We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good ryokan in centric location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nakayasu Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nakayasu Ryokan
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Spaniard in UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good ryokan in centric location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

Overall the stay was very good, with a nice and spacious traditional Japanese en-suite room. The room was comfortable and very quiet.
It was a bit pricey but that's normal for a ryokan. I quite liked the dinner (which is served to your room), but bear in mind that I am used to Japanese food and in this case I think that for some tourists the food could have been a bit too shocking (my wife struggled a little bit more than me). The Japanese breakfast was good, and there also was the option of having a Western-style breakfast.
Another good point was that - unlike other ryokans - the meals were an option, so in that way you could make the rate significantly cheaper. And there are many restaurants nearby.
The location is very centric, so you can walk to most of Kanazawa's tourist attractions.
As a downside, the room and facilities lacked the charm of other traditional ryokans (it was a bit impersonal, similar to some business hotels), and they also looked a bit aged.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HectorG_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    35
    28
    5
    0
See reviews for
21
40
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

I am so glad I found this Ryokan on my journey through Japan. It is located within walking distance of the main site-seeing attractions and bus line. It is clean, comfortable and I found the staff went out of their way to make sure I had what I needed. The part that stands out most to me is the fantastic dinner I had there. It was delicious, filling and had many traditional Japanese dishes. Another plus is that they offered a "western-style" breakfast. This made a big difference. While I love Japanese lunch and dinners, I'm not as adventrusome in the mornings when I wake up. So I loved the western-style option. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaside_sally_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

I love this Ryokan! It is in a quiet area yet close to major attractions around town. We use their bikes which is free of charge! Room is nice and clean, 7.5 tatami is decent size for 2 people. The dinner provided is the best I have seen provided by a hotel. So much food and soooo goood. The chef is wonderful! Breakfast is nice too. The shared bathroom is clean and bright. Very comfortable. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jajabink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

We had a wonderful time here. The location is wonderful- easy walking distance to everything you want to see in Kanazawa. It's about a 20 minute walk from the train station. This is a small family run ryokan and they make you feel so welcome. Dinner was a highlight- some of the best food we had in Japan. The 2nd night we went out for dinner and the owner helped us make reservations by phoning a friend who spoke better English to help us out. The rooms are very clean, very quiet- we had a private bathroom and would recommend this- and inexpensive. If you are looking for a traditional ryokan this is it. It's a bargain

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

It was lovely ryokan with our Japan Rail Pass discount. Without meals, we only paid 9000 Yen for two of us. The room was clean and Okami-san and a female worker were so nice. Okami-san made us delicious coffee in the morning for no extra charge. We loved free bicycle rental. We stayed on quiet days and we did not have to see other people at the shared wash closets. But be prepare without having Western Style toilets, ladies. I wasn't.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedSnapper25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

The service is what made this accomodation our best choice in Japan. The japanese dinner and breakfast were generous and delicious. They arranged for us the booking for Ninjadera visit, they lent us some bikes to visit the city, and in the evening, they helped us to visit the Geisha district just before having dinner.
We were foreigners, but they made us feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0L_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

We were offered to book here after our first choice had become unaivailable.
Had a good size room with private bathroom and toilet.
Very nice japanese bathing area also.
Breakfast served in dining room, japanese plus eggs and ham, very good, filling!
Dinners served in room, very good, some of the best meals we had in Japan!

Location very convenient for sightseing on foot the city!

Would recommend without any hesitation!

  • Liked — Typical japanese Ryokan, dinner, location
  • Disliked — nothing to complain about!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaudiLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanazawa hotels
0.2 mi away
Kanazawa Hakuchoro Hotel Sanraku
0.0 mi away
Ryokan Yamamuro
Ryokan Yamamuro
#17 of 100 in Kanazawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murataya Ryokan
Murataya Ryokan
#18 of 100 in Kanazawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ishiya
Ishiya
#32 of 100 in Kanazawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kikunoya Inn
Kikunoya Inn
#79 of 100 in Kanazawa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sumiyoshiya
Sumiyoshiya
#5 of 100 in Kanazawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakayasu Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakayasu Ryokan

Property: Nakayasu Ryokan
Address: 1-10-31 Owaricho, Kanazawa 920-0902, Ishikawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nakayasu Ryokan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Rakuten, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nakayasu Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing