We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly ryokan experience”
Review of Ryokan Asunaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ryokan Asunaro
Ranked #3 of 177 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2009

The friendly english speaking staff was a nice welcome to our stay in Takayama. This is an older ryokan with the necessary modern ammenities. Our room was quite big and we had western style bathroom. I especially liked that the rooms were smoke free and they had free computer internet. The food was amazing as they used local ingredients for their kaiseki dinner and breakfast.

We were able to walk to the ryokan from the JR station. It was about a 10-15 minute walk. I felt very safe in the city of Takayama and even took a morning jog around town before businesses opened. It's also walking distance (10 mins) to the morning market.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smmiyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 275 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2009

We had booked in this Ryokan, following the advice of Lonely Planet (French Edition).
As soon as we set foot in this place we were disapointed: disordered reception, chipped
paint on the walls, worn out carpet.
Then we were shown our room which was at the same poor level standard: old furniture,
antic bathroom, urine smelling toilets !
At about 31 500 Yens (+ taxes) a rooms for 2 (including dinner and breakfast), it was not
acceptable.
We said so to the owner who is by the way a very nice person and we went
searching for another Ryokan (see my comments on Ryokan Tanabe)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jgscemla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

i stayed there a year ago with my friends and i loved this ryokan.so this time, i used ryokan asunaro again. the food was very good!!!! the owner and staff were sooooo nice. some staff can speak really good english. she helped me a lot !!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetokyo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2008

Asunaro ryokan is a short walk from Takayama station. The ryokan is in a suburban area of Takyama, not that pretty but its a relatively short walk to the old part of town. The service at Asunaro was great, the owner is very friendly. The rooms are fairly basic but clean, however its not the prettiest or most traditional ryokan we stayed at. We didn't bother with using our shower, rather we used the onsen instead which was fine though a little run down. The traditional dinner was good and we enjoyed the local Hida steak very much. However I think Asunaro is quite expensive given the standard of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_Wicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

The Asunaro was one of the most pleasant ryokans we experienced. The staff was extremely helpful in getting us information on everything in Takayama and its environs along with suggestions as to what we would enjoy. They picked us up from the train station and dropped us off again when we left.

The rooms we had were quite large, spotlessly maintained with fresh tatami, and ours was freely upgraded to a wonderful suite. As we always found in Japan, the housekeeping was impeccable. The breakfasts were very nice, and we really enjoyed the kaiseki style dinner we had, complete with mountain vegetables cooked on a magnolia leaf over individual fire cookers.

While the location was fine for walking to the outdoor market and strolling the riverside, you do have to take a taxi or bus to the Hida Folk Village. The hot springs resort is about an hour outside town, but well worth a visit if you have the time and a love for rotemburos.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sablatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

We spent one night in this ryokan, our apartment was very big and beautiful altough a bit dated. The dinner and breakfast was good, and the owner was kind. Overall we enjoyed very much our experience in Asunaro ryokan.


  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jobaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Not in the old part of town, rooms are in the new building attached to the old. Rooms are big, the equipment such as fridge, AC etc is rather old. Traditional futons and Japanese pillows. The hot bath/ onsen is good and clean. MAP. Dinner served in the common dinning room. we have stayed in the family room for 4, the total for one night stay was $441

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank travellingsegals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#10 of 177 in Takayama
831 reviews
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 177 in Takayama
557 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 177 in Takayama
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#4 of 177 in Takayama
534 reviews
Oyado Yamakyu
#2 of 177 in Takayama
326 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Ryokan Tanabe
Ryokan Tanabe
#5 of 177 in Takayama
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Asunaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Asunaro

Address: 2-96-2 Hatsudamachi, Takayama 506-0008, Gifu Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
#15 Best Value Hotel in Takayama
Price Range: $162 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryokan Asunaro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asunaro Inn is a traditional style building made of 200-year-old materials brought from the historic Echigo area of Niigata Prefecture. I welcome foreign tourists to my inn with our warm hospitality and homely atmosphere, and I would like them to learn about Japanese traditions, culture, and cuisine. Whenever you come to Takayama, please consider Asunaro Inn as your premier choice. Thank you very much. The building where the lobby is used to be an old landlord's house in the village on the mountain of Niigata prefecture and is built with thick Keyaki wood. This house was built without nails to withstand the high humidity and 4-5 meters of snow the area receives. Our lobby has a great reputation because it displays the consistency, simplicity, and serenity of the Japanese architecture style. We will preserve this cultural site. We are sure that all our guests will be pleased with the beauty of the old Japanese architecture. We promise you will feel relaxed and at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Rakuten, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ryokan Asunaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Asunaro Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing