We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Certificate of Excellence
Canandaigua, New York
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for several nights. The location is very convenient for exploring Kanazawa. We had two rooms-a standard single for our daughter and a standard twin room for my husband and I. Our twin was large and very comfortable. If you are not familiar with bedding in Japan - a twin bed is more like the size of a double bed in the US. Our daughter's room was smaller, but just right for one. It would have been very tight for two people, although you could do it if you wanted to save money. We had an excellent rate for the two rooms. Our rooms were very clean and quite nice. Not brand new, but in very nice condition. The lobby is beautiful and spacious.
The concierge here is fantastic. Araki Junko helped us make bus reservations through e-mails before our arrival as well as helping us during our stay with other recommendations and reservations.
There are two or three restaurants in the hotel itself. There are several very nice places to eat both in the train station as well as on the sixth floor of the Forus building across the street.
There were bicycles to rent in the entryway at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor and had lovely views over the city with the mountains in the distance. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgniWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAクラウンプラザホテル金沢, Front Desk at ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing us your feedback about the experience in our hotel this time.
As you have mentioned, the most of our guests are very satisficed with the location of the hotel. Even if you visit us at the first time, it will be very easy to find our location by following the street from Kanazawa station which enables you to access to all sightseeing places in Kanazawa.

We appreciate you for your honest comments about our guest rooms too. It is always our huge pleasure to hear the real voice from our precious guests. In order to make our guests feel comfortable to stay in the hotel, we all would proceed improving our guests services together.

We thank you again for your time to feedback us and share your experiences. We all look forward to serving you in the future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    366
    103
    17
    11
See reviews for
161
231
96
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is located next to the train station and therefore, an perfect place to arrive, explore the city and leave easily, when time is up in Kanazawa.

Hotel is modern and newly renovated. We had quite a nice and big Superior room at the Premium Floor, which we can def. recommend.

Service and food is good (try the Teppanyaki restaurant at the top floor).

Room Tip: Superior room at the Premium Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor MI
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not up to the level of the others in the ANA chain. Our non-smoking room was cramped and smelled of cigarettes. The food in the Cascade restaurant was terrible. The "free" wifi was mostly undetectable. When our computers could find it at all, it was terribly slow and kept dropping the connection. Since the hotel is a half mile or more from everything in the city except for the train station, I wish we had stayed elsewhere.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TokyoVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear TokyoVisitor,

Thank you for sharing your recent staying experience with us. We are committed to providing our guests with the quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. We appreciate your taking the time to advise us of your dissatisfaction by sending your review, we'll try our best to look after your concerns and step towards improvement of our services. Thank you again and looking forward to serving you in future.

Regards,
Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. Next to the train station (which has the most beautiful TORI you have every seen) The staff were very congenial as you will find in all of Japan. The rooms (with king bed) were very roomy and the bathrobes were neat in their Japanese styling. The water pressure here was like a spa massage. We were able to walk to everything from this location.
Do not miss the gardens here they are wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emptynesters100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is a 1 minute walk from the East side train station entrance. As the station is a major transport hub for all points within city, it is very easy to go to any site or destination in city. I booked a two bed room as I find you get a larger room which comes in handy as Japanese rooms are generally quite small. We didn't do the breakfast as is was an extra 1700 yen per person (approx $17.00 USD each) and in the station there is a terrific coffee/sandwich shop called German cafe as well as a Starbucks in Fortis Mall just across from hotel. We had our breakfast then hopped on a bus to see the sights right from station. There is also a very good English speaking information center in station. The hotel has several restaurants and one bar in lobby. We had a drink at the lobby bar, very pleasant and reasonably priced. Gin/vodka tonic 800 yen ($8.00) Moscow Mule also 800 yen. We then had Teppanyaki at Kaga on the 19th floor. The view was beautiful and the food was great. I'd stay here again, good location and reasonable price in a fun sightseeing city.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voyager52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Staff VERY helpful ( likely staff in Japanese hotels we have found), but our double room was just big enough to fit the room (one side against the wall .. So be careful who gets that one as they have to climb over you at night !) this was a standard double ... So if there are 2 of you, I would recommend getting the Deluxe double.
Also Breakfast had a lot on offer but if you want cereals and fruits you will be disappointed, cornflakes and chocolate hoops, and the very watery orange 'juice'.
BUT worse if all is why do hotels like these, who have a Chinese restaurants inside still have Shark fin on the menu ? All but one of the set meals had the shark fin soup = very poor for a Crowne Plaza

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giovanni q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear giovanni q,

Thank you for your review and enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The ANA Crowne Plaza is a good choice for short term visitors to Kanazawa. This is a big business hotel located 2-3 minutes walk east of the front exit to the very nice Kanazawa Train Station. The rooms are a reasonable size and are in good condition. Free Wi-Fi is available and you receive a English language paper each morning.The location is very good for travel issues but 10 to 15 minutes walk from the Omi-cho Market which is the approximate center of town with more restaurants etc. Being so close to the train station is handy for travelers and you're also close to the bus terminal which sells day passes ($5) for the Kanazawa Loop Bus which travels by all the major tourist sights ( 2 minute walk on the west side of main terminal exit) and offers jump-off / hop-on system of buses that operate on a 12 minute schedule. Pick-up a copy of the Kanazawa Sightseeing Map which shows all of the major tourist sights and the closest station where the Loop Bus picks-up and drops its customers. Kanazawa is a very nice small city and the LoopBus makes access very very easy. Make sure you see the Kanazawa Castle Park/Kenroku Garden area as well as the Shima Geisha house and nearby old town and the lively Omi-cho market. When you're at the market checkout the second floor which offers a bunch of restaurant options you might want to checkout in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DWBCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanazawa hotels
Kanazawa Station
Hotel Nikko Kanazawa
Hotel Nikko Kanazawa
#2 of 102 in Kanazawa
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanazawa Tokyu Hotel
#9 of 102 in Kanazawa
502 reviews
Kanazawa Station
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
#7 of 102 in Kanazawa
769 reviews
Kanazawa Station
Holiday Inn ANA Kanazawa Sky
Holiday Inn ANA Kanazawa Sky
#16 of 102 in Kanazawa
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa

Property: ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa
Address: 16-3 Showamachi, Kanazawa 920-8518, Ishikawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kanazawa
#5 Family Hotel in Kanazawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flanked by majestic mountains and looking out to the Japan Sea, the city of Kanazawa is a growing metropolis with a rustic feel. ANA Crowne Plaza Kanazawa stands proudly in this city rising to prominence as an international convention site, proving to be an increasingly popular stop for travelers with her traditional hospitality and excellent facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kanazawa
Kanazawa Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing