We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Minshuku Kuwataniya
Ranked #8 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Takayama
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very noisy rooms”
Reviewed April 29, 2010

I'm quite amazed why nobody mentioned the noice level there in all the valuations before. For us it was almost a sleepless night.

They have at least three rooms if not more directly facing the street where the buses and all other vehicles keep passing by till late in the night and starting very early in the morning. The windows and doors are not sound proof at all. A group of girls from south east Asia chatted and laughed hours long in the public bathroom till late in the evening. We could almost hear every word. Early in the morning a baby started crying staying next door. It was horrible. We were also woke up several times by our neighbours when they opened or closed the doors each time they went to the toilette. Since there are two doors for each room, one Japanese sliding door, one normal western door, you can imagine what a pain that was for us.

I think either you are luckily enough not having to stay on the street side, not having noisy neighbours, or you are a very heavy sleeper, otherwise this is not an ideal place to stay. We were so tired the next day and couldn't really enjoy what we have seen in Takayama.

It is for us rather a youthhotel than a B&B.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DongDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    49
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
48
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
248 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

The Guesthouse is near the station and the town centre. It is spotless. We had a western room with its own bathroom. Flat screen TV, tee and biscuit in room. High speed internet in the foyer. The room was large for a Japanese hotel. We did not book a meal at the Guesthouse but fellow guests who did said that the food was fantastic. The Guesthouse also has its own "Onsen" / Japanese mineral bath facility. We need a late checkout. They were very helpful and stored our bags till later. Strongly recommend. The staff English is non existent.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2009

We stayed here in Dec. 09. This minshuku is quite near train station, just 10 minutes walk with 2 large baggage.
Ms Takagaki (the owner) is very kind and helpful. By the way, as Japanese tradition, you have to take off shoes before entering the minshuku. There are foot lockers for each room, though.
We ordered dinner from the minshuku. Very delicious! 4,400 yen with Hida beef, sashimi (raw fish), grilled salmon, soup, Japanese side dishes etc. That's worth it!
Our room is quite spacious with clean futon, large widescreen LCD TV. However, there was no bathroom in our room, so we had to go to public bath (onsen) separated for men and women on each floor, which was great experience. Fortunately, there was no one during my bath. Spending time in hot water especially after long day trip in Shirakawago was excellent.
There is one PC with internet that you can use in the lobby.
Take you about another 10 minutes to walk to old town (which is in the opposite direction from train station). Along the way is Morning Market, which there's nothing much (in my opinion). Old town is interesting, though.
In conclusion, I think Minshuku Kuwataniya offers great deal for rooms and great food, with excellent hospitality!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2009

wonderful minshuku, near the takayama station, very clean and confortable, the food was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiuseppeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Nice place. The breakfast and dinner was really good authentic Japanese food. Rooms and bathroom were very clean. There was free internet available. Good base for exploring and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbellny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We spent a night at this minshuku. It was just opposite Hotel Hana. Rooms were clean and the over all area was very homely. I like it. Price was very reasonable given the clean and modern condition of the place.

Bicycles rental are free too. It is well worth a stay at this place. If you havnt been to shirakawago village. Do not miss the hida folk village here. Cycle there tho!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. Its just a short walk from the station and also all the sights. Takayama isn't that big and so everywhere can be reached by foot. The room was clean and and a good size and we had a view of the temple across the road. I didn't expect the flat screen tv but it was a bonus! I would recommend eating dinner here if you're travelling in the spring as we struggled to find places open for dinner in the evening. Takayam turned into a bit of a ghost town at night.

I would definitely recommend staying here especially as it was abit cheaper than some places i looked at in Takayama.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kath31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 174 in Takayama
509 reviews
Country Hotel Takayama
#18 of 174 in Takayama
325 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 174 in Takayama
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Rickshaw Inn
#3 of 96 in Takayama
229 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#3 of 174 in Takayama
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minshuku Kuwataniya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minshuku Kuwataniya

Property: Minshuku Kuwataniya
Address: 1-50-30 Sowamachi, Takayama 506-0007, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Takayama Station , Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Minshuku Kuwataniya 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Minshuku Kuwataniya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minshuku Kuwataniya Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing