We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$69
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
Booking.com
$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
FindHotel
$55
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/27/21
Priceline$77
Hotels.com$69
eDreams$91
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
12
76
117
36
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
12
76
117
36
9
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 250 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night before we go to Hirayu/Kamikochi area.
Since we were there only for a short time, between bus connections, all I wanted was simple, but clean room.

The room is small, but average size for Japanese business hotel.

I had nothing to complain until I saw a cockroach walking on the carpet....
They said they exterminate pests regularly, and I believe them. But...I wish I didn't have to see it...

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunny_world_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

On arrival in Takayama hotel was easy to find as accross the road from train station - reception staff pleasant and helpful , held our bags till checkin time. Rooms clean, standard size for Japan (smaller than western room) but more than adequate. In room free internet which is generally the norm in Japan. Room rate was with western or Japanese breakfast - would suggest forgetting inclusion of breakfast and eat at railway station across the road. Would recommend this hotel to all travellers.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imagine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

The W Hotel Plaza was across from the station which is a plus, but Takayama is small, and beautiful. So you go visit. But the W Hotel P is not really ideal. The rooms are so small that you can't full open your suitcases unless you put them on the beds (we pushed the beds together for more space, and tucked the suitcases under), same for the bathroom, supertiny. The room was clean though. There was no buffet breakfast, you chose either Japanese br or Western br. And it was not good. Employees were indifferent.

Date of stay: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josieWashingtonDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

The hotel is just a stones throw from the bus and train station. Its clean and safe. The rooms are SMALL, but very functional. There;s a small but deep tub; they leave bath salts which is a nice touch. There is so much to do in Takayama that you won't mind the small rooms. Breakfast was tasty too.

Date of stay: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philly19111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

The only thing to recommend this hotel is that it is right across the street from the train station, so when we arrived in Takayama it was really easy to find. The room was so small there was no room to put 2 suitcases - we had to climnb across the beds to get to the bathroom. Worst of all, the whole room was very very dusty and stunk of cigarettes. The air conditioning is only for heating - it doesn't circulate fresh cool air - and the window opened onto a noisy area. The staff were OK - very little English spoken. Very basic breakfast. All in all, avoid if you can, especially at the price. it was the worst place we stayed in Japan.

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandAnnie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews