We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great western style hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The ANA Crowne Plaza was a great place to stay in Kanazawa. They were able to accommodate 3 people sharing a room, though a bit cramped, it was a beautiful room with many amenities and just a stones throw from the train station. The staff was friendly and helpful, they even made photo copies of some documents for me free of charge. The breakfast was amazing with so many delicious options to choose from (Western & Japanese). The bus system can get you to all the tourist sites and it was a very convenient to travel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpiritWildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
There are newer reviews for ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 739 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is the first 'western' style hotel that we have ever stayed in on our 5 visits to Japan so we were not expecting much. From the moment we entered the lobby we were treated exceptionally well. We were allowed to check in early as our room was ready and out suitcases were carried to the room for us. The room was one we had booked over the internet as an earlybird special. It was large and had excellent amenities. We found the hotel to be quiet and the service excellent. This is our third trip to Kanazawa and we would definitely stay here again if we go back. It rained quite heavily while we were there so it was a bonus having a covered walkway from the station to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blossom96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, right next door to the station and the bus terminal. The front desk staff are efficient and the concierge went out of her way to recommend a restaurant and then walked us across the street to make sure we found it.

However if you are thinking of staying here make sure you look at the hotel website and the photos of all the room types. The standard double room we had - although nicely refurbished to a high standard - was tiny. One side of the double bed is right up against the wall so if there are 2 of you staying one will have to climb over the other to get out of bed (Have a look at the photos I've uploaded).

I've seen the manager reply here on Tripadvisor that rooms in Japan can be smaller than Western hotel rooms. The Crowne Plaza is an international chain hotel. The rooms here were much smaller than any of the hotels we stayed at in Tokyo (Century Southern Tower) Kyoto (Royal Hotel and Spa) and again in Tokyo (The Nikko) all in a similar price range (£90 - £120 with discounts). The standard double at the ANA Crowne Plaza is 22 m2 (metres squared). The Nikko Tokyo standard ocean view room is 40m2.

We asked about a larger room - we could have upgraded for Y3000 per night, but looking at the hotel website these double rooms also appear to have the bed up against the wall. Perhaps booking a twin bedded room would solve the problem? It was OK for a short stay.

Kanazawa is well worth visiting and everyone made us feel very welcome here.

Room Tip: Check the hotel website photos of the rooms very carefully before you book. The rooms are very tiny...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Simply the best location in town. Across from the train station and transportation hub. Stayed just one night. Check-in was quick, although understanding English is a bit of a problem at the front desk. Our room was on a high floor overlooking the station, we were really satisfied with it. Even though this hotel looks modern and brand new, the bathrooms look dated, so it makes me think this is a renovated building, not a con though. In-room Wifi is flawless. Agree with comments that a fitness center would enhance the value... I definitively recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor facing the station
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MX_TrueReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAクラウンプラザホテル金沢, Front Desk at ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you for staying at ANA Crowne Plaza Kanazawa this time.
We also appreciate you for sharing your experience staying at our hotel.

As you have mentioned, our hotel has partially renovated in last 5 years. Some of our guest rooms are fully renovated including the bath rooms; however, most of the rooms were remained the same bath rooms as before.

We are always glad to receive the feedback that our guests have been satisfied with their rooms.
All twin-bed rooms are located on the east side of the hotel, guests can look down the beautiful glass dome, shaped as an umbrella, in Kanazawa station.

Thank you very much again for your precious time to share your comments.
We all look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

A great hotel well located 200m from the station. Impeccable service and assistance from the staff. Free wifi in your room is good. It lacks a top floor bar (restaurant only). Also I think a hotel of this quality should have a gym / fitness centre and a pool.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Excellent, classy hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and you can tell try to make your stay pleasant. The breakfast in the morning is a very good buffet. The rooms are very decently sized with an office desk in my twin room! Views are quite nice as well. The distance between the station and the hotel is unbeatable.

To all Canadian visitors: The front desk has currency exchange, but they do not exchange CAD funds. That was a downer, but at least they got on the phone right away without asking and located a post office in the JR station that would help us out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel really blew us away- we came to kanazawa with no expectations- mainly cause the reviews i've read here were mediocre. The staff was great- so helpful! you really felt like you got the attention of a king- we asked for bathrobes- 2 minutes later the housekeeper came to our room and handed us them himself. The room was sparkling clean and really well maintained. OK- so the view from the room was a bit weird- a parking lot or something but we just loved the room. We also got so many small perks- different types of green tea, eye warmer(?!) to help us fall asleep(?!) and other stuff- we even got an english newspaper in the morning. The breakfast was really nice and varied. Moreover- the location is smashing- less than 2 min from the station. OK-i read the reviews- it is not 2 min from the attractions- but it's only like 20 minutes walking! So if your legs are fine it is really close to everything! Thank you so much ANA crowne Plaza. Would definitely come back and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 223Lee223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanazawa hotels
Kanazawa Station
Hotel Nikko Kanazawa
Hotel Nikko Kanazawa
#2 of 103 in Kanazawa
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanazawa Tokyu Hotel
#10 of 103 in Kanazawa
520 reviews
Kanazawa Station
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
#8 of 103 in Kanazawa
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa

Address: 16-3 Showamachi, Kanazawa 920-8518, Ishikawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kanazawa
#5 Family Hotel in Kanazawa
Price Range: $108 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flanked by majestic mountains and looking out to the Japan Sea, the city of Kanazawa is a growing metropolis with a rustic feel. ANA Crowne Plaza Kanazawa stands proudly in this city rising to prominence as an international convention site, proving to be an increasingly popular stop for travelers with her traditional hospitality and excellent facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, IHG, Rakuten, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kanazawa
Kanazawa Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing