a special water fall setting for your back. Never saw one like that before. We got the western breakfast which had a fried egg, breads (delicious local green bread, a croissant and 2 rolls), yogurt, salad, and sausage. The second morning I asked for scrambled eggs which were pretty good. They also serve soba noodles in the evening in the lobby. The staff really tries to please and are ever so polite. English may be limited.

Room tip: We loved the superior twin room with terrace
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank golfslw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019

A very stylish modern hotel with well appointed rooms. The location close to Kanazawa Castle and Kerokuen Gardens was ideal.
Communal lounge area where free soba noodles and soft drinks are served at 9:00pm encouraging guests to mingle and swap stories. Female reception staff beautifully turned out in traditional dress. 10 minute ride from the rail station was about 1000 yen.
Lots of dining choices and convenience stores (with ATM) in the area.
Free smartphone in room which you can take out. Useful for Google Maps and tourist info. Free international calls to some countries (not UK).

Room tip: Quiet Area. Avoid lifts if noise is an issue.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazJackSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStar811287, Reception at UAN Kanazawa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Thank you for staying at our hotel, thank you for posting your feedback.We are pleased that you like UAN kanazawa.Moreover, we are proud that we are satisfied with the correspondence of the staff.You are waiting for you to come back to Kanazawa again! UAN kanazawa Yuko Nakagawa / Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

UAN now ranks as one of my favorite hotels. It's obvious that a great deal of care and thought went into its planning -- we enjoyed the elegant touches of traditional Japanese decor throughout the hotel, got comfy in the haori jackets and yukata robes waiting for us in our room, and relaxed on a spacious private terrace. Our superior terrace room was impeccably clean with a smartly executed lighting system and a truly modern, well-designed shower/bathing room (the coin-operated washer/dryer combo machine on the first floor worked great, too!). From the moment we walked in the door, we were treated as honored guests -- the staff is unfailingly helpful. Location is also first-rate -- a few minutes of walking will get you to an entrance for Kanazawa Castle Park (with Kenrokuen Garden just south of the park), the samurai district is about a 15-minute walk away, and Omicho Market is two blocks away. Very glad we discovered this gem of a hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStar811287, Reception at UAN Kanazawa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Thank you for staying at our hotel, thank you for posting your feedback.
We are pleased that you like UAN kanazawa.Moreover, we are proud that we are satisfied with the correspondence of the staff.You are waiting for you to come back to Kanazawa again!
UAN kanazawa Yuko Nakagawa / Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

We arrived an hour early, but they would not let us go to the room, so we went out into the old and rain and went to the Omicho fish market. I do not understand if the room is ready, why we can't access it a little bit early. I will be forever grateful to the Sofitel in Singapore who let us check in at 0930 in the morning!!! Nothing to look at from the outside but very nice inside. The ground floor has the reception area in the centre, to the right, a bar with tables and chairs to have complimentary tea, coffee and juices, to the left a lovely area with one long table and seating and either side of this is some interesting pottery, china pieces etc to be purchased. Complimentary Soba noodles are available from 9pm. I think 8pm would be better. A restaurant would have been good. The room was modern, clean and a good size, by Japanese standards. The traditional jacket and bathrobe were a nice touch. Unfortunately they weren't available for sale. It is situated in a good location, close to a number of restaurants, 25 min walk to the old part Higashi Chaya streets and a 15 min walk to Kanazawa castle. We stayed here for 4 nights and it cost A$897, which I thought was a bit expensive, but about what we paid at each of our hotels. There was no one to assist with our luggage when we checked in and out.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyhammonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStar811287, Reception at UAN Kanazawa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Thank you for staying at our hotel, thank you for posting your feedback.We are pleased that you like UAN kanazawa.There is no porter at our hotel, which made you feel inconvenient. I'm sorryYou are waiting for you to come back to Kanazawa again! UAN kanazawa Yuko Nakagawa / Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

This hotel opened Dec 2017, is bright, with modern setting with touches of Japanese characteristics. Very friendly reception staff (some speak reasonably good English). Room is quite spacious and chirpy, nice bathroom with spa-bath & shower. Although there are tea making amenities in the room, they however have a lobby lounge (where breakfast is served - pre order the day before is required) where complementary tea and expressed coffee as well as biscuits & sweets are provided 24 hours. There is even complementary bowl of hot soba soup between 9pm to 11pm. Beer, wine, and generous serves of sake tasting are also available for a moderate price. We were permitted to bring our own breads bought from nearby stores with butter & jam to eat there for our breakfast and enjoy the benefit of the complementary coffee & tea. Coin operated launderette on the ground floor. There is even a small gym.
Location is great, 4min walk to the Omicho fish market where there are several nice restaurants, 15 min walk to the Kanazawa Castle, and another 10 min to the great Kenroku-en Gardens. Bountiful cherry blossoms there. 10 min by taxi from Kanazawa station (Y1,000). 25 min walk to the old part Higashi Chaya streets.
Highly recommend this moderately priced hotel !!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank kyh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStar811287, レセプション at UAN Kanazawa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2019

Thank you for staying at our hotel, thank you for posting your feedback.
We are pleased that you like UAN kanazawa.Moreover, we are proud that we are satisfied with the correspondence of the staff.
You are waiting for you to come back to Kanazawa again!
UAN kanazawa Yuko Nakagawa / Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews